Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dell Xps?

• 17-08-2005 9:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

Anybody see the Dell site yesterday? I think somebody there made a mistake.

It starts at 2100 euro.

I went on to have a look at it and customise it. It had 2 x 500gb hard drives on it. So I changed them for 2 x 160gb hard drives and it dropped the price be 1400 euro.

Then I selected the option of getting a free 128mb usb stick that was marked as free but it had the same underneath it and that cost -27 euro but if i had selected the other one it would of cost and extra 33 euro.

I got it for 716 euro incl. delivery.

It has 3.2 ghz processor, 1 gb hard drive, top of the range 256mb graphics card.

No monitor though? Although I will shop around till I find a cheap 19" flat panel.

Anybody else come across this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

The sig police will be with you shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Yeah seen it myself but its been effectively taken down, i.e. you cannot order the machine anymore..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,941 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I got it for 716 euro incl. delivery.

It has 3.2 ghz processor, 1 gb hard drive, top of the range 256mb graphics card.

No monitor though? Although I will shop around till I find a cheap 19" flat panel.

Anybody else come across this?
    dam you dam you bloody fecker i was just about to buy that pc today feck it any way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

1 gb hard drive

I assume this a typo? what size did you end up with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

A 1G hard disk eh, wow. You'll almost be able to fit SP2 on that :D

Damn my slow typing, TBA got in before me.

Seeing as how this was a mistake on the website, which has happened before, I wouldn't be so sure that you'll actually get that PC anyway. As long as they haven't charged your credit card they can stop the order. Do you know if it's currently in progress?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

1GB of Ram obviously...

Anyway, as I said, its been taking down now.. You cannot even configure a spec now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Hank_Scorpio

oops that was a typo.

I meant 1gb ram. 2 x 160 gb hard drives in a raid system.

Pretty cool.

Ha ha to anybody who didn't get one.

But keep your eye out in the outlet store... some great bargains there

Ha ha to anybody who didn't get one.

But keep your eye out in the outlet store... some great bargains there
    iv been looking on dell out let everyday just cant see any good bargains yet

It's only a matter of time

They had several 4gb ram computers there a while back with top of the range 250mb graphics card for around 1,500 euro but I couldn't afford it at the time

Trust me, patience is a virtue. It's like buying a car, you just don't buy the first one you see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,816 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

It's only a matter of time

They had several 4gb ram computers there a while back with top of the range 250mb graphics card for around 1,500 euro but I couldn't afford it at the time

Trust me, patience is a virtue. It's like buying a car, you just don't buy the first one you see.
    What graphics card did you get, anyway?
    You keep saying "top of the range", but somehow I doubt it was a 7800GTX :D

Main Specs

Base 3.2 ghz 800 mhz fsb 2mb cache

Memory 1024MV 533mhz ddr2 SDRam (2x512)

Video Card nvidia GEForce 7800 GTX 256mb single card

hard drive 160gb Serial ATA Raid 1 mirror [2x160gb 7200rpm drive with databurst cache]

cd/dvd drives 16x max. DVD+/- RW with dual layer write capability

Wireless usb adapator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,816 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Main Specs

Base 3.2 ghz 800 mhz fsb 2mb cache

Memory 1024MV 533mhz ddr2 SDRam (2x512)

hard drive 160gb Serial ATA Raid 1 mirror [2x160gb 7200rpm drive with databurst cache]

cd/dvd drives 16x max. DVD+/- RW with dual layer write capability

Wireless usb adapator

Oh.
    I have been humbled. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

You lucky bastid :D

Did you get the order confirmation (email) and did they take your money? If not, they have no contract with you and they aren't legally obliged to go ahead with the deal. Out of courtesy they still might, but many times in the past they haven't

Fingers crossed!

Well I have reciept from them with my order number on it.

I haven't had any further contact with them saying that my order could not be processed or anything like that so I persume all is in order. Although there is no activity on my credit yet I'm still hopeful.

I went through the whole rig-more-ol and got a receipt so I'm happy enough. If I don't get it heads will roll.

But if they advertised it on their site and I bought it at the price stated with no problems or any queries then aren't they legally obliged to sell to me at the price quoted?

I'm 99.9% sure they have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭savemejebus

they don't unless you got the order confirmation with 2 pdf documents in it. The internet receipt is automatically generated and means sweet F all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

What savemejebus said. In the past Dell have rejected orders of people that due to an error in the webpage, took advantage and ordered like 10 PCs at €19.99 each :)

You're a genuine buyer and in the past they have gone ahead out of goodwill with orders even though they hadn't confirmed the orders

Let us know what happens!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

the graphics card alone is worth 3/4 of the value of the pc n1 hope you get it

Hank_Scorpio was right be patient [hope im not spoiling your thread just so excited]

Dimension XPS Generation 3 (System Identifier. ZB1JL1EZ)
    Dimension XPS, P4, 3.2GHz, G3, SKT-T (3.2GHz)
    English - Win XP SP2 Home (Backup Media)

