Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amp recommendations: Jazz Chorus, Orange AD30

• 16-08-2005 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭

Hey,
    After an unexpected call tonight, a potential windfall is comin my way in october (playin guitar for Grease...hey, its not pretty but the money is great!)

With this and some savings, i should have a grand and a half to spend on a decent quality amp (at last) and for a while have had my eye on these two bad boys: Roland Jazz Chorus and Orange AD-30TC.

Also had a passing glance at this lad too.

So ive read about all3 loads on the net, and in forums etc, but i wanna ask people, can anyone recommend me to buy/steer clear of any of these amps, and has any1 used either of them?
    Or any other recommendations, (AC30 maybe)?

Also how does each take to effects etc?

As for me, i play mostly small gigs, Eamo D's, Voodoo etc, and the odd Musical (yes MUSICAL!!) Im lookin for a vintagey rock sound, like Pete Townshend i suppose (deffo no metal!), but also a good sparkly clean johnny marr type tone (which brought me to the Jazz chorus). My guitar's a Yamaha Pacifica, strat-esque with a humbucker in the bridge, and two singles.
    I have an analogue delay, akai phaser and "shred-o-matic", marshall chorus and new guvnor and a crybaby wah.

Any help much appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

The Jazz Chorus is a great clean amp, legendary for it in fact. The overdrive channel is ok, not very high gain at all though but with the right OD pedal in in the loop it'd to the rock thing just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Good deal on a JC120 if the seller still has it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=269473&highlight=roland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

for what you are looking for id try and pick up a vintage orange, or an Engl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

Nice one lads, appreciate it.

Anyone ever used the Vox AC30 CC's? Or the reissue twin 'verb?

Havent used the AC30 cc but they are supposed to be great. Classic AC30 tone with the so needed little extras. I'd deffinitely like to try one. AC30 is a definitive amp tone. Love it. But you gotta crank it and its a heavy thing. If they're not factors to worry about then I'd give them a try alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭daram

all three amps (jc120, twin and ac30) have really good clean channels. very bright and punchy. i've only used fenders through em, but all three bring out the best in the guitar. At the end of the day, they're all pro-amps. Personally, my favourite would be the twin, then the ac30, then the jc. Tone wise, I think the twin is in a league of its own. Also, the jc120 is an ugly thing. And very heavy.

Also, if you are spending over a grand on an amp, i'd upgrade your guitar at the same time. Pacificas are decent for messing around on but theres only so much a good amp can do.

bombidol wrote:
    Also, if you are spending over a grand on an amp, i'd upgrade your guitar at the same time. Pacificas are decent for messing around on but theres only so much a good amp can do.

yeah youre right there.

I have set it up (imo) as good as its gonna get; it does the job, so at the moment i just wanna have an ok guitar with a great amp, not a great guitar with (pretty much) no amp (have a 20 watt practice amp,but stickin a keyboard through for a monitor fecked up both the treble and bass of it!!)

Looks like im gonna fail the repeats and have to get a job next year, so stuff-wise a quality guitar is deffo next on the agenda. Im hopin round about january with a strat or a tele.
    Just seems so much harder to buy a guitar than an amp!

daram wrote:
    i've only used fenders through em, but all three bring out the best in the guitar.

Sounds good. How does each take to effects do ya know?

Yeah i agree. the amp is the big purchase. Its a lot harder to buy a guitar. But if it was between a strat or a tele , im tele all the way.

image wise, im there with ya (keith richards man!), but the fact that i dont darken the door of our friendly guitar shops very much, and bein a lefty means i dont think ive ever actually played either!

I know music maker have a few oranges, reckon theyd have any of the others on my little list?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭daram

if you get a strat. get a twin.
    if you get a tele, go for an ac30.

i dont know why, but those guitars and those amps match for some reason. although a tele and twin go nicely too.

by the way, music maker have a Vox Ac30-CC1, the real deal!
    And an orange ad30-tc if anyones interested.

Saw the orange in there today. €1938 or there abouts. Wish I had saw the Ac30 :(

Oh yeah there is a JC120 in Perfect Pitch for €999 if you wanna try it out