Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sky making profit from our calls?

• 19-08-2005 10:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭

I was gonna ring sky and decided to check the phone number charges and this what i found:

For general information, please call us on 08702 40 40 40 (0818 719 819 in the Republic of Ireland) or email skydigital@sky.com

eircom .ie tells me:

Nationalcall 0818 means callers pay for the total call cost at national rates. High call volumes mean you earn revenue from calls you receive.

Nice guys these sky people,not

Anyone know if they still do the freephone number?

regards

kieran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

kmb wrote:
    Nationalcall 0818 means callers pay for the total call cost at national rates. High call volumes mean you earn revenue from calls you receive.
    Is this strictly the same as a national call? In the UK 0870 is discribed as national call rate, but is AFAIK more expensive than standard BT rates to numbers starting 01 or 02. They are also not included in mobile "free" minutes.
    Anyone know if they still do the freephone number?
    Don't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭chorus techy

If you ring the freephone number, it just reads out a message telling you the number has changed and to ring the new (0818) number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

they are grade A eejits.

rang them saturday to get prem plus, done the automated booking (about 20 minutes before the match) the time came for the match and what happened? the channel got blocked.

rang them up and was left holding then get the message "you've have had to wait longer than we have expected please try again later good bye" beep beep beep beep.
    shower of ***** tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭kmb

Hi lads,Guess we all will have to ring on cheap weekend calls so, otherwise their hold music and guides(ie press 1 for...,2 for....) will cost us a fortune!!!!I was often on for a good while when changing packages.

Bloody cheek with all the money we spend with them!!

regards kieran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Heinz

Richard wrote:
    Is this strictly the same as a national call? In the UK 0870 is discribed as national call rate, but is AFAIK more expensive than standard BT rates to numbers starting 01 or 02.
    Correct. For most in the UK, a call to any 01 or 02 number costs 3p/minute weekdays. To an 0870 number is costs 2½ times as much (7.51p/minute).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

an 0818 cost 9c min weekdays and 5c min eves and weekends . No cheap weekend rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

Say your with UTV and you have that free calls to the UK deal (if they still have it) is that a way around it maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭ffocused

I always call just after 9am and usually get straight through to a rep. longest wait i had was about 2 mins. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭JTMan

An alternative number to use is + 441383 814000 . Ask to be connected to customer support. UK regional numbers are free offpeak with some packages like UTV talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭bigpaddy2004

kmb wrote:
    High call volumes mean you earn revenue from calls you receive.
    Ah but shrrr the poor guys need the extra revenue, they are nearly out of money!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

god's toy wrote:
    Say your with UTV and you have that free calls to the UK deal (if they still have it) is that a way around it maybe?
    Nope, the free calls only apply to numbers begining with 01 or 02 excluding numbers in the channel Islands and Isle of Man.

The 0870 numbers will cost you 35 cent a min. :eek: