Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What To Do About Busking In Grafton St.?

• 01-08-2005 11:26PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭

I was contemplating about busking in Grafton St. with a few other people or going solo.
    I know a group of people who went in with a load of guitars and busking in Grafton St. for 2 weeks they seemed to get on OK.
    I was just wondering is it like Galway which is a big busker haven do you have to have a license? If you do I doubt alot get it.
    Do the guards trouble buskers as much as people say?
    I hear they can't trouble you when your busking on private property like in front of a shop because that's the owner's business.
    Is there any buskers here that could give me advice?
    Do you ever get trouble from nackers or drug addicts with your cash.
    How do you find the money?
    The group I know busked for I think 5days during the summer and got 350-400 euro.
    I don't know how I should start.
    I play he guitar and sing by the way its and old cliché I know but bear with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭De Mad Yoke

Anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Clown

I haven't busked myself but as far as i know you need a license but the pigs dont care that much if you dont unless shop owners complain. The money varies a lot. People who play rock music generally get the most. (I'm gettin all this info off a mate of mine who busks btw) The best place on Grafton St. is probably outside HMV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

my friend does it sometimes as part of the classical quartet thing and she says there is no licence available but the guards hassle you saying you need a licence and to go to pearse st garda station to get one, but of course they tell you there 1- you dont need one and 2-there is no such licence.

so its touch and go!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭ClaireMcDonnell

I´ve done it a few times with out a licence and had no trouble....and yeah outside hmv is good. If you are in a band or have a gimmick of some sort you´ll make way more money.
    Any one busked in Templebar before?
    I´m living in Germany most of the time now and I actually make my living my busking. The money is good and it´s easy work once you get the hang of it....at first I was quite nervous, just me and a guitar!I´ve never gotten mugged here, but get alot of assholes talking rubbish to me, that is all.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Last Wednesday 2 of us went busking on Grafton street toward the St.Stephens Green end at midnight. It was great, the people are either drunk going home, or drunk going from pub to club. Didn't stay too long but will do it again starting a bit earlier.

The cops passed by and didn't take a bit of notice of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

BossArky wrote:
    Last Wednesday 2 of us went busking on Grafton street toward the St.Stephens Green end at midnight. It was great, the people are either drunk going home, or drunk going from pub to club. Didn't stay too long but will do it again starting a bit earlier.

The cops passed by and didn't take a bit of notice of us.

Yeah it was great fun!!
    I still have to try it sober though :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭BogOak

oooooh. busking on grafton street at midnight. how romantic.

i go out to the wicklow mountains to busk in peace and quiet. i'm not a facking sell-out.

how does busking make you a sell out? I do it coz I can´t get a job over here in Germany and I enjoy it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Pearl666

how does busking make you a sell out? I do it coz I can´t get a job over here in Germany and I enjoy it

yeah s'pose if yu really enjoy it you don't mind :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Just to let people know there is a busking licence and it is available from IMRO (irish music rights organisation) and you only need it if you are playing cover songs, its to do with playing copyrighted material or something. other then that no other busking licence exists. hth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭BogOak

the sell-out comment was what i believed at the time to be an obvious humorism. if any offence was caused by this failure of judgement on my part then may i extend my deepest apologies.

for more gags, see above. i'm here all night folks.

Question about imro. I am trying to sign up and have been emailing them for weeks and getting no reply. I am getting played on alot of stations this year so wanna sign asap, anyone with imro?know anything about signing up that I prob don´t?