Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So stupid this...

• 21-08-2005 12:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭

I know 3 people who used other people's ids on Leaving Night and didn't get into a club FULL of LC students with them. And guess what? The bouncers took the i.ds (all 3 were prov licences). They all did it a t seperate times and 2 of them were told to tell their friends to go to <undisclosed> Garda Sation.

I've NEVER heard of this happening before. ANy idea what might happen tothe i.d owners/people who used them? Are they in trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭thejovialhost

I know 3 people who used other people's ids on Leaving Night and didn't get into a club FULL of LC students with them. And guess what? The bouncers took the i.ds (all 3 were prov licences). They all did it a t seperate times and 2 of them were told to tell their friends to go to <undisclosed> Garda Sation.

I've NEVER heard of this happening before. ANy idea what might happen tothe i.d owners/people who used them? Are they in trouble?
    :eek: That is the dumbest thing i've ever heard.what kind of idiots are these people??incredible.why bother with fake i.d.s anyone could have got in ANYWHERE on wed. night.
    Yeah i've heard it happen before i think they'll get a very stern warning/fine from the gardai-any more of that sort of thing and they'll all be in deep ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

yes pretending to be something you are not is a serious offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

i'm afraid they'll have to resit the leaving cert

Irish law can be very harsh at times

they'll also face at least 10 months prison time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

Someones getting arrested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

Cremo wrote:
    yes pretending to be something you are not is a serious offence.

I can't tell if that is sarcastic or not. There is no evidence any of it took place so how can they get in trouble? ANd who would get in trouble? How do you know all this? (weblinks). My friend and I can't find anything on it.

tman wrote:
    i'm afraid they'll have to resit the leaving cert

Irish law can be very harsh at times

they'll also face at least 10 months prison time

Okay people are being sarcastic. But seriously, one of the i.d holders (the others are away), went to the Garda stationa nd nothing was there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭ShreddedHumans

The bouncers took the pictures to **** off to them.

Well obviously, but what I want to know is what law says stuff about that kinda thing... Is it any different from me walking up to a randomer in the street and taking their licence then telling the Gardai that I took it off a guy/girl who had the id but it wasn't them? The Gardai would laugh wouldn't they? Wouldn't they?

maybe they thought the people were terrorists and refuse them access. (you wouldn't want a terrorist to get on a plane using someone elses Id would you).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭wtfpwned

good fake id's are very easy to make if you know someone with a copy of photoshop 7.0, a good enough printer, and some of the right paper

all of that stuff can be easily found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

AHAHAHA, I have to laugh at your friends. Talk about being stupid. I'm glad the bouncers took the ID's off them, although they had no real right to. The Guards will probably bollock you friends and possibly give them a fine. It's a serious offence to forge a state document, so you may want to get the owner of the license to bring the users of the license along to the station. And what difference does it make if the club was full of LC people, they were probably 18, and wern't using fake ID. It's not rocket science.

John

EVidence of this? Any laws that state this? ANd how is it forging tate documents or being fake i.ds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

a tate document? where can i get one of these :)

I'm just suggesting that the guards may think that your friends tried to forge a license. And it's a fake id.... because it is. I'll be honest, trying to work out your posts, what with the rubbish spelling and puncuation is a pain.

John

I wonder what he got in English in the Leaving?

lol :d

You misunderstood. They were REAL UNTAMPERED i.ds and the guards have NO PROOF as to how the bouncers ended up with them.

The problem is, one of the i.d wners went to the station and his licence WASN'T there.

And I NEVER heard of real I.Ds being taken (fake ones all the time), so basically all I want to know is will the club eventually give the i.ds to the guards and if so waht will they say to the owners when they collect them?

Cremo wrote:
    I wonder what he got in English in the Leaving?

lol :d

B1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Well obviously, but what I want to know is what law says stuff about that kinda thing... Is it any different from me walking up to a randomer in the street and taking their licence then telling the Gardai that I took it off a guy/girl who had the id but it wasn't them? The Gardai would laugh wouldn't they? Wouldn't they?

The Gardai would say "Wtf do you think your doing".
    However if you found it, that is a different story. Your friends tried to get into a club using someone elses ID. Now what if the ID owner was bashed for his ID earlier that night? That is a reason for the bouncers to take it.

Dont be stupid. Your friends risked it and now must face the consequences, whatever they may be.

If the ID holders are afraid of getting into trouble, you could go through the horrible route of pretending it was stolen...

Either way, dont be stupid, www.google.ie, search for it yourself genius.

There is nothing in Google (it's hard to search anyway). Does anybody geniunely know because you're all making presumptions (thanks anyway)?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

the ID wasnt at the garda station because earlier in the night the gardai confiscated a bong and some contraband and an instruction manual.

that is all,
    Dermot

Lets be honest, your friends did something illegal. They'll probably only get told off. Unless they have previous offences. The users of the Licenses were stupid to let the bouncers take them. They have no right to.

It'll be a lesson learned for your friends and the users if the license does go missing. I.E. Don't do it again.

John

Thanks. I think now one of the owners is going up to collect it and get told off or whatever without telling them any details (no point, no proof). It was LC Night, they were drunk (users/owners) so they didn't have much sense.

As long as it doesn''t affect their job chances in the future I don't think they care (acording to one of them o_O).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Report the bouncers for theft. They have no right to confiscate ID, unless it was issued by the club.

