Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA to limit "imports" into Dublin clubs

• 26-07-2005 10:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

From todays Independent

http://www.unison.ie/sportsdesk/stories.php3?ca=13&si=1439274
    AS reports abound that some Dublin clubs are paying country players to join them, strict new regulations are on the way which will seriously restrict the number of imports allowed to play for clubs in the Capital.

The drive to curb the recruitment of country players by Dublin clubs comes as the GAA leadership runs out of patience over a practice that has become increasingly widespread in recent years and which has led to allegations of under-the-counter payments.

Among the options which will be considered are: (a) limiting to two the number of country players who can play for a Dublin club; (b) allowing country players to join Dublin clubs who haven't won a county title for the previous 20 years; (c) denying permission for country players to join a city club for a year after the application has been made; (d) preventing players moving from club to club in Dublin.

GAA president Seán Kelly said: "There may be other ways of stemming the flow to Dublin clubs and if there are, we'll explore them. The bottom line is that we've got to take a stand on this because the situation is becoming ridiculous, certainly in football. We have Dublin clubs catering for 30 to 40 juvenile teams, yet their senior team is packed with outsiders.

"That's no way to promote the GAA in Dublin while it's also damaging to the country clubs, many of whom may have small numbers to start with, when they lose star players."

There's anecdotal evidence that players are being paid to join some Dublin clubs but since it's impossible to prove, there is nothing the GAA can do about it.

"If it's going on - and if you're to believe what you hear, it most certainly is - then it's a disgrace. It runs contrary to everything the GAA stands for," added Kelly.

There have been claims already this year that a star player with country origins continues to play for a Dublin club although no longer based in the city, while rumours abound of players receiving financial inducements to join particular clubs once they arrive in the Capital. Kelly plans to discuss the situation with the Dublin County Board with a view to controlling the movement of players to city clubs.

He said that under current regulations, the Board couldn't stop country players joining city clubs but the tide had swollen so greatly in recent years that the situation had to be addressed.

"There are cases where it makes sense for a country player who is living in Dublin to join a city club. We all understand that but what concerns me is that Dublin clubs have become so keen to attract country players.

"Many of these clubs are drawing from huge catchment areas, yet they ignore some of their own talent, in favour of the outsider. That's not what the GAA is about. Maybe if a county player wasn't allowed to join a Dublin club that had won the county title for the previous 20 years, it might improve the situation. We just can't continue with the present situation," he said.

Arising from the report of the GAA Strategic Review Committee, over €5million will be spent on coaching and other promotional initiatives designed to help Gaelic games in Dublin.

"We are putting a lot of resources into Dublin but we want them to go towards improving clubs within their communities. The best way of achieving that is to have clubs relying on players from their local areas. Bringing in country players is counter-productive in the long run but since clubs seem to be moving more and more in that direction, we simply have to put regulations in place to stop it," said Kelly.

"I'm sure the Dublin County Board would support that because what's happening at present is not in the best interest of Gaelic games in the county."

He accepts that it's very difficult to ascertain if players are being paid to join Dublin clubs but says that once free movement is allowed, it creates a climate for a transfer market.

"There are various ways of reducing the number of country players who join city clubs and we'll explore them all before coming up with a formal policy. What's certain is that we cannot allow the situation to continue as it is. Some of the transfers make absolutely no sense so it makes you wonder what's behind the moves.

"If clubs are really serious about developing themselves as an integral part of the local community, I can't see why they would object to a restriction on the number of outsiders they can take in," he said.

Martin Breheny

What do people think? I can see benefits for both Dublin GAA and other counties in Ireland, I think this is a positive step

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I'd imagine this is happening because after Kilmacud Crokes were thrown out of the Championship for playing Mark Vaughan when he was banned, they launched an appeal about the Gallaghers playing for Bridgets.

