Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRL: 1X12 - "Whatever The Case May Be" [**SPOILERS WITHIN**]

• 31-07-2005 11:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,194 ✭✭✭✭

WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN "WHATEVER THE CASE MAY BE"

Episode Title: "Whatever The Case May Be"
    Airdate: August 1st 2005

Synopsis (from TV.Com):

Jack, Kate and Sawyer fight over possession of a newly discovered locked metal briefcase which might contain insights into Kate's mysterious past. Meanwhile, Sayid asks a reluctant Shannon to translate notes he took from the French woman, a rising tide threatens to engulf the fuselage and the entire beach encampment, and Rose and a grieving Charlie tentatively bond over Claire's baffling disappearance.

Next New Episode: 1X13 - "Hearts And Minds" - 8th August 2005

What did you think of "Whatever The Case May Be"? 33 votes

Excellent!
    0%
    Good
    18%
    paulj13WashoutElmoyom 1Bawpsherepthewools 6 votes
    Average
    27%
    digimanfjonZukustiousmonkeyfudgeOFDMTabulaRasatvnutzSparkorandomname2005 9 votes
    Poor
    27%
    ManachPonsterMadDogGreenerStimpyonehorsefleshBolBilljoejoemCraniaLochaber 9 votes
    Terrible!
    27%
    somapodge3pcheadPurpleFistMixerBrando_iephiltaylorbravDadesblah 9 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Average
    This ep is good because we get to see more of "the thing" Locke and Boone found,and some interesting stuff about Kate. Her back stories aren't the most interesting ones,but i do like Kate herself,so it was a good ep,not an excellent one! :D

also,did anyone notice last week on the O2 competition,the question was "which character was a former rock star",and the options were Locke, Charlie and Sayid. but the tool who was reading the question pronounced Sayid's name Say-ED. *shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭AliasFan47

What do you expect from announcers on RTE who insist on pronouncing RTE as oarTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Average
    Didn't anything of "the thing" tbh. Just that they needed an axe for whatever they were up to.

Bit of a slow episode but good all the same. Korean woman over hearing that guns are in the case may come to something.

I miss the monster. Please come back monster.

Average
    Anyone notice the numbers connection? The lock box number was 815,their flight number was 815. Numbers are important in the show,if you watch Alias you will probably know it! Look out for more,especially later in the season :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭soma

Terrible!
    hmm.. first ep where I found myself clock-watching to be honest.

The last five minutes drove me a bit batty to be honest. The charlie/older black woman interaction was just sickly sweet and shannon singing (altho Im sure the lyrics will be of consequence..) made me feel like I had accidently switched over to the disney channel. :mad:

tvnutz - eh I dont know what you saw of the 'thing', but the only information I garnered about it was that they required an axe to work on it & they had been 'working on it' for four days.

Kate's backstory was a bit of a snoozefest for me personally.

One thing I liked, was Jack's comment about the beach eroding at a completely unnatural rate - kinda like the island was herding them inland.

Overall I'm sure the ep contained important (subtle) information & clues but it's the 1st one that left me a little cold.

Terrible!
    tvnutz wrote:
    Anyone notice the numbers connection? The lock box number was 815,their flight number was 815. Numbers are important in the show,if you watch Alias you will probably know it! Look out for more,especially later in the season :D

Dunno about other posters here, but I'm not that happy with you posting comments alluding to future events (or clues in this instance), given that (it at least sounds like) you have already viewed the later eps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Dellgirl

The numbers have been discussed in other threads as well so everyone knows about them ....well...nearly everyone!

Whats with Kate's aeroplane? Whats that all about? Did she have some forewarning to the crashing of the plane? Nobody seems that worried about Claire anymore and why is it taking so long for Locke to dig up the iron thing he found?

Sayid seems to be well into singing Blondie. A couple for the future? It will be interesting to see if the y form what could loosely be called a society with social structure. Whoever gets the guns will prolly be at the top of the food chain. The Truman Show meets Survivor.

