Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attention Northsiders !

• 12-08-2005 9:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭

Green Joker Poker is coming to Dublin! As of Friday 2nd September there will be a tournament held at the AUL club (nr the Coachmans, also where the Irish soccer team trains, apparently).

This will continue every Friday as long as it is well supported.

They will start off as €25 re-buy tournaments.

Registration opens at 8pm, start time 9pm.

If you are not a member of the AUL club there is a yearly €1 membership fee.

The tournament will follow the same structure as our Drogheda tournament which is:

Unlimited re-buys during first hour @ €25. First re-buy 1000 chips subsequent re-buys 1500 chips.
    Top-up after first hour @€;25 3000 chips.

25/50 (20 min)
    50/100 (20 min)
    75/150 (20 min) 15 min break
    100/200 all levels from 4 on will be 20 min if started by 9 and <100 runners.
    200/400 If over 100 runners then 15 min. If starts late some lvls will be 15min
    300/600
    400/800
    500/1000
    800/1500 10 min break
    1000/2000
    1500/3000
    2000/4000
    3000/6000
    5000/10000
    8000/15000
    10000/20000
    15000/30000

This will allow a finish time of between 2/3am depending on runners.

12.5% of prize pool allocated for costs.

<100 runners 9 places paid
    >100 runners 10% paid

Tournament Director - Mike Lacey
    Self dealt until final table (or money if >100 runners)
    Car parking outside club is secure but €1

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Nice one mike....I will spreed the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

I don't know, 1euro for membership, 1euro for parking....... any other hidden costs? I mean thats 2euro already!

We're northsiders :)

My only worry is that the AUL is abit "off the beaten track" as the say.But I am sure it will be fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

roryc wrote:
    I don't know, 1euro for membership, 1euro for parking....... any other hidden costs? I mean thats 2euro already!

We're northsiders :)

you can park on street but may find yourself paying 10 years parking costs for new tyres/windows/cd player. It is the Northside :D

I will loan anyone the membership fee and you can pay it back in weekly instalments of 2c. APR = 4%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Shortstack wrote:
    I will loan anyone the membership fee and you can pay it back in weekly instalments of 2c. APR = 4%
    4%???

Pah!
    bank of ireland only charge 3.5%....

Dub13 wrote:
    My only worry is that the AUL is abit "off the beaten track" as the say.But I am sure it will be fine

It might not be ideal but it is accessable to a wide area (quite a few from Drogheda will be there as it is only 20mins away) and we have no bother with having to finish really early like most pub/hotel tournies in Dublin.

The Drogheda tournie is out of the way as well but it has a good reputation and people are travelling from Dundalk & Dublin to play it.

The AUL is also right at the end of the M50....so handy for these affluent southside folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

thats good, i live just down the road so id like to give this a go.

Proceed to the junction of the M50 and the M1. Head for the M50 extension to the Malahide Road. You will come to a small roundabout shortly after the main M50-M1 roundabout, take the exit for Baskin. The AUL grounds are on the left hand side approximately 1 mile from the turn off. The entrance is marked by pink pillars.

or
    its on a back road that runs behind the "coachmans inn" which is right beside dublin airport on the main road.

http://www.quickpark.ie/printmap.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

How would you get there if you're a bus faring man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

by bus :)

DapperGent wrote:
    How would you get there if you're a bus faring man?

The best/only way to get here by bus would be a 41 to the coachmans inn just past the airport,then about a 10min walk or one of the lads could pick you up....I should be there with a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Is this definitely on 2nd Sept?

Yep first one is Sep 2nd then weekly after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

Are you hosting a Drogheda event any time soon mike? im from dundalk myself and would like to go to a tournament nearby to see what the standard is like. should make the AUL aswell. thanks for info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Game on tonight, going to go along myself I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭The Snapper

Dub13 wrote:
    The AUL is also right at the end of the M50....so handy for these affluent southside folk.

and with an 8 pm start passport and visa control will be closed so no worries there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Good Tourney ... will be a big hit in the AUL !

