Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phil Taylor

• 26-07-2005 2:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭

how can phil taylor not be rated the number one player in the world. the man hasn't lost in 26 matches and is on course for a grand slam. He could beat most of the players if he threw left handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭gdez

I don't quite understand that myself, & How is Colin Lloyd no1 anyway, i only ever remember him winning 1 tournment.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

poppers wrote:
    how can phil taylor not be rated the number one player in the world. the man hasn't lost in 26 matches and is on course for a grand slam. He could beat most of the players if he threw left handed.

Lads there are alot more tournaments on the PDC Darts circuit than you see on the TV. The reason Lloyd is world number 1 is because he plays in every tournament on the PDC circuit whereas Taylor only plays in the major tournaments.

The reason for this is that Taylor is already a very rich man and he no longer needs to play in the smaller tournaments. Players like Colin Lloyd need to play in all of these tournaments. Lloyd has done the best overall taking all tournaments into account over the entire year not just the major events and thats how he is world number one.

Hope that clears it up for you.
    For more info about how the rankings work and who is ranked where and how many ranking points go for each tournamnet visit the PDC website here
    www.planetdarts.co.uk

You will find news etc here as well. Its a brilliant site for all darts fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

I use the Planet Darts site quite a bit myself, but the frequency of updates is shockingly bad.

I think young Lewis could beat Lloyd tonight if he gets a good start. It's going to be a great match. Darts forum anyone?

Manley - Mardle is a right belter of a game at the moment, Manley threw 8 doubles without missing one and now it's deserted him. Mardle's finishing seems to have taken a dip too though, currently 11-9 at a break, could have been very different, 12-8 Mardle and it would have looked entirely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Brian017

Taylor loses in Blackpool for the first time since 1999, 16-11 to Part. And Ironically, Part will Manley. Who was the last to beat Taylor in Blackpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭poppers

the part manley game was a right belter the first eight legs were pretty poor but from then on was one of the best ever. Manley must have averaged over 110 in the five legs from 14-9 to 14-14

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Im glad to see a few more Darts fans in here. Anyone else going over to the World Championships in January? I cant wait.

Colin Lloyd was simply fantastic in the final. He had over a 50% check-out percentage and he 15 180s breaking the record for the most 180s in a final. He also broke the record for the most 180s in the tournament with 40. Although it has been said before and ts very true that 180s dont win matches. But add to that Lloyds excellent finishing and he was fantastic. Part didnt play bad. He averaged 95 but Lloyd was just too much.

The next big tournament is on out very own shores in the city west in Dublin.
    Im looking forward to it already

Wouldn't be bothered going to Purfleet, but I'll probably head to Citywest in October. I haven't been before, but everyone who has says it's a great night. Might try to get tickets for the final day.

Bateman wrote:
    Wouldn't be bothered going to Purfleet, but I'll probably head to Citywest in October. I haven't been before, but everyone who has says it's a great night. Might try to get tickets for the final day.

Sorry mate but you are way too slow. They are both well sold out at this stage. Your best bet is Ebay but be prepared to pay a bit over face value.
    You should keep an eye on planetdarts for ticket information. They announce a couple days in advance befor they go onsale

Just got Citywest's number from the Planet Darts site, and ordered two tickets for semi final day. I also would have thought that it would be sold out, but obviously not. Semi final day €25 each.

Bateman wrote:
    Just got Citywest's number from the Planet Darts site, and ordered two tickets for semi final day. I also would have thought that it would be sold out, but obviously not. Semi final day €25 each.

Thanks mate I thought they were well sold out at this stage. Good work!!

Kingp35 wrote:
    Thanks mate I thought they were well sold out at this stage. Good work!!

The "season tickets" (which I presume are week-long tickets) are 90 quid, and might have been a good option, I think you sit in front of the dividing barrier then (with the players families, not much glamour there, although Adrian Lewis' bird is fine), but no matter where you are you're not going to see the dart board, so there's not much difference. I think I'll probably go in the early afternoon, have a few drinks in the outside bar, and be ready and waiting when the doors open around 6. The action starts at 7.

Yeah I would have bought a season ticket because with one of those your seat is reserved for the entire championship so you dont have to worry abut being there dead early but I wouldn't be able to go for the whole championship.

I bought tickets to the semi-finals and finals which should be good. Yeah I plan on going early myself and having a few drinks before hand. I know you are never gonna be able to see the board but I wanna be up close enough just so that I will be in the middle of all the crowd and can really sample the atmosphere. Might have to dress up so I get my face on the TV!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Geg124

The citywest championship is over. Phil Taylor beat Colin LLoyd in the final by 7 sets too 1. Congradulations to him

i went the the semi-finals and i had great fun. Best night i have had in ages

Yeah I only ended up going to the semi finals myself but it was a great night. Taylor was just unstoppable again all week long. It will take something special to beat him in the world championships.

We really need a darts forum :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

lets sort out a darts forum as quick as we can lads:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Yes, because this one thread has really spiralled out of control ...

Gimme a break.

Amz wrote:
    Yes, because this one thread has really spiralled out of control ...

Gimme a break.

A simple search of your own forum Amz would reveal there are quite a few threads on Darts that get good responses and obviously there would be more if there was a dedicated forum for it. Give me a break and look into something before you and rubbish it

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=50377852&posted=1#post50377852

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

If you actually read and more importantly understood the post I made I wasn't saying this was the only thread. I was saying that this one thread wasn't an indication that Darts is popular enough to warrent it getting it's own forum.

Get off the cross someone else needs the wood ...

fair enough but maybe this particular sunbect has already been addressed in the thread and there is no more need for further discussion on it. Just because one particular aspects of Darts hasnt got an overwhelming response doesnt mean that others wont.

Sure look at the other topics on this forum and they dont have many posts. Its obviously because this forum isnt visited by many people so they dont see the topics. If there was a dedicated forum then the sport would get more exposure to people who post on boards.

Maybe this isnt the place to discuss it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭roykeane16

it sucks love or hate him he is the greatest darts player ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

i'd rather go to a 'Darts' section than have to go to a 'Phil Taylor' thread to see whats happening in the Darts world. I think there is a need for its own forum

Well said JimmySmith

If you havent already done so will you please click on this link and vote. Thanks

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=303052

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭JimmySmith

Kingp35 wrote:
    Well said JimmySmith

If you havent already done so will you please click on this link and vote. Thanks

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=303052

done