Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Assembly program

• 31-03-1999 7:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭

need an assembly program that uses interrupts to display the system time.
    i have it about half done just some nasty trouble with registers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Omar

Hmmm i did a program something like that for a project last year, ive lost the code tho but one of the other lads in me group might have it handy. ill enquire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

great thanks a lot !

had an exam in it today...
    ughh

Display a menu with the following options:

1. Create A File
    2. Delete A File
    3. Copy File
    4. Display Drive Letter

ouch

passed it anyways hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

You wonder why they bother... who in their right mind uses x86 assmebler these days? The only people who use asm are console coders, and we've got lovely RISC chipsets to bugger about with... Oh and Gameboy coders, of course, since it's Z80 and the Z80 had assembler so beautifully structured that it makes Pascal or C look crap.... smile.gif

Mata ne!
    Rob

Assembly language is a must for any decent programmer.. i mean take a simple loop in C++ then have a look at the assembly version that the compiler churns out, its huge..
    go into assembly and two instructions will do it for you.
    now it doesn't really matter i suppose cos an extra instruction here extra clock tick there won't make too much difference but if your continually using that function you will notice the speed change.
    i know a lot of professional C++ programmers who fine-tune their code all the time with assembly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Naaa man, you want a VB5 application with all the bits that you need coded as OCX files. Throw in some uncompressed bitmaps, and then .... only then will you be good enough to program in windows. smile.gif

Actually I have a good book which has what your looking for. However it's in Dublin :/ in the attic (with any luck).

You could try http://www.mcp.com they have online books with loads of source. I think the book I had was a QUE book from thier place. All thier online books are free and it's just cut and paste job.

actually got my hands on an excellent assembly book smile.gif
    Peter Nortons Programmers Guide to the IBM PC .. sure its written in the 80's and makes reference to the doomed IBM Jr PC (haha) but its Mr. Norton and he rules ...
    lists every interrupt and some great examples . Not available at a book shop near you.
    Maybe a car-boot sale or summat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

To a degree I was being sarcastic, because that's the opinion I see posted so often on programming newsgroups. In another sense, I'm quite serious. If you're writing for Windows (and lets face it, if you plan to make money, you're writing for Windows) using asm is disencouraged by the fact that you have to deal with the clunky APIs in the OS anyway. So a lot of coders, with the exception of game coders, just don't bother.
    Remember, too, that asm code is not portable, wheras well-written C++ or Object Pascal is completely portable, and probably fairly fast as well. Also remember that you can usually turn off a lot of the crap slow things that your compiler does when you're doing the final version of the program binary...

Mata ne!
    Rob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

My only quibble about asm was it was too easy. Or rather everything you had to do had to be done to the letter.

Bit like teaching your kid to drink. After a while, you feel like slapping the kid and telling him to cop on because he's picked it up and poured it in his ear smile.gif

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Point of Information lads...

I'm doing a Software Engineering (aka Programming) Diploma in College and I haven't a notion about what yiz are on about...
    Says a hell of a lot for my course I suppose...

Also - on another note...
    If any poor soul had been (by some freak of nature) consitering the Computers Courses in either of the GMIT campus' that do it - DON'T!!!!
    I only applied for it to make sure I got a college place and the fact that it's 3 miles from home curlydav.gif

All the best,

Dav
    @B^)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Whoa Kharn clam yourself down. GMIT isn't that bad. I know the CastleBar campus isn't that good. But the Galway one is fine I served my time there and the only problem I had was there was no College Bar and having the write assembly for the Motorolla Processer redface.gif( and Using OrCAD on a WANG 386 not the best I'll admit but bar those problems everything else was ok.

KaYoS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Whoa Kharn and that other muppetboy whoever you are "clam" yourselves down, sure doesn't asm rule (specially IBM 370/290) and sure isn't GMIT Castlebar class, and sure isn't Galway crap an' all that, so relax and sure an' shure an' begorrah.....

Stuff.

Al.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Karla

I think I saw that book that Kali was talking about in Eason's in Cork today.
    Well, it was really old, I think it had IBM PC in the title, and it was about assembly.
    Just if anyones interested.
    Karla

easy way to know if its the book i was talkin bout..
    either Norton has hair or he doesn't..
    shows ya how old it is
    86/87 or summat