As you can see, home already though :(

I will be at the inaugural AUL tournament. I feel like Buckner walking back into Shea.

Lets make sure we get a Dub to win this....or better still a Dublin 1,2,3.We cant have the lads from the "Wee County" taken liberties in Dublin ;)

yeah it will be a sorry day if a droghadeen wins the first one. i will sacrifice myself as a blocker if need be calling another all in with K2!. i cant be bluffed, i have courage and stupidity in equal measure. thats a damn leathal combo.

Myself and Henbane will be there.

I'm planning on getting drunk and abusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

DapperGent wrote:
    Myself and Henbane will be there.

I'm planning on getting drunk and abusive.

You'll be a sure thing to make the final table then!! ;):p

I will be the one in the corner,with all the hot chicks around me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Dub13 wrote:
    I will be the one in the corner,with all the hot chicks around me....

....and the bling?????

Feed back from the A.U.L. is that there is going to be a big crowd so get there early so you do not miss out!!

I would imagine 10/15% of the field would be from Drogheda so I make that about evens that one of them wins it against you sorry Dubliners :eek:

Shortstack wrote:
    I would imagine 10/15% of the field would be from Drogheda so I make that about evens that one of them wins it against you sorry Dubliners :eek:

You will regret that statement mike..... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

If an 'affuent Southsider' (not me, I'm from Kerry via Galway and living in Rathmines!) were to try and drive to the AUL, how would one do so? Up through Drumcondra and...?

just head towards the airport on the M1,take the exit for the M50 but don't turn onto the m50 turn right towards Malahide road/N32.about 100 yards from the end of the M50 their is a roundabout take the left and its on this road on your left.

If you are heading from Fairview,just head up the malahide road on till you hit the Dublin airport Hilton take the left just before the hotel onto the N32,continue along the N32 on till you come to a roundabout take a right and its on your left a few min up this road.

Its a small country road so keep an eye out for the complex

I am ****e at given direction's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bigun

here is a map to the venue.

When you look at this just below the word "map" in the top right hand corner there is a square building, as far as i know this is the venue.

http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=53.415159,-6.221910&spn=0.011105,0.028906&t=h&hl=en

thats the right venue in the map.much better than my description

Anyone be passing through Glasnevin or along the Finglas Road on the way and fancy giving a lift? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Bigun wrote:
    here is a map to the venue.

When you look at this just below the word "map" in the top right hand corner there is a square building, as far as i know this is the venue.

http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=53.415159,-6.221910&spn=0.011105,0.028906&t=h&hl=en
    Google rules. Thanks Bigun. Probably won't make it tomorrow but will head next week I think.

Shortstack wrote:

Then War it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

btw the pillars (about six) are painted chocolate brown NOT! pink.... as if! This is DNS (De North side) :p

cant make it this wk, hope its on next, cant wait to read the report with no doubt a Boardsie taking it :)

btw the pillars (about six) are painted chocolate brown NOT! pink.... as if! This is DNS (De North side) :p

cant make it this wk, hope its on next, cant wait to read the report with no doubt a Boardsie taking it :)

It is on every week for the foreseeable future, Numbers permitting. We have just set up for tonight and have room for 130. We can squeeze another 20 in if necessary.

Best of luck to everyone who turns up.

Mike

Dub13 wrote:
    You will regret that statement mike..... ;)

Noticably silent today Mr 13 :D Anything to do with your fine bubble performance and the fact that a Droghedean won? ( well chopped four ways but counts as equal first!)

Thanks also to yourself, Dapper, Henbane & Rounders123 for the support at the tournie last night.

Shortstack wrote:
    Noticably silent today Mr 13 .

Yes it was one of those nights....I blame the dealer.I am starting to bubble alot lately what can you do,I am getting to final stages and then nasty nasty lady luck takes over.

Good night had by all,so I am the first bubble boy from mikes dublin tournament's I feel special nobody remembers the winner (especially when there are 4 winners) but they remember the bubble boy.I will be back.

We very nearly got that Dublin 1,2,3.I think the Drogheda lads will be pushed to the side when this takes off.