And that's Rory and Raymond before anyone cracks any jokes, not Noel and Liam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I thought it was because country clubs were losing players to dublin clubs even though some of the players weren't actually living in Dublin. Also some of the dublin clubs had more imports than locals on their senior teams even though they field 30+ teams at underage and senior levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Part of it is down to the fact that so many people move to Dublin. It is an economic problem as much as anything else. A better economy outside Dublin would be one way of stemming the tide. That's for the long term of course. Limiting players may have good and bad sides. For the other counties, it means their players can continue to play for clubs and keep match fit. For Dublin, it can reduce the amount of local talent that can break through. In hurling in particular, a lot of Dublin clubs have players from outside the county. That is not really good for the local game. Dublin needs to develop its own players.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

People are looking at this all wrong. First off limiting it to two country players to a city club is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. Sean Kelly your an absolute idiot. Thousands of country people live in the city because of work etc. If this rule comes in they will not be able to play GAA because there will be no room on a ny club for them What a stupid rule.

Limiting it to only clubs who havent won teh championship in 20 years is unbelievably unfair to the clubs that have, they have just as much right to sign a player as other teams do. This is giving other clubs an unfair advantage and so fair play is thrown out the window. Thats like saying only a certain amount of clubs in the premiership are allowed to buy a particular player. Absolute rubbish.

Next rule that they can only join one year after their application. Also its the country player living in Dublin. What are they supposed to do for that year? Good one Sean clever man you are.

And finally not letting players move clubs. This is by far the most stupid and I dont think this needs any explanation from me at all on this. Taking away a players right to move a different team? All I can do is laugh at how stupid that one is.

I can understand that some people feel that this may hurt the developement of Dub players but you cant take away the right of a club to sign whoever they want in order to win. Thats what its all about. Winning. If the Dub player is good enough he will play. The clubs have fantastic youth systems for training the players and if they are good enough they will play. Simple as.

Also why does the GAA have to keep talking rubbish about this hurting local communities and all this rubbish. The team is there to win. Why cant tehy understand that. Unless they can think of a really good rule this will just not work and it will make a complete joke of club football in Dublin

You seem to be forgetting that the GAA is about giving everyone a chance to participate. It is also about local teams playing against other teams made up of neighbours. Understandably though that can get lost in the dublin situation.

There is no transfer system in GAA. It's intended that everyone plays for their local team. There is special allowances made for players who have moved house but Dublin clubs have been abusing this (as have others). That is where the problem is.

Maybe if they changed the rule that players can only play for the county that their club is in it might fix the problem, as by and large the abuses that are occuring are with top players and not the average/crap ones.

I do agree limiting it to 2 players per club is a bit much. Two per team might work better, thereby allowing weaker players a chance to play but on the lower teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭McClane

but you cant take away the right of a club to sign whoever they want in order to win. Thats what its all about. Winning.

This isn't the Premiership boyo.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

McClane wrote:
    This isn't the Premiership boyo.

Whats your point here? That GAA players dont want to win as much as soccer players? Please explain because your making no sense
    Imposter wrote:
    You seem to be forgetting that the GAA is about giving everyone a chance to participate. It is also about local teams playing against other teams made up of neighbours. Understandably though that can get lost in the dublin situation.

I agree with you here but think about it. If you limit the amount od country players that can play, or make them wait a year before signing etc. this is taking away the right to participate for alot of country people who have moved to Dublin for various reasons. The local team thing is well and good in the country because you have your towns and they are all seperate. In Dublin all the towns etc are together and you can have many clubs close together so playing for your local team doesnt really count. You want to play for the best team. its a natural thing to want to play in the top league for the top team. Becasue Dublin has so many clubs you can quite easily commute to so mant different clubs that many people chose not to play for their "local" team as there is a better team close by. The GAA scene in Dublin is totally different to that outside of Dublin where many teams have to with local pride and winning for your local town etc.
    There is no transfer system in GAA. It's intended that everyone plays for their local team. There is special allowances made for players who have moved house but Dublin clubs have been abusing this (as have others). That is where the problem is.

see above for the local town thing. Its different in Dublin because you got so many teams to choose from.
    Maybe if they changed the rule that players can only play for the county that their club is in it might fix the problem, as by and large the abuses that are occuring are with top players and not the average/crap ones

I dont think this will work in every county. You are already allowed to choose players for your county that play in your county. But some counties. like Dublin and Kerry, choose not to pick any players that are not from their county. There are lots of top quality country players in Dublin and even if they wanted to play for the Dubs, Dublin will not pick on teh basis that they arent from Dublin. Its the excat same with Kerry. For this reason your above idea may not work.
    I do agree limiting it to 2 players per club is a bit much. Two per team might work better, thereby allowing weaker players a chance to play but on the lower teams.

