Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sligo V Cork - Who'll win?

• 25-07-2005 2:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭

God knows when I'll get the chance again to say that I think my home county of Sligo are going to beat Cork next weekend in the Qualifiers.

C'mon SLIGO!!!

I'm Spartacus

Who'll Win? 6 votes

Sligo
    0% 0 votes
    Cork
    100% 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I voted Cork but Sligo surprised me against Kildare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Kildare are a poor side, much overrated. Was not too surprised to see Sligo beat them, was more surprised to see them beat Clare. I do not think they have any real chance against Cork. I would expect Cork to win this one comfortably.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Easy one for Cork I think!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Yeah i think Cork will be too strong for Sligo in the end. I dont think Cork will win as easily as soom people are predicting but I still expect them to go through. They played well enough against Kerry(who didnt play well) and I saw enough in that game to make me believe Cork have a decent side.

Sligo have done well so far this year but I think this will be the end of the road as far as they are concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Sligo have a chance as long as our defence doesn't go into its usual twenty minute sleep mode that it has done for every match so far. :-/

If that doesn't happen, than I think that Sligo have a real chance of causing an upset here. Foolishly optimistic? Probably.

I'm afraid that Cork will be too strong for Sligo on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

Come on Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I'd love to see Sligo win..... come on the underdogs!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

If Cork put in a performance on par with last year again fermangh(?) Sligo could well win, but I doubt it Billy is bringing along a fine squad of footballers this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭River Allow

Last year, we just weren't focused. This year, we have a lot of young new skillful players who are willing to do everything for Cork football. It really is the second sport in Cork but my crystal ball tells me that soon is going to change!!(It will be equal to hurling like, cos hurling will never deplete in interest in CORK!!)

UP THE REBELS!!

Is it really a second sport or has it just been mismanaged for the last 10 years, there are more footballers than hurlers in Cork I hear tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

Last year, we just weren't focused. This year, we have a lot of young new skillful players who are willing to do everything for Cork football. It really is the second sport in Cork but my crystal ball tells me that soon is going to change!!(It will be equal to hurling like, cos hurling will never deplete in interest in CORK!!)

UP THE REBELS!!

I was at the Munster Final (as a neutral)this year and I reckon if Cork could unearth a couple of forwards they'd be a pretend decent team. I tend to agree with River Allow in that there are a few nice skillful footballers on the way for Cork football. The only thing that I think is lacking is that they not have any natural corner forwards at the moment (well they weren't there against Kerry anyway).

But I do believe that Cork will be challenging for All Ireland honours within the next two years. BTW the Cork minors are a decent side this year. A few lovely footballers with the full back (Cotter I think) sure to go a long way. They had a couple of nice wing forwars that day too. I think the future is bright for Cork football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

hopefully cork will win. but i recon billy morgan is like larry tompkins useless

I don't think so, I mean thats fairly insulting you know. Larry ****ed Cork football for 7-8 years as a coach and no one did anything about it. Billy has a good track record with Nemo and when he was previously coaching Cork, unlucky to miss out on a few all-irelands and 3 in a row munster titles.

His Nemo bias is a bit fustrating though.

in my opinion billy morgan should have won a number of all-irelands with cork...the last few years of his first term as manager his all ireland was kerry? sad but true

Not really, if I remember correctly way back to then the all-ireland was packed with more competitive teams than we see today. So to win in 1990 and 1993 is not a bad record.

http://www.gaa.ie/page/1991_2004.html

all i am saying is that billy morgan will bring back motivation but you need more then that to win an all-ireland. He won 2..that team should have won at least 4 all-ireland with the players that were available in cork @ that time. He always selected nemo,skib and castlehaven players even though they was better players from bantry blues, beara and other parts who weren't on the panel??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

I think Tony Leahy is doing a good job bringing the U 21's and underage down there from what I can see. Potential Cork's next manager?

Cork football on the up IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭chubba1984

Cork may beat Sligo but this talk of Cork winning All-Irelands is laughable. Larry Tompkins was a good manager as well but didn't have any quality to work with. Inspiration etc will win shag-all unless there is a bit of talent. I doubt if Cork seniors won beat the Armagh minor team if they met.

JohnnyC I have to say I think you are being very harsh on Billy Morgan. 2 County Level All Irelands is a very good record for any manager. He has also won club All Irelands with Nemo. I do not think you can question Billy Morgans ability as a manager. As for Corks chances this year, I think it is a bit too early for them to be regarded as serious Championship contenders, possibly next year depending on how far they can progress this year. I would not be surprised to see them make the semi final stage, and if they do that it should go down as a successful year for them, and a year they can build on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

Waylander wrote:
    JohnnyC I have to say I think you are being very harsh on Billy Morgan. 2 County Level All Irelands is a very good record for any manager. He has also won club All Irelands with Nemo. I do not think you can question Billy Morgans ability as a manager. As for Corks chances this year, I think it is a bit too early for them to be regarded as serious Championship contenders, possibly next year depending on how far they can progress this year. I would not be surprised to see them make the semi final stage, and if they do that it should go down as a successful year for them, and a year they can build on.

does sligo have any chance in this game?....for those of you think Cork will win do you think they'll cover the handicap spread..(3pts)....personally i think they will win by more than 6

Just a word of caution for rebels. As a Mayo ( :( ) follower, I thought Sligo were finished, but seems that they have found a new lease of life from somewhere.

