Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running away from home

• 16-08-2005 1:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭

I figure runing away from home is pretty retro at this stage.I mean it was pretty much something to do in the same vein as 'kick the can' or 'manhunt' except you did it with a big angry head on you.So any funny running away stories?

I remember staying away one time for what was probably only about an hour,i was probably only seven or eight or something at the time,and when i got home my mam scaring the **** out oof me by telling me that there was police everywhere looking for me and that id been on the news and there was pictures of me up on all the lamposts around the area.I believed every word of it.ANd probably cried for about two days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

Those were the days ;)

Never ran away myself, but my sister decided to pack her bag and run away.
    She packed all the important stuff, like her 2 favourite teddies :D
    She ran out the back door and ran a whopping 200 meters up the road to the telephone box and sat there for about 10 minutes. At this stage I dont think anyone even knew she was gone.
    When she walked into the garden my mother asked her what she was doing with her bag and my sister declared taht she had run away.
    I don think I have seen my mother laugh so much as when she opened up the bag only to find teddies stuffed into it. I think she may have pulled out a small pillow too.
    Well, my sister always did like her comfort.
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

planned to run away many times :p once ran into the field next to my house with a supervalu bag full of biscuits for a few hours (dont mind but they were rotten ones!) and then a mate and I planned hiding in the long grass forever hoping not to be found :) good thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭roberteboot

Id nearly run away from home now if i could get my hands on a whole bag full of biscuits!Thats kid paydirt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Got as far as 'The bridge' on our road once, a whooping 400m or so away before realizing I was hungry and returning for a sulk-laden dinner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭*Roisin*

I did it in style!

I packed my bag full of tins of food and sweeties. Even remembered a can opener! I was hiding out in my garage and got a big piece of chalk and started to write on the wall. "I have a bag, I have run aw.."

Thats as far as I got before my mammy called me for dinner and I went running in. You can still see it written on the wall of the garage all there years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

I wrote a "I have run away...." note and then hid in the closet for about an hour when i was angry at my parents for something or other. I got bored though and emerged without them ever even noticing..... :(

Damn neglected childhood.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

i ran away when i was about 9, i went 20 minutes down the road with a sleeping bag and some magazines....i got out my sleeping bag(in a bush) and got in......i woke up the next morning...i proved my point...i was a 9 year old bad ass lol.....those really were the days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I ran away once but got very hungry so went back near my house to the local shop and stole some jelly and ate it raw. Then i went home after an hour cos i was still hungry. My Mam didn't even notice :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

i ran away when i was about 9, i went 20 minutes down the road with a sleeping bag and some magazines....i got out my sleeping bag(in a bush) and got in......i woke up the next morning...i proved my point...i was a 9 year old bad ass lol.....those really were the days!!

:D That is hysterical!!!!!! Probably one of the few kids who managed to stay away longer than 30 mins :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭roberteboot

ciaran76 wrote:
    I ran away once but got very hungry so went back near my house to the local shop and stole some jelly and ate it raw. Then i went home after an hour cos i was still hungry. My Mam didn't even notice :o

Jelly raw.Thats old skool.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

A fellow from my year in secondary school ran away and hid in a bush a few hundred metres away from the house, not realising that the family could see him in the bush from the upstairs windows. When he returned to school and the story was found out, people would take the piss out of him by singing "Runaway Train" at him every chance they got.

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭deltablaze

lol, running away makes you learn one thing:
    -Why run away when you can stay locked up in a warm room with a bed and possibly all your stuff, (if parents havent taken away yet) :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

I ran away twice -

Once when I was at home and my parents and older brother went off shopping and I was left with a neighbour. I just walked out of their house and down the road away from the estate. I was picked up by a stranger who brought me back home. Nice stranger really in retrospect. I was 4. :)

The other time was in summer school (around 7/8 years old). I was at summer classes in my regular school and myself and a friend broke through a rotten gate in a brick wall and wandered off towards my house (about 40mins away). We met my dad along the way who picked us up and brought us back to my house before back to the summer camp for punishment :(

Running away/hiding from parents was cool....back in the day :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Not quite the same thing...

But my parents abandoned me at a gas station in Traverse City in the US for just over 5 hours when I was 9.

It took them so long to notice I was missing, I doubt they would have noticed if I ever tried running away from home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

It took them so long to notice I was missing, I doubt they would have noticed if I ever tried running away from home.