Dell recommends Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional

Operating System: English - Win XP SP2 Home (Backup Media)
    English - Win XP SP2 Home
    Memory: 512MB PC-4200 DUAL CHANNEL (2 X 256MB)
    Floppy Drive: 1.44MB Floppy Drive
    Hard Disk Drive: 160GB (7200rpm) Serial ATA Hard Drive
    Video: MOD, CRD, GRPHC, 256, X800, XT
    Modem: Irish/Spanish - Internal 56K Modem
    Sound Card: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 XPS
    CD Read-Write Drive: 48X IDE CD-Rewriter Drive
    DVD Drive: 16x DVD Drive
    Software: AOL, Dellnet + Tiscali UK ISP Combo
    English - Adobe Reader 6.0
    Microsoft® Works® 7.0
    MISC: Dell Standard PS2 Keyboard
    Dell 2 Button PS/2 Scroll Mouse

well lads what do ye think just got of dell outlet today [i know the ram needs upgrading]

savemejebus helped me alot in choicing a pc and answering my question so just like to say thank you very much

i bought it for 775 euro

Not spoiling the thread at all. I think that was the purpose of starting it... to find a computer at the right price and not the rip off prices we're being forced to pay for them.

I really hope I do get the computer. I did only buy 1. So if they have any decency as human beings they'll honour their website... otherwise they could turn around at any stage to anybody and say it costs +1000 euros sorry bout that.

I think they'd find themselves slowly going out of business if they didn't honour their site, hold up their hand and admit they made a mistake and get on with it.

What you all think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Dubdude

Ye i would agree with you HANK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

While I'd love to hear if you do get your Dell XPS, but I wouldn't put money on it Hank, it happened before where Dimension Desktops went for €99 on the site. Dell have some sort of copout clause in their contract that states something along the lines that: The price indicated on the site may not be the actual price, so until you get an invoice from them saying its being processed or shipped I wouldn't hold my breath.

Well it's worth a shot and I'm not going to hold my breath anyway. Time will tell but I'll let you all know how it goes one way or the other.

Gotta go now... Appointment for the doctors is in order to rid me of this damn cough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

I want one :o hope you get it man. ;)

just to give you hope, i know of one order that went straight through to processing stage (not mine) and is currently awaiting components

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 mishapk

just to give you hope, i know of one order that went straight through to processing stage (not mine) and is currently awaiting components

I logged an order with them also on Tuesday - got the IR but no order conf. Out of curiousity called them and it appears that 2149 should have been the correct price with a single 250GB drive 1yr NDB return no monitor and 512Mb ram. The "customise and buy" base config included , in error , a 500 GB SATA Raid array - removing this dropped the price by 1454 euro alone.

Ship dates for the actual boxes are not expected to start until late next week as the supply of GTX's and the Intel Nforce SLI motherboards are in tight supply - even for Dell.

In the meantime, Dell.ie removed the link late on Tuesday while they got to fixing the error and expect to have the box up for online config by the weekend.

I hope you (and I !) get our machines - it's a sweet way to get a 7800GTX - but I agree, without an order conf we're trusting the goodwill of Dell.

a little update on this.

It seems that Dell have 'surprise surprise' decided not to honour these purchase, or at least not all of them. I know of at least one person that got the pdfs within a few hours of ordering and whose order is now shown as "awaiting components". For those that haven't received order confirmation, chances are you won't. It seems all operators received a sheet with instructions not to process the orders at that price.

Hardly fair that dell will honour some and not others but thems the breaks i guess.

hey hank any news on that pc

i got an email from dell

Dear Customer
    >
    > We are currently experiencing difficulties in placing our orders. As
    soon as this has
    > been amended, your order will be placed and you will be sent your
    order confirmation.
    > Delivery is an estimated 5 -7 working days from the day that your
    order is manually placed
    > by us at The Outlet Department. Apologies for any inconvenience
    caused.
    >
    > Kindest Regards

:mad: iv been waiting a week and a bit now ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Look in the fine print.
    E&OE
    Errors and Omissions Excepted
    They are under no legal obligation to honour your order. However you may still get your pc. It will depend on how much it will cost them, and how many ordered the same pc's. In other words whether or not they are bothered with the hassle of cancelling your order. People are human. They might just ignore the mistake. I wouldnt be surprised or angry if they did cancel though.

Headshot you ordered from the outlet store right so your order should be safe enough. Have you received the pdf documents with order confirmation number? The XPS 600s were ordered from the main site which is different to the outlet.

never got my second conformation by post

those bastids, this seems to be a trend with DELL for the last two weeks. I've heard that there was a problem with Dimension 5100s as well.

All the above xps600 orders that didn't receive confirmation were cancelled today (AFAIK)

i emailed them today about this

hello i placed my order Date: 08-17-05
    its now the 26th

this is very unfair my first pc i ever ordered of dell
    and it looks like it wont be coming for a bit

as a sign of good will i think i deserve a extra item like a 1gb of pc4200 ram at a cost price

worth a shot ehhh :)

i know iv no chance but it worked once before on another company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

it worked once before on another company

yea i remember the first ever PC (as opposed to Amstrad or Amiga) that i bought. It was from Gateway 2000. Took ages to arrive! So to make up for the huge delay in ordering, I got one of the first P1 MMX chips on their day of their release. Also got a 17" CRT. Which was huge back in the day!

Course that generoisty might explain why Gateway went bye bye in europe!