Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murder in Tramore

• 21-07-2005 8:38pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0721/waterford1.html
    Gardaí investigate Waterford body find

21 July 2005 20:33

Gardaí are treating the discovery of a man's body in Co Waterford this afternoon as suspicious.

The body was found shortly after 2.30pm in a house in Carrigavantry, outside Tramore.

The man is understood to be local and in his 60s.
    Adblock

The house has been preserved and a garda forensics team are making their way to the scene.

AFAIK he disturbed burglers...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Rew wrote:

Yup. Apparently they were knackers raiding his yeard. Killed around half 2 is what is believed. Most of the Tramore people would know him, he owned that house on Donerail Place - one with all the cats around the windows!

Note: Rumour has it - man who commited the murder gave himself up. Was not from a halting site apparently.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Did they get anyone for it?

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭DéiseGirl

Sully04 wrote:
    Yup. Apparently they were knackers raiding his yeard. Killed around half 2 is what is believed. Most of the Tramore people would know him, he owned that house on Donerail Place - one with all the cats around the windows!

Owned a good bit of stuff around Tramore as far as I know. And racehorses. Sad way to go. :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Rew wrote:
    Did they get anyone for it?

Rumour has it yes. He aint from a halting site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Sully04 wrote:
    Rumour has it yes. He aint from a halting site.

I wonder was it someone local... i.e. from Waterford..

Trotter wrote:
    I wonder was it someone local... i.e. from Waterford..

Ballybeg AFAIK

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Two questioned over stabbing of horse breeder
    23/07/2005 - 10:04:01

Two men are being questioned by detectives today in connection with the fatal stabbing of a well-known Co Waterford horse breeder.

Gardai investigating the death of Dick Forristal, 66, whose body was discovered in his home at Carrigavantry Stud near Tramore, confirmed the arrests.

One man was taken into custody yesterday afternoon and a second was detained a few hours later. Both men were arrested in the Waterford area.

Officers believe Mr Forristal may have surprised one or more robbers when he returned to his home on Thursday after attending the funeral of Tara Whelan, 17, who was killed in a bomb blast in Turkey.

A number of burglaries were believed to have been carried out in the Tramore area recently.

A friend of Mr Forristal discovered his body at the rural farmhouse at about 2.30pm.

A preliminary post-mortem showed he was stabbed to death.

Mr Forristal was a well-known horse breeder and his horse, Blue Corrig, was scheduled to race in the Galway Festival next week.

He was one of hundreds of people who attended Tara’s funeral in Kilmeaden, several miles from his home.

Source: BreakingNews

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

from iol
    Two men are being questioned by detectives today in connection with the fatal stabbing of a well-known Co Waterford horse breeder.

Gardai investigating the death of Dick Forristal, 66, whose body was discovered in his home at Carrigavantry Stud near Tramore, confirmed the arrests.

One man was taken into custody yesterday afternoon and a second was detained a few hours later. Both men were arrested in the Waterford area.

Officers believe Mr Forristal may have surprised one or more robbers when he returned to his home on Thursday after attending the funeral of Tara Whelan, 17, who was killed in a bomb blast in Turkey.

A number of burglaries were believed to have been carried out in the Tramore area recently.

Just as a side note if anyone has detailed info DONT post it!

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Ooooh. Im faster than you \o/

One of the guy's arrested - is pretty young. Not even in his 20's.

Anyway, you will find out soon enough who it is etc. im sure. Not to sure if all arrests were made, only one last time I heard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

both have been named. hope they rot.

kano476 wrote:
    both have been named. hope they rot.

Not a chance. They may receive a "heafty" sentence but we all know it - they will get out a LOT sooner.