Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cardplayer in Ireland?

• 25-07-2005 1:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭

I have asked in numerous shops whether they stock cardplayer, with no success. Does anyone know of anywhere that stock it? I was thinking, if there is enough interest, we could get some kind of petition going and submit to publishers in the hope that they will start sending it to our shores.

Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

You can pick it up in either the Merrion or the Fitzwilliam for free. I think you can subscribe to it online too. I doubt there'd be a market for selling it in the shops seeing as you can pick it up for free in the casinos. It is the European version though which isn't as good as the American one imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

They deliver overseas Cian if you subscribe online but from my experience the service is a disgrace. i.e. mags not getting delivering or 2 months and their cutomer service has never responded to a single e-mail I've sent them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

But not everyone lives near a Casino, and not everyone goes to casinos regularly aswell. Some shops seem to stock very obscure magazines...why not one that is dedicated to what has become todays "thing"?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

http://www.magazines365.com/productview.php?pid=62

Cardplayer is available for anyone interested now.

I'd appreciate your feedback on overall site as well.

The content will build up further over the next couple of weeks, I've a couple of deals to tie up shortly with large UK Publishers, but just thought I'd get some feedback from the 'sham rocks' et al at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Approved...

Ye dig it?

I whole heartily approve this product:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Nice site Culchie. I would probably be interested in some of the mainstream PC mags like PC Format but thats another days work. One thing though Cardplayer has a review score of 4/5 but no reviews. Do all mags get a default score of 4/5?

Just gone live yesterday so no reviews up yet ... so default score is 4/5.

Go on ... be a devil, give us your views !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭The Gecko

Nice site, maybe add a few more risque mags, porn and poker should sell well.

Best of luck with this Mick , hope it fattens up your bankroll...... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

:D Congratulations Culchie.

I was struck last year how it was very difficult to arrange a magazine subscription from even UK based publishers in Ireland and if it was available the price was ridiculous.

I'm glad someone didn't just spot the gap in the market but they went and acted on it. Well done and I hope it's a great sucess for you. I'm sure I'll be a customer fairly soon. I think getting someone a years subscription to a magazine they are interested in, is a bloody good present. And you come across looking thoughtful for 1 minute of sitting on your ass browsing the internet!! :D

All the best.

Olly.

PS I'll still take cardplayer for free from the card clubs but PC plus now that's a different story....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Excellent site Culchie, I'll pass the link around, looks really good. Best of luck with it, hope it works out well for you.

Thanks Lads, tbh, the more requests I get for magazines we don't have the easier it is to go back to the publishers still 'sitting on the fence' and say " look, you have customers looking for your magazine".

It's been a slog, but with each one you get on board, it flushes out another one (normally a competitior) so it's getting a little easier now.

Should have the UK's biggest publisher on board soon (22.5% of UK market) so that should really put cat amongst pidgeons then.

Regarding prices, it's a difficult nut to crack, because Ireland gets hit by VAT that UK readers don't, and then there's those loveable rogues in An Post now looking for €2 a parcel :mad: .

The Niche Market sector is being frozen out by retailers shelf space pressures, and 'dumbing down' of market, so I think establishing reputation on quality of content and convenience, rather than just price, is the way to go.

P.S Gecko ... regarding adult mags, I'm working on it as well ;) and if 'risque' is what you are looking for ... Bizarre Magazine might do the job for you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Any way of getting Cardplayer America in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Fair play to you chief, who says people of average intelligence cant achieve great things :D
    the site is easy to navigate and i hope its a hit.

p.s
    read your pm

bohsman wrote:
    Any way of getting Cardplayer America in?

Will have it on the site in the next couple of days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

Any chance of getting USA mags such as Bluff and All-in to see if they are ay good and to trial. Cheers. WD on this and GL with ur venture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

musician wrote:
    Just in: Beauty Parlours in London are reporting huge loses in income. Apparently the local police are offering to do Brazilians for free.

Musician,
    Maybe in your small little brain that is amusing but I find it highly insulting. He was killed, shot SIX times in the head, just to make sure. Next time your thinking about a life changing moment like "How should i play AK" think of this stupid attempt at a joke. MORON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

people die every day, you have to laugh at it or go insane.

if you find a joke tasteless all you can do is not pass it on, not call someone names.

btw.....what was the name of that band who released 'Walking On Sunshine"? (joke)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I'm with Karl on this but I don't wish to offend so it has been removed. Apologies from a moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

musician wrote:
    I'm with Karl on this but I don't wish to offend so it has been removed. Apologies from a moron.

Sorry for calling you a moron but I did find the "Joke" seriously bad taste. Anyway wheres all the bad beat stories when you need one!!!!

As requested, the American version of Cardplayer is now available on-line http://www.magazines365.com/productview.php?pid=221

I won't post up again, as I don't want to go into pimping category.

It's a fortnightly magazine whereas the European version is monthly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

Hi, i'm going to subscribe to one, the USA version i think because i'm getting better odds to call, Unless anyone really recommends the Europe version over it?

Also a quick question for culchie - Will it be delivered every 2 weeks, not 2 mags every month, or something like that?? Thanks

You will receive each issue as it is published, once every two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Best of luck with the business Culchie. This has been too long in coming and I hope it's hugely successful. As a retailer, I've seen how niche market publications sit on shelves in everywhere but places like Easons, and as a result become less and less viable for shops to stock. It's a lot easier for guys like me to concentrate on fast selling womens rubbish and the odd car mag.

As for pimping, I'm sure nobody on here would mind if you put a link in your sig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭wayfarer

BigDragon wrote:
    Any chance of getting USA mags such as Bluff and All-in to see if they are ay good and to trial. Cheers. WD on this and GL with ur venture.

Yeah, Id be interested in this one also. I got a copy of all 3 an issue or 2 after the wsop and I thought that these 2 were of a much higher standard than Cardplayer.