Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Photographs - see what ye think...

• 25-07-2005 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭

Hi peoples.
    I decied that I would share some of my photos with ye. Wouldnt mind a bit of feedback. I took these with a standard digital Canon.

1)Had to use Photoshop a tiny bit with the conrast correct. The sky was that color when I took the pic, possibly not as intense due to changes in contrast but damn close.
    Purple Sky

2)Heres a Cross, similar situation, same mountain.
    Cross

3)Again, same location, very slight contrast change.
    Tree Light

4)This one was an experiment. I wanted to give the illusion of the flame touching my finger, so I put my hand a few mm away from the flame. Got close at times!
    Candle

5)My friend originally took this on his camera phone. I then took a photo of that and the effect of the phone creen makes this a bit freaky. :eek:
    Freaky

Im a hungry amatuer tbh. I love photography, but never got around to investing in it. Im ok with drawing etc which may help. I think I have a good 'eye' for photography. Im always out and about saying to myself 'that would make a nice photo', lol. I wish I could get me a new camera as the one I have at the moment is starting to show its age. :rolleyes:

Say cheese,

Loobz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Enygma

Wow! I love the one with the cross. And the tree is really nice too. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

i also really like the cross and the tree pics. i think they're all real good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

I think these photos are good, but then again, they dont really stand out to me. I like some of the lighting, the surreal atmospheric glow in the distance is brilliant. I love that sort of dusky bleakness. May I ask when/where were these photos taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

I took these last Spring on Fort Mountain, just outside Wexford town. Thanks for the feedback lads. There are a few more I need to dig up...if I only knew where they are....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 zooom guy

Love the Candle photo! In fact, I would love to use it on the cover of a DVD I am producing for a high school dance team. I would be more than happy to give you photo credit if you will give me permission to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Carrigman

Nice shots, especially the tree and the cross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Flipflip

Yeah some nice shots in there alright.

The tree one is what stands out for me tho, thats a very nice shot.

zooom guy wrote:
    Love the Candle photo! In fact, I would love to use it on the cover of a DVD I am producing for a high school dance team. I would be more than happy to give you photo credit if you will give me permission to use it.

No problem, I received your PM and I replied. Thanks. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Hey Lubes,
    Spend less time in photoshop and more time considering lighting, depth and composition. The candle, yes it is an experiement, one that every amature photographer falls towards. I understand that youve had to reduce the pic quality to exhibit but maybe a few less pics at a higher quality would really give a better touch to your photos.

But keep it up rome wasnt built in a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Dimy

anti wrote:
    Hey Lubes,
    Spend less time in photoshop and more time considering lighting, depth and composition. The candle, yes it is an experiement, one that every amature photographer falls towards. I understand that youve had to reduce the pic quality to exhibit but maybe a few less pics at a higher quality would really give a better touch to your photos.

But keep it up rome wasnt built in a day.

Eehh...this was originally posted in July 2005.... kinda late reply methinks :rolleyes:

Yeah i know and your point is?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

anti wrote:
    Yeah i know and your point is?

i dunno now anti, I was thinking the same thing, theres plenty to c and c recently, why drag up stuff the op probably wont even see

exaclty
    well its good to see someone has a bit of sense around here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

think you missed melekalikimaka's point there anti

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

exaclty
    well its good to see someone has a bit of sense around here!

HUH??:rolleyes:

mloc wrote:
    think you missed melekalikimaka's point there anti

What are you mad ?
    i think its U thats made the mistake nekejalikimakas!
    apologise now and lets forget about all this!

did you know this man has had the clap?

anti wrote:
    What are you mad ?
    i think its U thats made the mistake nekejalikimakas!
    apologise now and lets forget about all this!

did you know this man has had the clap?

Agreed :D I wasn't trying to be rude or offend you or anything... I was merely trying to say why bother posting in a long forgotten and "burried" thread... that's all.

Welcome to boards btw :)

Dimy wrote:
    Agreed :D I wasn't trying to be rude or offend you or anything... I was merely trying to say why bother posting in a long forgotten and "burried" thread... that's all.

Yes agreed, the tread wasnt closed so you were wrong. appearances can be decieving cos ive been a member here for yrs but hey how were you to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Ain't duplicate accounts banned? ;)

Fajitas! wrote:
    Ain't duplicate accounts banned? ;)

yeah god i closed the other one doesnt anyone have a point around here?

anti wrote:
    yeah god i closed the other one doesnt anyone have a point around here?

Nope, we're a pointless bunch of eejits :p

Dimy wrote:
    Nope, we're a pointless bunch of eejits :p

at last a good point:p

anti wrote:
    at last a good point:p

Yeah, you fit just right in ;)

exactly my point

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

i'm lost, anti are you the full shilling? ;)

Im flattered someone dug my thread up and actually gave some feedback.
    Thumbs up Anti - doesnt matter how long its been since a reply. :)

Oh, and the camera I used for all photos was a piece of crap (2 megapixel yoke) - so I might aswell have been trying to build Rome in a day.

Loobz wrote:
    Oh, and the camera I used for all photos was a piece of crap (2 megapixel yoke) - so I might aswell have been trying to build Rome in a day.

dammit there goes my arguement out the window
    *waves fists in anger at Loobz*

I spy ;)

Loobz wrote:
    I spy ;)
    In your face mekeliclachquack,
    in your face
    Thanks lube
    see you at work tomorrow LOL
    Youve been punked

anti your mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

He he.................. Good one

Sweetness <insert evil cackle here>