Ouch that's harsh. I laughed though -- I hope yer not bitter about it :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

First time I ran away was when my parents practically kicked my older brother out of the house. I was so pissed off at them that I packed up as much of my clothes as I could fit into my rucksack (which was ALOT!) and just left.

They didnt really care when my brother left but for some reason when I left it set off panic alarms.

My sister left, after I was gone about 3 minutes, looking for us. I hid in the ditch as she drove by. She picked up my brother a few hundreds metres later and asked him where I was.
    Well longer story short, I eventually ran into a field where they chased me and convinced me to come home.

The second time I ran away I was gone about 5 hours when I got a phone call asking when I was coming home. I arrived home later that night about 3am.

Come to think of it the second time wasnt really me running away from home, just me staying out late :o

The third time I ran away from home I moved to carlow and havent really looked back since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

TCamen wrote:
    Ouch that's harsh. I laughed though -- I hope yer not bitter about it :rolleyes:
    nah.. I'm not too bitter... I'll just wait until they are old and senile and then abandon them somewhere.

Actually.. the fact that is was so easy for them to forget a child, makes me think they are half way to senility already...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

I ran away when i was about 6/7 with 2 of my best mates.

we had loads of f00d and books and we had even built a little hut under a bridge ( swords river ) , we managed to last about 2 days ... well i think it was about 2 days, all i remember was getting roarded at by my dad for doing it, while my mother nearly killed me from hugging me so hard ......

the hut was still there untill we moved from swords .
    Found out that a hobo ended up moving into it ( it wasn't very big , but it was warm and dry). he ended up being convicted for being a pedo a few years later ... makes you think, some of the things you got yourself into where just plain scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭IceHawk

I ran away once when I was about 6 to avoid going to speech and drama classes.

Ten minutes before the class I left the house. I walked around the block once and then went home. My mother had already left with my sister, and when she came back she said I obviously hated the classes and I didn't have to go anymore!

Mission was a roaring success, not that I'm suggesting anyone else should try it. Stay in school kids :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

You know what this thread needs ?
    Someone play the walking away music from the incredible hulk !!

**Sits at piano**
    De de de de ...... De de de de .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

When I was 8 I ran away from home after an arguement with my mother who wouldn't let me go to the the local shopping centre with my friend the next day. The shopping centre was about 20 minutes away and my mum said we were too young to go alone. I was annoyed because my friend was allowed and I wasn't and she was 6 weeks younger than me. My mum said she didn't care what anyone else could do, I was her kid and had to follow her rules.

So I declared I was no longer her kid and stormed out. I went to the shopping centre and sat in the empty car park, it was a sunday night, feeling I'd proved my point and wondering where I'd go sleep, when my parents drove up to get me. (My mum knew exactly where I went and had decided to leave me stew.) They said I had to go home but I didn't have to be part of the family if I didn't want. I went home feeling I'd proved my point.

The next day my mum baked my favourite cake, but when I went to get some I was told it was for family members only. I re-joined the family.

I hope I get to be a devious as my mother when I have kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Had to get a running start myself when i was about 6, walked around the block a few times and then hid on the beach until it got dark... then meandered my way back home.

I too took biscuits and raw jelly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Not exactly running away from home, but i remember being in malahide woods with the family when i was small, and my dad spoofing me up that there was a witch that lived in the woods, my god i ran so fast..lol. got pretty far too before my dad finally caught up with me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

When I was 4 or so I was always going off on a wander. Get sent to bed at 8pm. Couldn't sleep. Used to unscrew the bar on my cot, then put it back in (parents were building loads of stuff on the top because they couldn't work out how I was climbing over) and climb out the window. Head off down the woods for miles. My brother was always sent off to find me.

A girl I know still has fond memories of seeing me for the first time at 9pm in the field behind her house, in my pajamas and slippers.

And the sountrack to this thread should obviously be Runaway Train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭natter

I think I was about 6 or 7 when I did my only proper run away job. I took a bag with my teddy and a packet of biscuits (strange how biscuits were the staple diet of all child run aways) and went about 200 metres down the road and climbed my favourite tree. I sat in it for about 3 hours until my parents realised I was gone and came looking for me. I think I was about another hour up there refusing to come down when they found me. One of the neighbours kids from accross the road was sent up to get me down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Optimus

