Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting from Dublin to Liverpool

• 28-07-2005 10:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys,

Anyone have any recommendations on getting to Liverpool for a match.
    Tickets no probs, but just looking for advice on cost effective way of getting there.

(aimed at those that have done it, or something similar).

Thanks!
    MF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭beer enigma

Ryanair probably the cheapest - or you could get the Stena fast ferry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

MaceFace wrote:
    Hi Guys,

Anyone have any recommendations on getting to Liverpool for a match.
    Tickets no probs, but just looking for advice on cost effective way of getting there.

(aimed at those that have done it, or something similar).

Thanks!
    MF

Fly...

www.ryanair.com
    www.aerlingus.com

Flight are never anymore than 100 euro if you book in bit in advance. If they are too expensive fly to Blackpool or Manchester - both are within 30 mins of Liverpool on the train which costs around 10 sterling.

Don't bother with the ferry, they are long and unreliable most of the time and the money you spend on the ferry trip will prob equal the flight.

Lets hope your going to see The Toffees and not the Reds***e.

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Two suggestions as above, but I'm sure I heard a new service advertised to Birkenhead thismorning on the radio (some merchant ferry service) advertising car plus passengers.

I missed the advertisment if you know what I mean, just the last piece of information caught my attention....was on Radio 1 (I am now officially sad) so I'm sure it will be repeated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Culchie wrote:
    Two suggestions as above, but I'm sure I heard a new service advertised to Birkenhead thismorning on the radio (some merchant ferry service) advertising car plus passengers.

I missed the advertisment if you know what I mean, just the last piece of information caught my attention....was on Radio 1 (I am now officially sad) so I'm sure it will be repeated.
    It is Norse Merchant Ferries. Forget it unless you like to spend 8hrs on a boat, each way.
    Superseacat also travel to Liverpool, but same journey time.

You could go Stena HSS to Holyhead, 100mins ferry + 2hrs drive but it will cost as much as 2-3 flights.

If you know your match date, book either Ryanair or Aer Lingus well in advance.

We got flights for CL final to Liverpool day after they beat Chelsea for €45 each. Day of flying they were €300 each.

Lex Luthor wrote:
    It is Norse Merchant Ferries. Forget it unless you like to spend 8hrs on a boat, each way.
    Superseacat also travel to Liverpool, but same journey time.

It's actually Irish Sea Express (http://www.irishseaexpress.com/) that he was talking about, 4 hour return journey Dublin -> Albert Dock. The only thing is it's more weather dependent casue it's a fast ferry and the return options are 8am or 7pm on the sunday. Still 40 euro return I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

Thanks Lads,

Managed to get Ryanair for about 130 return per person.
    Many hotels are now sold out.
    Anyone any recommendations they are willing to pass on.
    Looking for something around £50 per room per night.

Thanks again.

MaceFace wrote:
    Thanks Lads,

Managed to get Ryanair for about 130 return per person.
    Many hotels are now sold out.
    Anyone any recommendations they are willing to pass on.
    Looking for something around £50 per room per night.

Thanks again.

What dates??

Drop an email to the contact at www.liverpoolhotels.com and they'll give you all the options, it's a free service for you. Brian and Joyce who work there have been ever helpful over the years.

Try these as budget ones...

www.internationalinn.co.uk
    www.dolbyhotels.co.uk
    www.premiertravelinn.com
    www.hotelformule1.com/formule1/
    www.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/6c/1/en/hd/lplad

Nice little B+B Family hotel this www.4hotels.co.uk/uk/liverpool16675.html

Personally I'd stay in one of these three (100 or so for the room - well worth it - the pool gets rid of the hangover the next day)
    www.radisson.com/reservation/hotelSearch.do?city=Liverpool&country=GB
    www.cpliverpool.com
    www.marriott.com/property/propertypage/LPLLP

All the hotels are central.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭lanno

have stayed in the travel inn very close to mathew street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 mags82

i travel over and back to liverpool twice to three times a year always go with ryanair never paid more than 40 euro return for my flights always booked on line

as for tickets to the match sorry i can't be of any help, what ever you do don't waste your time ringin the club hotline for tickets done it once could never get through to the right department

hope this was of some help

;););)

lanno wrote:

Thats unfortunate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

lanno wrote:

thought it was grand, £55 for a double room, the room was clean, but it seems the hotel mainly catered for Stag/Hen nights, and the other guests were raucous to say the least. Stayed there twice.

As for Travel, I'd rarely pay more than ~€80 return, you can always find some sort of deal whether through Manchester/John Lennon airport or Liverpool/Hollyhead boat (often airport taxes are the main expense, often got flights for a tenner (each way excl. taxes), but i'd usually book more than a month in advance.