Davey in Midfield is probably the best one of the best minor footballers I have ever seen, and at last, in his mid to late 20's he is starting to really show his stuff....something of a Roy Keane type driving force.

I'm opting with Cork, but no more than a kick of the ball between them.

Its hard to call as Sligo are on the back of a couple of reasonable results against Clare and Kildare, I fancy Cork to win by around the 3 points, but not sure I would back it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Does anyone know if this game is being televised??

Mayo game is televised AFAIK

Culchie wrote:
    Just a word of caution for rebels. As a Mayo ( :( ) follower, I thought Sligo were finished, but seems that they have found a new lease of life from somewhere.

Davey in Midfield is probably the best one of the best minor footballers I have ever seen, and at last, in his mid to late 20's he is starting to really show his stuff....something of a Roy Keane type driving force.

I'm opting with Cork, but no more than a kick of the ball between them.
    In fairness though, if Sligo had the same depth of quality that Kerry has, and if we had a flawless team full of Gaelic Demi-Gods, we'd still lose to you lot every other year! :p We do grand whe we get out of Connaught, but in the Province.........oh dear.

That said, if we keep our current vein of form and confidence intact for the next few seasons, we can finally get that elusive Connaught title. If not, then things will look even bleaker than they did this time last year.

Through thick and thin, you've got to keep the faith.

Come on Sligo!!!!!

In fairness though, if Sligo had the same depth of quality that Kerry has, and if we had a flawless team full of Gaelic Demi-Gods, we'd still lose to you lot every other year! :p We do grand whe we get out of Connaught, but in the Province.........oh dear.

That said, if we keep our current vein of form and confidence intact for the next few seasons, we can finally get that elusive Connaught title. If not, then things will look even bleaker than they did this time last year.

Through thick and thin, you've got to keep the faith.

Come on Sligo!!!!!

Good Luck anyway !

Sligo did look finished 4 months ago, terrible league campaign, some very bad losses.

I think you have a good chance, I'd say a fair bit of support will travel from Sligo and Dublin.

Need to hit top form, but the nearer the match comes, the more I fancy Sligo.

One kick of the ball game, I'm convinced.

chubba1984 wrote:
    Cork may beat Sligo but this talk of Cork winning All-Irelands is laughable. Larry Tompkins was a good manager as well but didn't have any quality to work with. Inspiration etc will win shag-all unless there is a bit of talent. I doubt if Cork seniors won beat the Armagh minor team if they met.

What canot believe what i am hearing larry a good manager no he wasn't he was a great player. To illustrate this point i remember larry was manager for cork and he was playing a match against beara, he got into a fight with a cork player(ciaran o'sullivan) the number of punches thrown by larry was unbelivable( he is a manager of cork and he is fightning a cork player thats bad for loyality

I remember that, and there was the time he brought himself on during a Cork Kerry munster final which we lost. Crazy.

Culchie wrote:
    Good Luck anyway !

Sligo did look finished 4 months ago, terrible league campaign, some very bad losses.

I think you have a good chance, I'd say a fair bit of support will travel from Sligo and Dublin.

Need to hit top form, but the nearer the match comes, the more I fancy Sligo.

One kick of the ball game, I'm convinced.
    Heh, sure I support Mayo when they're not playing us. I live closer to Ballina than I do to Sligo Town, so it's natural in this part of the county to have a liking for Mayo despit all of the grief you've caused us over the years! haha, our two counties have a very good relationship, we like to see each other doing well. Connaught teams have got to stick together. Best of luck against Cavan. :)

I agree with your previous assessment, things really did look over for us after the Tommy Murphy Cup debacle, our League campaign and the deserved defeat against Leitrim. The fact that we've come back and won three games in a row for the first time in a long time, and that we've done it the hard way against opposition that, while not overly strong are more than a challenge for a growing team like Sligo, makes this Championship run a success no matter what happens on Sunday.

My confidence is growing more and more as the hours pass. If Sligo play as well as they can play (and when they play to that level, not many teams will live with them), they can cause the shock fo the Fourth Round.

Sligo! *clap clap clap*

I can't get to the game though, I have to head back to Sligo from Mullingar (where I work) this weekend. I was going to head back on Saturday evening but the idiotic bus times from Mullingar to Portlaoise ended those plans.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

i think sligo face a very big task of beating cork.....they've played the majority of their games at home and have struggled to see off the opposition...i think cork have greatly improved this year....

Cork for me!

Chubba1984, you're comments are ridiculous. Laughable?? Who said they were going to win an all-Ireland this year. We know we won't win it this year... Theres many all-Irelands to be won in the next few years and I reckon we will be serious contenders. A young, extremely fit team. So, Anthony Lynch is useless and Graham Canty can't play football even though he captained the Irish team in the international rules, Philip Cliford... useless even though he has an allstar and received young footballer of the year. Kevin O Dwyer... Crap even though he has an all-star. Ciarán O Sullivan- an all-star. Eoin Sexton, played in the international rules team... A bit of talent?? I'd say there is. See, we have both experience and youth on our side... Keep your eyes peeled love!!

U know Chubba, it really is nice when the opposition gets it wrong!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

So it's Cork v Galway now, along with Mayo v Kerry. Both of those are familiar pairings. That should be a good day in Croke Park.

Congratulations to Cork.

Ah well, it's been a good season for Sligo (it would have been a disaster if we had lost to Longford!). Now we'll build towards next season, and with any luck launch an assault on the Connaught title within the next couple of years.

Any news on Dom Corrigan's position, is he staying?