I ran away when i was about 10 because my mam wouldnt let me back in the house after getting soaked in the snow, so i just said "f*** it" and walked. Got a good two miles before my dad pulled up beside me and dragged me into the car.
    Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I never did, but both my brother and sister tried it at least once. My brother was 4, and he packed his bag with his colouring book, crayons and some toys and told my mother he was cycling 5 miles away to his cousins. My mother asked him was he hungry,he said yeah, so she made him toast. When he was finished, he had forgotten all about it.
    My sister on the other hand tried to run away a few times in her young teenage years-at on stage she presented herself at the cop shop and asked to be put in care!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i ran away when i was about 6, i went out to the field behind our estate, where i normally go to play any way, my mother knew exacly where i was, dont think she even knew i had run away just thought i had gone out playing.
    i didnt bring any supplies with me.
    she called me over the back wall and told me bosco was on, i went in and watched it.
    all was forgiven.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

I buggered off to our seaside place on my bike when I was a kid. Lesson learned: Kids bikes aren't up to 28 mile journeys. Course it was the first place my parents thought of when they realised I was missing, so they just came and picked me up. I'm surprised they didn't get there before me.

I'd be very surprised if kids didn't still run away from home though.

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Those were the days ;)

Never ran away myself, but my sister decided to pack her bag and run away.
    She packed all the important stuff, like her 2 favourite teddies :D
    She ran out the back door and ran a whopping 200 meters up the road to the telephone box and sat there for about 10 minutes. At this stage I dont think anyone even knew she was gone.
    When she walked into the garden my mother asked her what she was doing with her bag and my sister declared taht she had run away.
    I don think I have seen my mother laugh so much as when she opened up the bag only to find teddies stuffed into it. I think she may have pulled out a small pillow too.
    Well, my sister always did like her comfort.
    :D:D

lmao, funniest story ever! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I ran away around 100ms down the road with my best mate at the time.I brought toys and biscuits and a chunk of wood(guess I thought I would have to start a fire).got bored and went back to my house for a new toy because i was bored and didnt go out again(Seasme strret was on)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

Myself and my cousin year and a half younger than me ran away from my grannys (rip) house when I was about 6. We werent allowed to do something or other so packed a (guess what) packet of biscuits and headed off. We got about 1 block away and were walking over a shore in the path and heard water rushing into it with a hissing sound. We convinced ourselves that it was a snake and ran home. I cant walk over a shore in the road without thinking of that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

I "ran away" about 5 times between the ages of 6 and 10. The most memorable of which being when I was about 7 and had an argument with my mum over food or something equally as ridiculous.

I spent a good hour packing some carefully selected objects (including some photos of the life I was leaving behind, binoculars, a ball of string, a couple of tissues, a book about cats, my "secret agent" sunglasses, some cashew nuts and, of course, a few digestive biscuits)
    and triumphantly announced my departure at the top of my voice while standing on the front doorstep (which was greeted with silence).

I then marched over to the nearby beach and proceeded to gather equipment for building myself a hut to live in.
    On my quest for suitable materials I stepped in a huge puddle and soaked my trousers up to the knees, so sat down on a rock for awhile to let them dry out. I sat there for what must have been about 20 minutes before losing patience over my wet feet and storming home in a sulk to tell my mother that if she wanted me back she was going to have to dry my trousers for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

I hid in my wardrobe for about an hour once and then got cramps and just said "sod this" and no one even noticed my absence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

Ran away from home twice.

The first time I must have been 15; my dad opened a love letter from my boyfriend at the time, gave it to me saying 'read this but when you're finished, give it back to me so we can watch it burn in the fireplace together'
    Got really p*ssed at him, went straight to my bedroom, packed my stuff in less than 2 minutes, jumped by the window, hitch-hiked up to the nearest train station and waited there for the earliest train to the main city, back home in France. Found myself in the middle of a city the size of Dublin (a city called Lille for those who know), with nowhere to go and nobody to contact, ended up sitting on the side of an old church for a few hours. When it became really dark, some fellah came up to me and asked me what I was doing there with my rucksack and sleeping bag and advised me to go to some place that took care of 'kids with problems'. Arrived there, got offered some hot chocolate and food, and a bed. The next morning, I had a chat with some psychologist who worked there, spent the rest of the day watching the cars go by from the bedroom's window. In the evening, I agreed with the psychologist to contact a member of my family to pick me up.

I scared the sh*t out of my dad. It was intented. You dont play with kid's feelings like that!!