This has possabilities but you have to take into account the amount of country people living in Dublin that want to play GAA. I think this could work although it should be brought in purely on a trial basis.

Kingp35 wrote:
    I dont think this will work in every county. You are already allowed to choose players for your county that play in your county. But some counties. like Dublin and Kerry, choose not to pick any players that are not from their county. There are lots of top quality country players in Dublin and even if they wanted to play for the Dubs, Dublin will not pick on teh basis that they arent from Dublin. Its the excat same with Kerry. For this reason your above idea may not work.
    I don't think you understood what I said. If Player X comes from Meath/Mayo/etc(born there, lives there, has played for the underage teams, whatever) but plays his club football in Dublin, then he should not be allowed play for Meath/Mayo/etc, he should have to declare for Dublin.

This of course is in addition to the existing transfer rules that there has to be a good reason to want ot change clubs ("They want to give me a free car" doesn't usually cut it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Imposter wrote:
    I don't think you understood what I said. If Player X comes from Meath/Mayo/etc(born there, lives there, has played for the underage teams, whatever) but plays his club football in Dublin, then he should not be allowed play for Meath/Mayo/etc, he should have to declare for Dublin.

This of course is in addition to the existing transfer rules that there has to be a good reason to want ot change clubs ("They want to give me a free car" doesn't usually cut it).

No Way !

That would kill the GAA, all the jobs are in Dublin. No diehard Mayoman or whoever will wnat to play for any other county.

Should Roy Keane play for England, are you Austrian?

Imposter, I'm surprised at your logic being applied here.

Culchie wrote:
    That would kill the GAA, all the jobs are in Dublin. No diehard Mayoman or whoever will wnat to play for any other county.

See Culchie knows what im saying. There are too many country people living in Dublin for various reasons most of them because of work. Its not fair on these people to introduce any rules like that as they will find it increasingly harder to play GAA. These rules simply will not work on that basis and the GAA should know this.

Culchie wrote:
    No Way !

Firstly no i'm not Austrian, i just live there.

These rules are being brought in because of the better players in our game. Almost all are county players. How do these players manage to play for their counties? Do they train with the counties? How? Where? They seem to be able to do it for the county so why not a club? Clubs could pool together and get groups of lads training in dublin during the week if they really needed to.

At least one club in Westmeath has players come down from Dublin during the week for training. Most matches are on weekends and Friday training is also the norm. The Dublin based players may miss one training a week but they usually attend a gym or train somehow in dublin instead. That's a club team.

I know mayo is further from Dublin than Westmeath but wasn't one of the connaught county teams training half-way to dublin during the week? (Somewhere in WM iirc)

If a player thinks all that is too much hassle then they can transfer to Dublin, but most players capable of playing county football would want to play for their home county and so make the effort for the county panel. These are the same players who are the problem with playing for the dublin clubs.

Lastly and most importantly, I can't understand how you think something like this would kill the GAA. After all the GAA exists because of club teams. Allowing players to transfer to clubs who offer them the most money, is a far more dangerous problem for the GAA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

They should stop trying to mke ridiculous changes to gaa in Dublin. I do agree that the bigger clubs shouldn't be paying players as we all know they are but you can't punish ordinary players because of the actions of these clubs.

Also the fact these players play in dublin isn't that big a problem if they are up to the inter county standard. Dublin will no accept country players onto the county teams and the player should have enough pride in his county to want to represent them and not another.

Just leacve it the way it is but sort out the fact club players dont get enough matches.