If they believe a person is using fraudlent ID, they have every right (in fact, they have a duty) to report the matter to the Gardai, but under no circumstances can they seize the ID. Bouncers do it to young fellas because they know the guys are scared ****less and don't know anything about what bouncers can and can't do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

not old enough to go somewhere?

i guess that would mean dont go there. i am glad the id's were taken. might teach them a lesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Haha, how obvious is it that the OP was one of the people that either gave his ID to someone, or tried to use one?!

I hope for your complete idiocy they at least fine you, or at least make you clean out the horse unit stables. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Ah lads, no need to be so harsh on the guy, all he wanted was to party with his mates on his leaving cert results night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Cutie18Ireland

i have no idea!! but they shouldnt have bothered!! nearly all my year was in the same pub and not one of us were asked for id!! there was a fella there who looked 12!! and he was being served!! suppose it helps being a girl though a quick smile and a how are ya?? gets you in the door of anywhere, oh and a low-cut top helps! but a miniskirt makes ya look younger lol!! i wouldnt say they'd pass them on to the guards they're probably still sitting in the club!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Once again Seamus is bang on the money IMHO.

It's a good bet that the bouncers have no proof of the identity of the person from whom they actually took the licences.

If the real owners of the licences go to the cop shop and say the bouncers took the licence from them personally and ask for the bouncers to be prosecuted for theft and threaten to sue for subsequential loss ie being unable to drive legally to work etc I'm sure this practice will soon stop.

Seeamus and Hagar they are logical answers at last! Is <undiscolsed licence owner> right in going to the Gardai to get it back and if it's not there again to tell them it was taken/lost (rememebr the bouncers have no proof as to how they got them).

I have a funny feeling now that the club is in the wrong, I didn't think that at the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

similar thing happened to me back in sept. turns out bouncers never actually handed over the id to guards so i just had to go to club and get it back which i did. guards said nothin just laughed and gave me advice on gettin in and charmin bouncers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭The General

Why doesn't the owner of the ID turn up and just say that it was him using it and the bouncer took it off him, the bouncer isn't going to remember/care and then the gardai can't do ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Same thing happened one of my (rather stupid) friends who tried this with another (rather stupid) friends passport.
    Bouncer on the door confiscated it and he never got it back.

Its a retarded thing to do to be honest. At least get your hands on a fake ID with your actual photo on it. Trying with someone else's photo ID is moronic.

Scraggs and WellyJ (and Seamus and Hagar) party at my palce now! Thanks fo those answers, I was worried sick for my 3 friends :rolleyes: and I just wanna say thak you for your answers, some of those joke replies had me worried cos I'm an idiot (despite good Leaving Results).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Bartronilic ...a party eh?? seriously?? i'm there lol!! ...and i was just given 36 bottles of bulmers as a LC present!!! [which i dont drink btw!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Oh ffs, did you try go to the club? This really isnt a big deal, do you think you'll get a criminal record for chancing your friggin arm with someone elses ID? jus think about that, its hardly feckin armed robbery now, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

If they are handed in (a big if) it depends on the guard you get, most will laugh it off. Pretty harmless stuff though. As someone who used and abused fake id for years I have to say tough luck, and anyone who says the owners will get in trouble is just being an idiot. Sure the owner would just have to say the bouncer took it off him, how's the bouncer going to prove some other kid had it?
    Personally I'd say the bouncer left it in the office of the club, send the owners down, even give out about it being confiscated. The bouncer was just being a chancer, trying to scare you, you'll have to fight their power at every chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Wait....am I missing something here?
    You/your mates/whoever went up to try and get into a club with SOMEONE ELSE'S photographic ID??? That being with a PHOTOGRAPH that looks NOTHING like them, on it???
    Seriously?
    Are you sure it wasn't the entrance exam you just passed? Or are LC students that braindead these days...?
    Christ, I've heard it all now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

ah in fairness god loves a chancer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ZigBee

Lump wrote:
    AHAHAHA, I have to laugh at your friends. Talk about being stupid. I'm glad the bouncers took the ID's off them, although they had no real right to. The Guards will probably bollock you friends and possibly give them a fine. It's a serious offence to forge a state document, so you may want to get the owner of the license to bring the users of the license along to the station.

John

Codswollop.

My advice:

Knub-scull doormen have no right to take ID. Report your ID as stolen. Then just get a new provisional licence (about €15).

Keep your mouth shut. The owness is on the gardai to prove that you were using somebody else's driving licence. To be quite honest they are not going to spend much time investigating this kind of thing because it would never stand up in court. If you admitted to the gardai that you were using somebody else's licence in your name it would be a different matter. Although, if you're using fake ID, you're probably under 18 and are a minor so you'd not be subjected to the same laws that adults are. Even if you did admit using the ID, you're a minor and the cops would, at worst, tell your parents.

Relax, you'll be grand. Report your ID as stolen or lost (if you feel it was lost rather than 'stolen'), keep your mouth shut, pay for a new licence and forget that the whole thing ever happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭comad

What wil happen is:

1) They'll be photocopied. The bouncers on Friday/Saturday night will have a look at a list of photocopied IDs and stop those people getting in.
    2) Unless its fake the guards won't be involved. If it is fake you are in big big trouble with the police. Otherwise, call up to the see the manager, be nice, swear you'll never do it again, take the bollocking and you might get it back
    3) The most stupid thing you could do is take the advice of the "Photoshop, decent scanner.." Photoshop won't copy the holograms on the drivers license. Bouncers take them and are required to hand them over to the police.