The second time I ran away because my dad decided to sell the drumkit I bought with all my communion money, so once again I left by my bedroom window and walked all the way to my best-mate's house a few 5 miles away. My dad was not home at the time and I remember being really afraid that he would see me walking on the side of the road, so I was walking really fast, almost running. Stayed in my friend's house the whole day. My dad realised I had gone missing when he came home so he went straight to my friend's house. My friend covered my a$$ by saying I wasnt there (I was hiding in the bedroom) My entire body was shaking like maaaaad, I was so afraid to be discovered!! Anyway, I spent the night there and the next day I called my antie to bring me home.

Once again I had won ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

think i was 16 or something...had a fight with my mam cos I wasn't studying enough and I told her that I was just gonna leave, she said you wouldn't last an hour. Managed to jump on a bus to carlow and hang out with a mate for the night, missed a day or two of school too, ha!
    Aahh the memories...If any of my kids do that I'll burst them :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

The first time I ran away I was 3, I slipped out the front door and ran off down the road (I ran everywhere back then) but when I got to the end of it I couldn't think of where to go next, and it was cold, so I just went home.
    The second time I ran away was when I was 8. A friend and I packed crisps, a large bar of chocolate and (surprise surprise) a packet of biscuits into a rucksack, and set off. We were going to have loads of adventures of course, but we stopped in a field near our houses to eat the food and ended up staying there all day. We had a great time actually - it was one of those really warm autumn days when the wheat has just been cut, and there's loads of stubble for you to crunch under your feet. And of course there was a huge chestnut tree in the field so we collected conkers. Someone had made a swing out of a thick branch and a really long piece of rope, it went really high and was one of the best swings I ever went on. We completely forgot about the running away idea, and were found by my mother that evening when she was walking the dog. She just assumed I'd been at my friend's house and in the field all day, I don't think she realised what we'd been planning to do! But we went home with her for dinner anyway

i remember when i was 13, myself and a few from school mitched the whole day and went home really late that night, not exactly running away but still, more or less the same thing............... sneaked out the next night to go to a disco too!

one of the best days of my teenage years, we broke into an old courthouse and had serious craic, the cops and teachers were out looking for us, one of the lads went to buy fags and got caught by his mother.......

Quality stuff, simply a great day and a great memory, made even more poignant by the fact that one of the girls who was there with us died tragically last April.

never forget the look on my parents face when i came in :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

my cousin decided to run away one day when we were about 10 so we climbed through the house window stole some food and headed off up the fields. headed home bout 5 hours later and my cousin was gutted cos her ma thought we were just out playing ;-) LMAO

My ma was a legend though. My little bro has a right strop when he was about 6 and announced that he was going to run away and headed upstairs to pack. So my ma follows him upstairs and starts helping him, suggesting what he should bring etc. needless to say my bro was gobsmacked at this. My ma then escorted him out the front door and told him to have fun. So within 5 minutes my bro was sat balling on the doorstep about how he was only messing and he would never runaway again....ive never laughed so hard in my life!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭pbsuxok1znja4r

Myself and my twin sister (I'm male), were about 3 yrs old when we wandered out of the house and down the road in our pyjamas. We hadn't a clue what we were doing, really. Some old woman came out of her house and started talking to us. Then my soother fell under a bus so I cried and we walked home. Everybody had completely freaked out in the meantime and were about to call the police!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

I blame the adventures of Huckleberry Finn for everybody wanting to run away from Home. It looked great on a llittle raft swimmin in the nip and foiling injun joe.

I don't remember running away but probably because the only time I remember threatening to do so my parents put a rather clever if disturbing stop to it. I was about 6/7and had gotten in to a right strop over something. I got out a suitcase packed all my clothes dragged it downstairs and declared I was leaving.

My parents asked where I was going and then proceeded to put the suitcase in the car and drive me to the train station, all the time telling me how much they were going to miss me but that the extra cash from the rental of the room would come in handy.

I don't think I stopped crying for about two weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 981 ✭✭✭tj-music.com

I planned to run away with my older brother and sister. I was about 8 at the time. No particular reason just show offs. My mum just watched us packing. She was calm and then offered us a NUTELLA (chocolate spread) bread if we'd stay and, gladly, we did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

I ran away a few times when I was younger. One of the times I ran away to the end of our garden & hid up a tree (we lived in the countryside - garden was a field!) My mam went out driving to look for me. She drove by me in the tree & I remember laughing that she couldn't find me. Was gone for an hour or two.
    My older brother ran away when he was about 3 and I was a baby. He apparently took my mams bus ticket & timetable and put on his coat, hat & scarf and started walking to the local village, to get the bus. Some woman down the road found him 10mins down the road & brought him home...