Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving ranges in Dublin?

• 25-07-2005 9:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭

Can anyone tell me of any driving ranges in the dublin area. Preferbly accessible by pubkic transport.

I know there is one in Leopardstown and also out in Greystones (if it hasn't been built on yet) but that's all i know of....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

I normally go to the one in tyrrelstown.
    don't know about bus link though.
    nice place though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

there's one in celbridge...get the 67 bus from outside the civic offices on the quays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

http://www.golfworks.ie/
    GOLFWORKS PORTMARNOCK DRIVING RANGE

Address

Old Portmarnock,

Co. Dublin.

Telephone

01- 8169377

Manager : Barry Power

Opening Hours

12.00 - 8PM Monday - Friday

12.00 - 6PM Saturday

12.00 - 5PM Sunday
    Haven't gone there, but ye did ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

excellent. Thanks for those. My girlfriend likes tigerwoods golf on the xbox but has never swung a club in her life. Toild her i'd take her to a range and see how difficult it is in real life. :D

jcoote wrote:
    there's one in celbridge...get the 67 bus from outside the civic offices on the quays
    Aye: this is a nice one (also the one I usually goto). It has indoor and outdoor tee places, and plenty of parking.

RuggieBear wrote:
    excellent. Thanks for those. My girlfriend likes tigerwoods golf on the xbox but has never swung a club in her life. Toild her i'd take her to a range and see how difficult it is in real life. :D
    Heh. Mate was the same. Played the damn game so much, he got an old pair of clubs, and has been golfing since.

Once ye hold the club correctly, you should be ok.

the_syco wrote:
    Heh. Mate was the same. Played the damn game so much, he got an old pair of clubs, and has been golfing since.

Once ye hold the club correctly, you should be ok.

lol...

Don't think she thinks it will be easy but i'm not sure she realises quite how difficult it is. Christ it took me years to get down to 12.....and not quite so long to get back to 18:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

The "Spawell Hotel" has a driving range.
    Its out near Tallaght.
    Its not bad either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Downtime

The Spawell in Templeogue has a forty eight bay driving range, and bunker area and pitch and putt course.

Accessable by all the 65's (Stop right outside), the 150 and the 54A. The 49/A goes close by as do the 15's (off at the bridge and 5 minute walk)

RuggieBear wrote:
    lol...

Don't think she thinks it will be easy but i'm not sure she realises quite how difficult it is. Christ it took me years to get down to 12.....and not quite so long to get back to 18:)
    12? 18? I play golf, but I'm not really a golf nut yet, so please explain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Downtime

the_syco wrote:

I presume it's his handicap.

the_syco wrote:

Handicap.....18 is more or less beginner...it means that on a 18 hole course i have an extra shot versus par on every hole in a club competition. Proffesional play of scratch or even have shots added on if they play in club competitions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

admitedly but the max handicap at my club was 18 for men. TBH, I'd usually be shooting in and around 88-94 on Par 72 now, altho i no longer have an "offcial" handicap but i was down to low 80's more often than not during a summer I worked as a greenkeeper (tis great what free access and extreme course knowledge can do for your game!!! ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭CCOVICH

I live near Portmarnock driving range. Never a problem getting a bay and only 10/15 minutes walk from the DART.

There's also a range near the public course in Stepaside.

CCOVICH wrote:
    I live near Portmarnock driving range. Never a problem getting a bay and only 10/15 minutes walk from the DART.

There's also a range near the public course in Stepaside.

Oh yeah...i'd quite forgotten that place. Cheers. Reckon that the spawell is probably the most convenient for me to get to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

RuggieBear wrote:
    Handicap.....18 is more or less beginner...it means that on a 18 hole course i have an extra shot versus par on every hole in a club competition. Proffesional play of scratch or even have shots added on if they play in club competitions.

18 is a fair good player not a newbe

Carpenter wrote:
    18 is a fair good player not a newbe

I'll have to stand corrected. I've always been forced to play off 18 as soon as a took up golf...assumed it was the beginners handicap. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,828 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

The range in Stepaside has about a half dozen automatic bays which tee the ball up for you. I dont know if the ranges you guys go to have this but its pretty good. Eight yo-yo's for a 100 balls but its not near public transport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

Theres a range in Newcastle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I rang leapordstown, and apperantly their driving range is being rebuilt, and wont be open until next month...she sais it's been going on for the last 8 months!! :eek: I'm almost certain I've been there in the last 6 months or so....but anyway..

I think there's one out in Terenure too. None of them are that easy to get to...you'll have to travel a fair bit...out to county dublin or miles out west of Dublin city unfortunatly...There should be one made more cetral tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Stepaside is the best one imo
    then there is Spawell in Tallaght/Templeogue - a bit grubby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭cabla

there is a range in elmgreen just beside blanchardstown! acces the driving rang by the no 39 or 70 bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Fingal range out beside the Coachmans Inn near Dublin airport.... 41 bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 osullsp

Leopardstown is open again - really cool with the machines that tee you ball up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

RuggieBear wrote:
    I'll have to stand corrected. I've always been forced to play off 18 as soon as a took up golf...assumed it was the beginners handicap. :o
    my uncle is a beginner, he plays of 28.
    i've been stuck on 18 for three years, but thats as much the breaks from the game as they game itself thats the cause.i can easily play to about 12-13 but doing it consistently has been my problem too many breaks in play

my uncle is a beginner, he plays of 28.
    i've been stuck on 18 for three years, but thats as much the breaks from the game as they game itself thats the cause.i can easily play to about 12-13 but doing it consistently has been my problem too many breaks in play

I would have won everything if my original handicap was 28:D

bandit bandit, i cought a bandit lads, rope him and brand him before he escapes. :)

i can easily play to about 12-13
    If you can easily play to 12-13 you would be off 12-13.
    Thats the point of the handicap system.
    Its much easier to go down than it is to go up.
    From 18 you lose a full shot for each shot under the CSS, but you will only ever go back up 0.1 per competition and thats assuming that you have missed your (generous) buffer zone.