Kate is well sneaky and I see her going on to be the Docs nemesis if she carries on being so sneaky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 pchead

Terrible!
    I have several problems with this episode, which I think was the poorest so far:

1. Why aren't the survivors combing the island looking for Claire. She was hardly mentioned :confused:

2. When Kate was up the tree picking fruit or whatever, did you notice how hairless her armpit was :) . I would have thought the last thing on her mind would be unwanted fuzz. Shouldn't all the ladies be doing a Julia Roberts after a few weeks on a deserted island. Same goes for the men and the facial hair.

3. Should Jack and Kate not have been wearing some kind of a rag over their mouths when digging up the dead guy? Probably not the healthiest thing in the world to be breathing in whatever germs etc might be floating around an open grave.

4. Why oh why have they not tried to contact the French Woman or explore the island. How do they know its an island? Maybe its a peninsula!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Terrible!
    Wasn't impressed last night. :mad:

No cliff hanger or crazy revelation.
    I though Kates "a man I killed" line was cheesy and fell flat.

Nice swimming scenes though. :)

Average
    soma wrote:
    Dunno about other posters here, but I'm not that happy with you posting comments alluding to future events (or clues in this instance), given that (it at least sounds like) you have already viewed the later eps.

I alluded to the future of the show in general,based on JJ Abrahms other show,Alias,it wasn't a spoiler. Besides,we were told early on to look our for numbers.

Average
    soma wrote:
    tvnutz - eh I dont know what you saw of the 'thing', but the only information I garnered about it was that they required an axe to work on it & they had been 'working on it' for four days.

ye i had forgotten the ep,i thought there was more in it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RonanC

pchead wrote:
    I have several problems with this episode, which I think was the poorest so far:

Agree with most of what you said, this was by far the weakest episode I've seen to date. Little advancement plot-wise and some appalling expositional dialogue to remind viewers of previous events (cf. Sayid & Jack discussing the French woman) which I found condescending to anyone who has being following it regularly.

Also, was nice of Kate and Sawyer to keep their discovery of the waterfall, etc. to themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Poor
    Yeah I wasnt very impressed with this show, there was vert little in it to be honest, there was no pinnacle of the show, each week so far there has been one giant step as such but this week all there was was the suitcase which seems to play a minor role in the whole thing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭philtaylor

Terrible!
    not impressed at all , was expecting more especially re the metal etc from last week thought that should have been developed more plus the story of clair baffles me - why arent they looking etc and that whole suitcase with the the small plane - whats that all about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

Poor
    For what it's worth the lyrics of the song in English are....

Somewhere, beyond the sea
    Somewhere waiting for me
    My lover stands on golden sands
    And watches the ships that go sailing

She's there watching for me
    If I could fly like birds on high
    Then straigt to her arms I'd go sailing

It's far beyond a star,
    it's near beyond the moon
    I know beyond a doubt
    My heart will lead me there soon

We'll meet beyond the shore
    We'll kiss just like before
    Happy we'll be beyond the sea
    And never again I'll go sailing
    Some sailing

I know beyond a doubt
    My heart will lead me there soon
    We'll meet I know we'll meet
    Beyond the sure
    We'll kiss just like before
    Happy we'll be beyond the sea
    And never again I'll go sailing
    No more sailing
    So long sailing
    Goodby farewell, my friend,
    No more Sailing....

Dunno but it may have some future significance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

the film that shannon is talking about is 'finding nemo', no idea if that song is in the french version however.

im so stupid i only got the episode title after watcing it for a second time, but yes i do agree its a pretty crap episode, since f*** all actually happens(its actually my 2nd least favourite episode in terms of 'on the island plot').

although the scene at the end with the toy plane is superb imo.

Average
    Ye Im not surprised people didnt like this ep,it was one of the weaker ones,and I feel this ep and next weeks were kind of filler eps until we go into a run of about a dozen great episodes! (but next weeks is better than yesterdays).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Poor
    I like LOST, but last night sucked. Easily the worst episode in yonks.

