Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When should I text?

• 20-08-2005 11:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭

Hey I need advice please!!!
    Met this guy Thursday night (you know yourself!!! ;) ). Anyway his phone was dead, so he gave me his number (something I really hate - a guy should take mine!).
    So now I have the problem of when to text him??
    He did mention something about meeting up on Wednesday - but I don't want to seem to eager and text him too soon......
    So when is the best time to text him????? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Jammer

He's probably already given up hope/forgot about u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Now now now, do it now... Text him Tuesday afternoon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭wtfpwned

depends what you're looking for?

if you just want the cock, text him now.and don't try and fool yourself and say "oh well, he seemed really nice, and sensitive too, boyfriend material" if you're really just looking for jungle sex

if you are GENUINELY not looking to hook up and get penetrated, text him on monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

He could help you with that pizza you've put on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

a/s/l?

Wanna cyb0r?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

wtfpwned wrote:
    depends what you're looking for?

if you just want the cock, text him now.and don't try and fool yourself and say "oh well, he seemed really nice, and sensitive too, boyfriend material" if you're really just looking for jungle sex

if you are GENUINELY not looking to hook up and get penetrated, text him on monday.

This is a family board. Try keeping the vulgar and unnecessary slang to yourself.

And just text him. He gave you his number for a reason. Theres no real "Right time", all that stereotypical bull of "Not trying be too keen" is so annoying and untrue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,896 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

he probably doesnt even remember meetin you tbh. ;)

only jokin. text him now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

considering he didn't take yours, it's easy just text him a "here's my number" text and leave the ball in his court.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

text him in the middle of the night......and say cyb0r!!!

anyway just text him about a day or 2 beforehand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

And just text him. He gave you his number for a reason. Theres no real "Right time", all that stereotypical bull of "Not trying be too keen" is so annoying and untrue.
    Yes, and that reason could have been drink. These things do happen, your "let's-all-be-mature-we're-all-adults" is nice in theory, but honestly, in reality you have make sure you aren't too eager.

That's just the way it is, especially for ppl like me, who are naturally VERY keen, but hav to hold it in check a bit. I'd go wit what Tar said, text him 1 or 2 days beforehand. Should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Just text him, as mobile infantry said this bull is annoying :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

id say tommorrow (sunday). halfway between thurs & wed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

R0ot wrote:
    Just text him, as mobile infantry said this bull is annoying :D
    I've had many an arguement with one of my gf's housemates about this sort of ****e.

Guys don't want to play games. If they said they'll text, they'll text. If the don't, it doens't mean that you should lose 4 stone and get a new hair colour.
    It means that they've either forgotten, dont actually want to meet you again, or something came up.

There's no "oh I'll text tomorrow evening, that way I'll leave her thinking for a day or 2" - it's "is my phone nearby? if so I'll text, if not, it can wait"

God damn it stop with the pointless, petty, stupid, immature 'games' and just f*cking text him already!!! (that's not aimed _directly_ at the OP, moreso at that certain housemate)

Text him

This is a family board. Try keeping the vulgar and unnecessary slang to yourself.

i am being expressive and matter-of-fact

if someone on this board is offended by what i said, then they shouldn't be posting here, nor should they have access to the internet.period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

cAr0l wrote:
    I don't want to seem to eager and text him too soon......

God, I have to say, I hate all that bullshít. If you like somebody, just go ahead and text/ring them for God's sake. Don't spend all your time agonizing over it. It's not an episode of 'Dawson's Creek' you're living in or anything! :D If the fella likes you too, he'll appreciate it now matter how soon you get in touch.

I can never understand this whole thing girls seem to have about not seeming too eager. Besides, if you were well able to jump up on him the first night you met him, I think that says it all already about how eager you are! :p:D I'm sure he won't be too bothered about how long you leave it to get in touch again as a result. He already knows you're well up for it! :D

aidan is pretty much right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭ShreddedHumans

Not so soon, you don't want to appear too eager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Ummm, read my post above. I think she already proved how eager she was the first night! :D No need for her to hold back now and be worrying about it, I reckon! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭jsr

Its not when you text but what you text. If you sound needy it doesn’t matter when you send it. Text to break the ice (something funny) and take it from there. He gave you his number so he is interested, so the craic is 90% of why he will respond (don’t bother with puns on "the craic"!). :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Polly19

Your only one problem is.He may have been lying bout his phone even if he showed it to you and gave you a fake numebr

