Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An evening of BJJ

• 28-07-2005 12:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭

Hows it going there.
    Well to satisfy my curiosity about it all I went along to a John Kavanagh seminar last night in blackrock. I am a total novice and the only grappling I have done is with my brother about 22 years ago.
    I was a bit nervous before hand wondering what I was playing at but it was great. It was a small group so therefore you got good instruction. John is younger and smaller than I imagined. A sound guy with a manimal like ability to change into an anaconda. He had us partner up and do various drills. It was very interesting to say the least. The guy I was partnered with was as strong as an ox and I could not get him off me when he had full mount (see I know the lingo now). As soon as I thought I was getting out (of course I just tried to muscle my way out of everything) Kevin would just grab a leg or arm or my neck and I was gone. What a skill!
    Today I feel like I slept inside a cement mixer and my heel is fecked. There I was trying the pendulum escape (I think). "ok just stick my legs up here and swing them out there.." WHANNGGG!!!! I walloped it off a radiator.

John thanks for the lesson. I had a great time and hopefully I didn't disgrace myself too much.

Thanks to Kevin Durkin too for showing me all of the moves and going out of his way to explain everything. Fair play lads.

Paul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Everyone's first experience with BJJ is a real eye opener. John was recently down here also and everyone had nothing but good words to say about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Cousin it

that was my first time back at my old club in ages. Glad to see they kept it up.
    That was a very well run seminar john, I especially like the ground and pound defence section, very practical and realistic.
    After training in UCD for the year I found the mats were pure hell, knees and elbows burnt to sh*t. at least i didn't have to put them away at the end though :)
    Btw paul, I think I rolled or did some drill with kevin but anyway, that was one mean crowbar of freedom he had going on there. the right side of my face since has been this -> :mad:
    ah well good night's trainin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

Everyone's first experience with BJJ is a real eye opener

oh really?

oh really?

Yeah, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

cheers paul! fair play for having an open mind and deciding to expierence it yourself before making up your mind :)
    John is....smaller than I imagined

:D , yeah get that a lot!

He's not that small, bigger than me! And besides, it doesn't matter how small he is because once he gets a hold of you, he feels like he is 20 stone.

stop you're embarassing him.

I didn't call him fat!! I just said he feels like he is 20 stone.

well seeing as this is another salute to jk thread i just have to say i'm still finding it hard to beleive he learnt a chunk of what he knows from watching videos and practising with his mate. were they the ring 2 videos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Celticfire

kerinsp wrote:
    The guy I was partnered with was as strong as an ox and I could not get him off me when he had full mount

At least you did't say I was fat :D

Just a small point and not tooting any horns but as JK will attest it's the ability to stay there while not using strenght but adapting to your opponents moves is the key to this lark.

Had a good time myself, and paul you are a quick learner.
    cousinit wrote:
    Btw paul, I think I rolled or did some drill with kevin but anyway, that was one mean crowbar of freedom he had going on there. the right side of my face since has been this ->

sorry about that :o

Everyone's first experience with BJJ is a real eye opener

tis true......but i would qualify that by saying that for MOST people coming from a background where the training method is repeating set patterns, compliance with techniques etc etc then their first expierence with arts whose training methods are based around 'Aliveness' (- Download a video explaining this training philosophy! (13.8MB)) such as boxing, judo, wrestling, thai etc it is indeed a real eye opener :eek:

as for my personal 'performance level' i'm very much aware that i'm a 'big fish in a small pond' in the BJJ world, theres plenty of guys who can kick my ass in the uk etc.......but who really cares eh!! :D
    he learnt a chunk of what he knows from watching videos and practising with his mate.

and most importantly training smart ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Irish Samuari

John is younger and smaller than I imagined

Sounds like you are a small fish. Ha Ha. I might give this bbj a try. I haven't found a martial art i enjoy yet. Can you give me contaction details of these people who can kick your ass, i think its best to go to the top of the martial arts food chain, so to speak

BJJ*

All the details are on sbgireland.com :)

well they're my contaction details

you can findicate contaction details for BJJ in the uk here

good luck with your training :D

Who better to learn from? Self promote!!

Are there any places that i can learn that style off bjj in ireland?

We just told you.

you can findicate contaction details for BJJ in the ***UK**** here

No you didnt. Irelnad isnt in the UK in case you dont know

Irelnad isnt in the UK in case you dont know

Who said it was?

anyway...

you can find my contact details in my sig below.... i gave you the uk details because you said
    Can you give me contaction details of these people who can kick your ass, i think its best to go to the top of the martial arts food chain, so to speak

but anyway you are welcome to come try a class with me....maybe i can show you 1 or 2 things before you surpass me on your way up the food chain ;)

Quite a modest fellow, John.

can i have a trial session with you to see how much better i will be? lol can i bring my friend, i dont think my parents would alow me to go on my own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Last nightwas an excellent class esp. ground and pound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

How often does the Blackrock club (Paul's people) train BJJ or MMA style training?

I live around the area and cant make it out to firhouse at the moment cause of work.

Colum

can i have a trial session with you to see how much better i will be?

email me at sbgireland@gmail.com :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Cousin it

not that often sadly. Couple of times a year I think, about eight or so and they're all seminars with JK. Maybe the odd time they get an opening in Newpark they have a class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Cheers for the PM Cousin It

Colum