We really didnt learn much last night. We already knew Kate was a bad apple as the Feds were after here. We also already knew she worse skimpy underwear but the reminder was most welcome.
    The translation of the French by blondie (who defo mimed that singing) just showed us the French woman was crackers (like duh!) Sayid likes blondie bigtime but there is something dodgy about her and her brother.
    As for Sawyer, well hes just an accident waiting to happen. But at least his beard is growing. Yer man from Lord Of The Rings is getting uglier by the week too :)

Terrible!
    tvnutz wrote:
    I feel this ep and next weeks were kind of filler eps until we go into a run of about a dozen great episodes! (but next weeks is better than yesterdays).

woohoo - tvnutz that's the kind of alluding to the future i like! :p

Average
    soma wrote:
    woohoo - tvnutz that's the kind of alluding to the future i like! :p

lol :D

Average
    Stimpyone wrote:
    For what it's worth the lyrics of the song in English are....

Somewhere waiting for me
    <snip>

Dunno but it may have some future significance.
    They're the lyrics of "Beyond the Sea" by Bobby Darrin which has the same music as "La Mer" by Charles Trenet, but a different narrative.

Whereas "Beyond the Sea" is about someone's lover who is "somewhere, beyond the sea", "La Mer" is a psychedelic LSD trip about the sea (at least the babelfish translation version is anyway).

If there's a french speaker who wants to translate the lyrics to "La Mer" belt away:

La mer
    Qu'on voit danser le long des golfes clairs
    A des reflets d'argent
    La mer
    Des reflets changeants
    Sous la pluie
    La mer
    Au ciel d'été confond
    Ses blancs moutons
    Avec les anges si purs
    La mer bergere d'azur
    Infinie
    Voyez
    Pres des étangs
    Ces grands roseaux mouillés
    Voyez
    Ces oiseaux blancs
    Et ces maisons rouillées
    La mer
    Les a bercés
    Le long des golfes clairs
    Et d'une chanson d'amour
    La mer
    A bercé mon cœur pour la vie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Stimpyone

Poor
    OFDM wrote:
    They're the lyrics of "Beyond the Sea" by Bobby Darrin which has the same music as "La Mer" by Charles Trenet, but a different narrative.

Whereas "Beyond the Sea" is about someone's lover who is "somewhere, beyond the sea", "La Mer" is a psychedelic LSD trip about the sea (at least the babelfish translation version is anyway).

Well spotted OFDM, heres what I got anyway...

La mer
    Qu'on voit danser le long des golfes clairs
    A des reflets d'argent
    La mer
    Des reflets changeants
    Sous la pluie

The sea
    which one sees dancing along the clear gulfs
    to sparkles of silver.
    The sea
    Of changing sparkles
    Under the rain.

La mer
    Au ciel d'été confond
    Ses blancs moutons
    Avec les anges si purs
    La mer bergère d'azur
    Infinie

The sea
    Confuses the summer sky's sheep
    With angels so pure.
    The sea
    Shepherdess of blue infinity.

Voyez
    Près des étangs
    Ces grands roseaux mouillés
    Voyez
    Ces oiseaux blancs
    Et ces maisons rouillées

Look!
    Next to the ponds
    Those tall wet reeds.
    Look!
    Those white birds
    And those rusty houses [cabins of boats?]

La mer
    Les a bercés
    Le long des golfes clairs
    Et d'une chanson d'amour
    La mer
    A bercé mon coeur pour la vie

The Sea
    Has rocked them [like a baby]
    Along the clear gulfs.
    The Sea
    Has rocked my heart for life.

I know :confused: sounds like rubbish to me.
    Perhaps it doesn't have any significance after all :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

The French lyrics reads like they're more significant than the Bobby Darrin version. Nearly like directions :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

the film that shannon is talking about is 'finding nemo'
    How could it be? The French woman's been on the island for 16 years... either she's lying, or talking about "The Little Mermaid" or some other film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

The song is in Finding Nemo! Doesn't mean it wasn't around before hand. Think about it

Average
    How could it be? The French woman's been on the island for 16 years... either she's lying, or talking about "The Little Mermaid" or some other film.
    "La Mer" was written many many decades ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

holy beda hokey. i am soooo far behind in this series, think even channel 4 must be ahead of me now and my cousi sent me the enitire series ages ago:rolleyes: .

ok epidose. why the hell did she give soyer the case if she didnt care what was in it? did she want it all along and was hoping to just throw him off or was she trying to be strong?
    if it was checked in and stowed, what was it doing under a seat?

must really watch this faster.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Kate was bluffing. If Sawyer knew how important it was to her, he'd make her pay for it somehow.