Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny-Galway

• 21-08-2005 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭

Latest: 4-15 to 3-11 to Galway.

Disappointed I've been watching the soccer but I'll catch the higlights later. Anyone been watching it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

5-17 to 3-12 now. Come on Gaillimh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

come on galway, hold out for the next 10 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,184 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

What a game! Well done to Galway. Definitely game of the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Geg124

go on d galway wat a win 5-19 to 4-18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Sensational result for Galway, one of the highest scoring games of the championship so far I reckon.

excellent win.A GREAT DAY FOR GALWAY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 744 ✭✭✭angry_fox

Well done to galway, but wouldint you know that the ref is from Tipp. What now for kilkenny? Is this DJs last game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Best game of the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭daithi

Excellent game, but to the final score was 4:18 to 5:18 not 5:19. I would like to see galway win the final.
    Pity about the kilkenny defence, Noel Hickey was sorely missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

YES, Gaaalwaaayyyy! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Well done Galway. Good to see a hurling final wihout Kilkenny in it. First time in a few years.

Now hopefully Galway can do the job against Cork.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Fantastic game but Jesus 5-18, 4-18. Cork will be a much much tougher opposition for them( Best defense in the country imo). Galway almost blew it in the end. Cork will be definate favourites for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,153 ✭✭✭lukin

Kilkenny lost 'cause they didn't have any good subs to bring on when they went behind. Hickey was a huge loss alright, I don't think Galway would have scored 5 goals if he had been playing!
    Tennyson is too young and inexperienced at this level. DJ is finished, shouldn't even have been playing. That guy Hardiman was outstanding for Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭daithi

The final looks set to be a good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Great game. Not seen a game quite like that, well, ever.

Good for the game as well that Kilkenny arent in the final again. People from outside Cork will argue the same about Clare last week, and I would agree if I werent from Cork!

Cork will be favourites to win, but sure KK were odds on today as well. If Cork play like they did for the first 50 minutes against Clare, in the final, its Galways Championship. Should be an enthralling encounter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I don't think you can say much against Kilkenny today. They did score 4 - 18 after all. Galway streaked ahead several times and still Kilkenny came back at them and finished only 3 points adrift. They may have lost, but they played a great game.

Having Galway connections myself, as my mother is from there, I was delighted. I was also delighted as we are spared a third consecutive Cork v Kilkenny Final. Cork (29) and Kilkenny (28) have the two highest totals of All-Irelands. Tipperary are next on 25. There is then a long gap back to Limerick on 7, so any chance of the big 3 not winning an All-Ireland is great. If Galway do win, they'll have done it the hard way as they will have beaten Limerick, Tipperary, Kilkenny and Cork in the championship to do it. On today's form, they could do it. Cork are in for a tough game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,289 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

just because it was high scoring everyone is hailing it as the best game ever
    the back line for kilkenny were an embarrassment, they gave away stupid goals and stupid fouls. they should have destroyed an average galway team. cork will hop off them in the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Big Ears

The result today was for the good of hurling , another Cork V Kilkenny final would make the All-Ireland as predicatble as the English Premiership .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Mdwexford, Galway gave away a few stupid goals too. It was a good match, and not just because of the high scoring. That helps, because it maintains the atmosphere, but there was a lot more to this game too. It was in doubt right up to the end, even though Galway had commanding leads at different stages. Kilkenny came right back at them, but thankfully didn't steal it with a late goal as they have done to many teams. It was end to end from the throw-in to the final whistle, with a pace that never let up. That is what makes a good game and this was one.

mdwexford get off your high horse, Galway have a good chance in the final.Where are the wexford hurlers now in the championship. It was good for hurling that Galway won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

mdwexford wrote:
    just because it was high scoring everyone is hailing it as the best game ever
    the back line for kilkenny were an embarrassment, they gave away stupid goals and stupid fouls. they should have destroyed an average galway team. cork will hop off them in the final

Whats the story with the yellow bellies being bitter over galway beating Kilkenny? Martin Storey totally wrote of their chances in Ireland on sunday too.

Great win for galway, great game, some defensive errors i game but there was also some great score taking. The most improtant thing i thought about the match was how clean it was. It was just pure hurling. Ref played his part by not blowing up every 2 minutes for frees.

Cork will be a different story. Hard to see galway scoring 5 gaols against their backline but I think that corks forward line will suit galway backs a bit better than kilkennys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Big Pat

angry_fox wrote:
    Well done to galway, but wouldint you know that the ref is from Tipp. What now for kilkenny? Is this DJs last game?

I was at the match and did no know that the ref was from Tipp.
    What is your point or is it sour grapes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭homerhop

There aint a whole lot of love lost between Galway and Tipp, so that's not much of an excuse. As for the Cork game I can see their backs giving away alot of frees against a faster Galway forward line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭odie

To be honest that Ref didn't do either team any favours, I was up at it. And both supporters were giving out about the Ref.

However it was a great display of hurling in spite of the Ref.

I wouldn't put him in charge of an under 8 game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I thought the ref had a good game. 8/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

He had one way out of line call that lead to one of galways goals, it should have been a kilkenny free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I agree it should have been a Kilkenny free if it is same incident I think you are on about. (Quickly taken by Galway from around the 40)

He lost a point for that one, hence the 8/10 :)

I thought it was reffed fair, and it is a tribute to Kilkenny the game finished with only 3 points between them as they were obliterated really in terms of dominance, possession etc...

The ref certainly had no bearing on the deserved outcome of a Galway win.

GreenHell wrote:
    He had one way out of line call that lead to one of galways goals, it should have been a kilkenny free.

If its the one he threw in then it was because Peter Barry was mouthing then he originaly did award a free to KK. He did the exact same thing to Tony Og in the first half so at least he was consistent.

I think referees should do that more often. If a player is trying to influence the referee it should be punished. Brian Lohan is very bad at trying to influence a referee and gets away with it too.

odie wrote:
    To be honest that Ref didn't do either team any favours, I was up at it. And both supporters were giving out about the Ref.

However it was a great display of hurling in spite of the Ref.

I wouldn't put him in charge of an under 8 game.

in fairness though both sets of supporters always give out about referees during a match. It's just natural.

The only criticism I could have for the ref was in the first 20 minutes he was blowing up for over carrying a little too quickly. but again he was consistent to both teams. After that he gave frees away very sparingly and the game was the better for it. Credit to him and to both teams for not allowing the game to deveop into a blood bath cause of his leniency.

There were also a number of KK fans in front of me who thought the same and were the first to congratulate galway fans and wish us luck in the final. Fair play to them too. Great team and they will be back with a bang. Mark my words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

AthAnRi wrote:
    Mark my words

You don't get to 52 All-Ireland finals and then disappear! Every child in Kilkenny is born with a hurl in their hand, they live and breathe the game down there. Thats why I support them even as a neutral.