GreeBo wrote:
    If you can easily play to 12-13 you would be off 12-13.
    Thats the point of the handicap system.
    Its much easier to go down than it is to go up.
    From 18 you lose a full shot for each shot under the CSS, but you will only ever go back up 0.1 per competition and thats assuming that you have missed your (generous) buffer zone.
    i know how the handicap system work thanks greebo, i'm playing to 12-13 the last six months or so i mark all my scores down and haven't gone above 15 over this year with the majority of rounds coming in at 12-13, mostly thanks to an adherred-to regime of lessons and practice , but the fact that i haven't been playing any competitions and my HC has stayed the same is becuase my little runs at playing are so far apart, i generally get no more than about three months play at a time, and with no competition plays( i can't play quickly enough, at my pace it takes almost 4 hours to get around all 18) the onlyway to get cut is on observation, and the secretary has already told me that unti i'm better he won't be cutting me, it seems fair to me, one more cycle of chemo and it'll be 6 months before i'm back playing this well again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭DIEGO WORST

GreeBo wrote:

From 18 you lose 0.3 of a shot for each shot under the CSS.
    When u get to 12 u lose 0.2 of a shot
    when u get to 6 u lose 0.1 of a shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 o_O

umm is there anyranges in dublin that are pulic and that has PROPER GRASS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

Fingal range out beside the Coachmans Inn near Dublin airport.... 41 bus

Dont know the area but would like to check this out - could you be more specific about the directions, is it right beside the Coachmans pub or further along that road towards swords - will be driving along the old Santry road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭crazydaize

right beside the coachmans. good place, reasonable prices. just be careful of low-flying aircraft :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Anyone know how late the spawell range is open?

I'm thinking 11pm, but loads of times I've been too lazy to drive down in case it's closed :p

pretty sure its 10...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Aye, tis ten. Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭CountryWise

Anyone know how much the leapardstown range is? and how many balls do you get etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭CountryWise

Anybody help on this one? how do you get into it, i know Leopardstown but not sure where the driving range is? and the previosu comment can anyone advise?

anyone else hear that Blanchardstwn (tyrellstown) Range is closing, i heard that they may or may not be closing due to people smacking balls over the back fence and into the gardens of the new houses, so sad that the games technological advances have worked against the players in this case, the game seems to have simply outgrown the range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭comer_97

does anyone know whether the distance markers in the Spawell are metres or yards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭slumped

anyone else hear that Blanchardstwn (tyrellstown) Range is closing, i heard that they may or may not be closing due to people smacking balls over the back fence and into the gardens of the new houses, so sad that the games technological advances have worked against the players in this case, the game seems to have simply outgrown the range.
    Closing due to development work - pros given a week to get out allegedly.

S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Mr. capello

RuggieBear wrote:
    Can anyone tell me of any driving ranges in the dublin area. Preferbly accessible by pubkic transport.

I know there is one in Leopardstown and also out in Greystones (if it hasn't been built on yet) but that's all i know of....
    hey bit of a late reply but anyhow if u still looking for driving ranges.... elm green golf centre is the largest public golf facility in the country. has a driving range, pitch&putt, practice putting and chipping areas and golf course.access:39 bus from city centre or the 70. usually 30min journey, need to get off at the auburn ave. roundabout on navan rd.then 10 min walk up the dunsink lane.well worth it thou!also spawell driving range,templeouge,65or65b buses from city centre,again about half hour journey. hope this helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

"has a driving range, pitch&putt, practice putting and chipping areas "

The practice putting green there is a pretty good suface too. Is there a place to practise chipping too??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭GreenHorn

Adiaga 2 wrote:
    "has a driving range, pitch&putt, practice putting and chipping areas "

The practice putting green there is a pretty good suface too. Is there a place to practise chipping too??

Yep, there sure is... Grand little set up, pity it's northside tho - damn traffic! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

has blanchardstown totally shut doen now then?

elm green ranger is great but it's always crazily busy at nights after work.

went last night and had to wait for ages to get a bay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭slumped

Graeme1982 wrote:
    has blanchardstown totally shut doen now then?

elm green ranger is great but it's always crazily busy at nights after work.

went last night and had to wait for ages to get a bay.

Try the GUI Academy down at Carton - they have real grass tees and real putting greens. Nearly always get a bay there, plus if you do have to wait the putting green is free.

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

mmm, bit of a trek for me to Carton but its worth it for the grass tees. I gave up with ranges, find my game regressing rather than improving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 DoubleR

Does the Spawell rent out clubs for driving range for free? Cant access their site in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Alfa_D

What's the best range in the Dublin golfer, I'm picking up a set of Mizuno blades and eager to try them out up there over the weekend, so must be real grass. Any ideas ppl?