Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

where can i get tickets for the Galway match on sunday at Croker

• 05-08-2005 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭

I have checked with ticketmaster and none available.
    Want to bring the GF to croker to experience the thrills of a gaelic football match as shes never been before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

This will not be a sell out by any means.

Kerry have returned 3500 of their 7000 ticket allocation. Mayo support is very subdued this year, as Maughan factor has badly hit moral.

Go along before the game and there will be the caravans selling them, go early though as it is badly organised as usual, there were complaints at the hurling, only one guy in the caravan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

A shop in Drumcondra near Croke Park, called O'Neills, has a sign up every day saying they are an official ticket sellers.

They've had it up all week and I'd imagine they have tickets. The shop is across from Fagans pub, just up the round from the mighty Quinns.

As this thread is probably finished ....wtf is a lemlin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Well seeing as we are going off topic here. Don't get me wrong I am not having a go, but I do not understand the anti Maughan sentiment. Is he not Mayo's most successful manager since the 50's. As I say, I am not having a go, but I would have thought Mayo folk would be quite fond of him.

Hi Waylander.

2 main things really.

Maughan is a great man for getting a team fit, old sargeant major stuff (ex army man) however he has been found out on numerous occassions with a lack of tactical awareness.
    Major Fault.

However, the real reason for extreme discontent in Mayo at the moment ( and it has stayed within Mayo to a large degree) is the basic fact that he has fallen out with our best players, and also has failed to pick the best 15 players in the county.

David Brady is the obvious example, a difficult player to handle, but by far and away the best midfielder (and leader) Mayo has to offer....also present All Ireland Club winning captain.
    He felt out with him the eve of the Mayo/Tyrone game last year and never spoke since (Brady wanted to be captain when existing captain got injured).

He fell out with Kieran McDonald for a year. Damien Munnelly and Michael Conroy, probably the 2 best under 23 footballers in Mayo (very good).
    Then there is the Austin O'Malley episode. Every single Mayo supporter will tell you he is the best thing since sliced bread, kept Mayo in Division 1 of the league last year ON HIS OWN .... championship came around last year, and he brought him on for 3 minutes against Roscommon (and he scored a goal), and then tried to bring him om against Kerry with 5 minutes to go in the All Ireland Final and O'Malley told him to (rightly) F Off, after leaving him sitting on the bench all year.

He finally finally finally got a run out against Cavan last week.

Maughan and Liam McHale don't get on.
    Ballina All Ireland Club champions ... feck all representation, best full forward in Mayo (David Brady's brother) has not been given a chance, I'd say he'd be one of the top 3 full forwards in the country at the moment.

Seriously, there are probably 8 fellahs not playing for Mayo that should be, because of Maughan related friction, and this is undermining the confidence of present players such as the Mortimers, McDonald and Nallen. They know well the story. Mayo are waiting a long time for an All Ireland, they have the players to do it, but we're being let down by poor man management and selection. if we can't put out the best 15 players in the county, we've no hope against those hungry hungry men from the north and elsewhere.
    No team spirit.

and then, just to have the cherry on top ....we have John O'Mahony a true Mayo man (he taught me (badly)in School and I know him well) ...who is tantalising close by without a job.

100%, I kid you not, of Mayo supporters are hoping and praying that Johnno will pick up this team and give it a right good lash.

Problem is, Johnno got shafted by County board when he was in charge before, so he'll only take job on his terms now, which will upset the cosy status quo in Mayo county board.

I've probably missed out a fair bit, but that might give you a fair idea of whats going on.

Mayo has probably (and I know alot of counties would say the same) but genuinely, the best support of a football team in the country .... they have had enough this year...Maughan has sickened them, took the fight out of them, the same way you'd be sickened by someone hitting a gutshot in poker :)

BTW, I'm following Mayo since 1983 when I was a 12 year old, so I know the craic.

Well....you did ask :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

any other place selling tickets besides o'neills

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭cgf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

thanx mate, hope we (Galway) win now !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I could tell you what a Lemlin is Culchie....... but I'd have to kill you!