Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you won 115 million on the Euromillions

• 03-08-2005 4:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭

What would you do if you won 115 million on the Euromillions?

I would give some to charity then spend it all on something like a football club or a small telecommunications company. I would not give a penny to any beggars.I wouldn't give much to my family either but if they were stuck I would give them a job in my football club or telecommunications company.It would ruin your life if you held on to the money as cash rather than investing in something big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭Snapper1

Put it all on red and double it!

Buy lottery tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭bullock

I'd burn it ... I think that much money is more of a curse than a cure. Imagine all the "leeches" you'd have stuck on to you. You life would change cause you'd be hob nobbing with other nobs!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

First of all I wouldn't tell anyone, including family. Maybe tell them that I won the 5 numbers and give them something small each.

I'd put the majority of the money, say €100 mil in a high yeild savings account and wait for the money to roll in. My children for generations would never have to work if they didn't want to.

Money is a horrible, horrible thing, I'd rather a world without it to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭dmck2886

I like the idea of owning my own football club, but what are the odds of it reaching that amount and me winning it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭garred

Snapper1 wrote:
    Put it all on red and double it!

absolutely.....imagine the adrenaline rush just watching that ball landing. Actually no, go with black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭dimerocks

buy all the tea in china!!!what would you all do then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭bacon?

i'd probably become evil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,590 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I'd announce it in the pub, get a complete stranger to check my numbers and get him to shout out to everyone that I'd won. I'd tell everyone my name on the night so my name would be all over the papers and news the next day. Then I'd go into hiding for the rest of my life (or emmigrate!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

After 3 and a half weeks of solid laughter I'd pick up the cheque. Laugh some more and buy a pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Buy boards.ie

Also, I would throw a big party celebrating my 500th post. w00t!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Well for a start I wouldn't tell everyone and get plastered all over the papers like the dumbass who won it did!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I'd quit my job and go on the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 520 ✭✭✭AlienGav

I'd give half of the money to Rehab....

Then ask them to keep a bed for me! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I'd keep 50 million, and give the other 63 million to charity, my family and my friends. I would make all of my close friends millionaires too. I'd give them 5 million each, on condition that we all travel the world for a year. That'd be some year alright. When I come back I'd buy a nice car or two, a nice very nice house, and live off the interest. I'd probably just end up traveling for the rest of my days to be honest.

I'd buy a 51% share in some companies I hate and run them into the ground.
    You know, just for the laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

sjones wrote:
    I'd probably just end up traveling for the rest of my days to be honest.

Probably best then to buy a caravan like some other millionaires. If I won, I'd setup a educational trustfund, for everyone related to me, and for whatever they wanted. For the closest family members I would pay all their bills and outstanding debts, maybe give them a lump sum but I dont know if that would be helping as such. The trust fund would be my fav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

sjones wrote:
    I'd keep 50 million, and give the other 63 million to charity, my family and my friends. I would make all of my close friends millionaires too. I'd give them 5 million each, on condition that we all travel the world for a year. That'd be some year alright. When I come back I'd buy a nice car or two, a nice very nice house, and live off the interest. I'd probably just end up traveling for the rest of my days to be honest.
    yeah, I'd do something similar... but I'd still be afraid of forgetting some mates or cousins and making them angry and probably losing their friendship over it. ("You gave them more than me!" etc...).

I saw some BOI rep on the news a few days ago saying she'd make €44,000 a week in interest. (at 2% p/a)
    More than most people make in a year.
    So you could pick 51 other people you know and support them for life... pretty comfortably aswell... and still have your 115million :eek:
    Crazy money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

I'd buy a 51% share in some companies I hate and run them into the ground.
    You know, just for the laugh.

That's two great idea's you've had so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

I'd have a heart attack and wet myself if I won that amount, I really can't imagine what I would do with that much.

And the relatives and charities and other leechers would have to be beaten off with a large bat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Fly out anyone I thought deserved it for a few weeks in the Med, Amsterdam, Florida and Vegas

Throw a bit of money to my very very best mates, and be cool with a loan/bailing out the rest if they were in trouble. Twould all be like Biggie Smalls said in Juicy

"an my whole crew is loungin, celebratin everyday no more public housin.....
    Birthdays was the worst days, now we sip champagne when we thirstay"

Actually, that tune there would be the opener of my celebratory do, such an inspirational we fcukin made it track.