Sorry bout being the devils avocate

Just send a textsaying plain and simple "just wondering how your are after Tuesady(whatever)night,<yourname>"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

jsr wrote:
    Its not when you text but what you text. If you sound needy it doesn’t matter when you send it. Text to break the ice (something funny) and take it from there. He gave you his number so he is interested, so the craic is 90% of why he will respond (don’t bother with puns on "the craic"!). :rolleyes:
    yeah.
    "i'm preggers" would be a good start (would be even funnier if you haven't actually slept with him yet :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭jsr

tman wrote:
    yeah.
    "i'm preggers" would be a good start (would be even funnier if you haven't actually slept with him yet :p )
    thats a great opener and then demand child support! he will call back in no time :D I like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

jus say hey whats up, remember me, and take it from there. Who cares how you get in touch, getting in touch is the main thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

C'mon, lets be honest, it's probably not even his number he gave you.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

Some great comments alltogether guys and girls too eager not too eager fake this not real that him her doi odnt i etc, its called life just live it :eek: , like was said text him your number and leave it in his court but for gods sake just text him and see how you get on i did and im getting married in three weeks after all that :rolleyes: :o;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

What you've known someone for three weeks, and now you're getting married?

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Some great comments alltogether guys and girls too eager not too eager fake this not real that him her doi odnt i etc, its called life just live it :eek: , like was said text him your number and leave it in his court but for gods sake just text him and see how you get on i did and im getting married in three weeks after all that :rolleyes: :o;):p

54 of the words in your post are less than 4 letters long... that just stood out for some reason...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

Text him monday Id say , tomorrow after noon some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

no, text him today and say that something has come up on Wednesday, and could you meet him Tuesday or Thursday instead? (don't say another time, it sounds like you're brushing him off then) Don't forget to put your name at the end of the text (just in case!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭zoro

no, text him today and say that something has come up on Wednesday, and could you meet him Tuesday or Thursday instead? (don't say another time, it sounds like you're brushing him off then) Don't forget to put your name at the end of the text (just in case!!)

What? You're saying to change the day of their meeting - simply for the sake of texting him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Besprechen

mp3guy wrote:
    54 of the words in your post are less than 4 letters long... that just stood out for some reason...

:eek: you actually counted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

so are you meeting him tomorrow or not?? have you texted??

Besprechen wrote:
    :eek: you actually counted?

You didn't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Sharza-

What happened to all the men in ireland? :P

Im a bloke, and I could not for the life of me give a damn if a girl wasnt confident, seemed eager, ect...

Confidence doesnt turn me on.
    Playing hard to get doesnt turn me on.

Im not desperate and I have high standards, but I dont get this stuff.

Girls, heres a little tip, whenever your trying to understand the male mind, do what you do usualy, and ask all your girlfriends for their advice, and then do the complete opposite, not because you friends are clueless but because men are so difirent to women, and women can only imagine how they would feel in the certain situation, (and visa versa men/women ect..)

I read another thread there in PI a few days ago about some girl having trouble meeting nice blokes, and all these lads sayin "gee, your coming across kind of desperate". With my male mind, and my friends male minds, there is no desperate meter, we dont pay attention to a girl and try and determine how desperate or not they are. Girls do that, guys couldnt give a toss :P

So to the original poster, reply to him the next day or when you get the chance, dont rush it, but for gods sake dont play hard to get or try not to appear eager, you will only end up making the lad think you werent interested in the first place, we dont think like you do, if you rang the very next day we wouldnt think "god this girl is so desperate its disgusting", we be like "sweet".

Question to the guys in this thread, is confidence really a feature you consider attractive in a girl? For me I dont even notice it, it just doesnt register, ive got more important attractive features to measure ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

Sometimes too much confidence or even "feigned confidence" can actually be slightly off-putting and sometimes even intimidating!

I have to say though if would strike me a bit if a girl I met out somewhere texted me the very next day but I wouldn't let it put me off or anything!

Original poster, just text the guy for flip's sake if you don't you'll never know coz there's no way he's calling you coz he ain't got your number!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭boidey

mp3guy wrote:

either you possess acute observational powers or else you don't get out very often.
    OP text whenever you want to.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

He may have one of those phones with voice support. Often you can simply punch in the number he gave you and it will connect you directly with his vocal communication interface.
    Often it's easier to understand exactly what someone wants via this medium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

FFS just text the guy. Youve already left it too late anyway, all youve got to lose is your pride

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

He may have one of those phones with voice support. Often you can simply punch in the number he gave you and it will connect you directly with his vocal communication interface.
    Often it's easier to understand exactly what someone wants via this medium.
    Seconded. Don't text. Call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

I cant believe that you expect the guy to take a girls number and not the other way round.

Its nearly been a week at this stage, so text him today if you haven't already. What have you got to lose really or else as Sleepy said ring him, you'll know straight away if he's interested or not.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I hate the way guys are always the ones who are expected to text first or ring first and if it falls into the hands of the girl she has a big dilema over it. It’s a simple thing just text the guy or yeah better still ring the guy!! I think you have left it too late now too and he has forgotten about you and is on to the next girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Yes, this is important, seeing as he won't know who is sending hism the text.