Ride the arse off any bird who wasnt bothered with me when I was a nobody, but wanted some when I had my millions
    Once done Id tell her to **** off, if I wasnt good enough when I was a fcuking fast food restaurent cook ya can piss off

Buy my granny a bunglow, she doesnt like the stairs

Not be sober for at least a year after. In all honesty, twould be Bud for breakfest and basically just cruisin about in the car drinkin (being driven, of course)

TimAy wrote:
    That's two great idea's you've had so far.
    Thanks, I've had another one.
    Take a few of the roughest scummer families in Dublin and buy them houses in Dalkey... I'd make it my new reality TV show.
    Basically ruin every 'exclusive' area in Dublin... again, just for the laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

i'd go on a roller coaster tour of the world...after i went thru rehab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

I'd buy 999,999 of these babies
    http://www.golem.de/0506/38770.html

I'd probably spend the last 115 quid on paper.
    Live the dream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Buy a stake in Man United and get Glazer to give me double for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Buy 115 million scratchcards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭0utshined

€5M walking around money
    €10M invested in various stocks and shares
    €100M in a research fund

I'd also keep schtum unlike the fcuktard that won it.

Ah hell, I'd get ye all a drink at the next Boards beers too (,just one mind).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

i wouldnt tell any knacker tabloids for starters
    i'd just buy me some property in exotic locations and travel around the world, going to metal gigs and festivals...........oh and buy lotsa clothes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭gregos

Take a few of the roughest scummer families in Dublin and buy them houses in Dalkey... I'd make it my new reality TV show.
    Basically ruin every 'exclusive' area in Dublin... again, just for the laugh.
    Nah. You're too late. The Health Boards do that already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd make millionaires out of my family and make it known to close friends that business plans would be always welcome should anyone need a financial backer for a project. Invest most of it into a blue-chip and property portfolio and then head off travelling the world for a few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭derek27

i'd build a house something like this and buy myself lots of nice cars and a helicopter and a plane and live happily ever after trying to lure people to my castle to be devoured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

invest it in the stock market/ possibly the property market (ensure sustainable funding) and then use the money to set up a way to divet some food (and also help influence those in power) from the eu food mountain to those who need it most, eg in Niger, id also try and set up schools/ system to help them break the poverty cycle.

id also keep a bit of it to give to my family and to my friends, i d probably also get myself a car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭528i

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Ride the arse off any bird who wasnt bothered with me when I was a nobody, but wanted some when I had my millions
    Once done Id tell her to **** off, if I wasnt good enough when I was a fcuking fast food restaurent cook ya can piss off
    lol, and what if you poled da biatch.. she'd get half !! :D

I'd have a weekly episode broadcast on primetime rte called "money is the root of all evil" where viewers get to watch €10k going up in smoke to demented chuckles in the background..

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i'd get broadband tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'd build a replica 16th Century Japanese Castle.
    In Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

I'd buy 114,999,999 scratchcards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Buy my granny a bunglow, she doesnt like the stairs
    haha- best idea yet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

I'd become the Batman. Are there any caves around Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Oh, I'd buy up all the vintage bottles of Middleton in Ireland. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

Would it be enough to buy your own island and start building mech warriors then invade a neighbouring island?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

I'd hire an army of hitmen to kidnap all the other eurolottery winners and live off the ransom money.

I would also buy this shop http://property.nicemove.ie/PropertyDetails.aspx?propertyID=%2028950 in Carlow demolish it and replace it with a massive aquarium full of sharks and piranhas and exotic fish, just because I could afford to do so.

I would buy a few zoos and let all the animals free to wander all over town.

I would buy Grand Theft Auto San Andreas for the PC, and wait for it, AND the PS2.

I would pay someone to come to my house and do my laundry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

gaf1983 wrote:
    I would pay someone to come to my house and do my laundry.
    Hell yeah, that'd be one of the first lazy things I'd do!