Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bullfighting

• 18-07-2005 10:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭

Please don’t ban me or flame me I'am not a troll. My bro has flipped his bean, and has decided he's moving to spain to become a……...bullfighter. I kow that this is a completely stupid and Idotic Idea. Which I've spent the last month trying to talk him out of. So please no post on the poor bulls…"what about the childen". Can anybody tell me how does one go about becoming a bullfighter?? Or has anyone ever been a bull figher?? I need some help and some ammo to talk this gobsh1te out of this :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Skip

As far as I know it's a highly esteemed art over there, for which you have to train for years and years, and after that it's still only the best who make it. Tell him this, that he can't just become a bullfighter walking in from the street, so at least before he leaves he should practice on dogs and cats. Or chickens. Preferably on cows or bulls, don't know about their availability there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

tell him:

You need to be a pure blood spaniard

You need to be chosen from a young age

Training takes a decade and usually starts at 10 years old.

There are only 5 Matadors in all of Spain.

etc.

(the above are all made up, but it will help in your cause!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭ross_castle

Cheers. But really need something concrete. The dipso has booked flights for August 1st. He thinks it's a great way to meet birds. Bleedin dope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

"He thinks it's a great way to meet birds"

How old /mad is he??? im laughin my rocks off here!! :D
    why not just become a hairdresser theres less chance of having your gonads mangled!
    he can always just get his name printed on a bull fight poster - works for me :p

No. He's just a dope. He wanted to go to the south pole a couple of months back and 2 years ago went round tellin everyone he was gonna climb Mount Everest. He got the idea watching the weddig crashers friday night. This guy is a adot. But he's still my brother so i need to try and get some dfinate infornmtuion to talk him out of it. I really am worrired he is gonna ry this thing. He is a frickin MorON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

No. He's just a dope. He wanted to go to the south pole a couple of months back and 2 years ago went round tellin everyone he was gonna climb Mount Everest.

your bro isn't by any chance 5 years old is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

You should have seen the warning signs

Like the time he did a Dougal and left a huge sign outside the house saying "PLEASE GET ME A LOAD OF MATADOR STUFF FOR CHRISTMAS. THANKS, JOHNNY CASTLE"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

No. He's just a dope. He wanted to go to the south pole a couple of months back and 2 years ago went round tellin everyone he was gonna climb Mount Everest. He got the idea watching the weddig crashers friday night. This guy is a adot. But he's still my brother so i need to try and get some dfinate infornmtuion to talk him out of it. I really am worrired he is gonna ry this thing. He is a frickin MorON

Problem is if you talk him out of this he's only going to go walk across the Sahara or build his own rocket to Venus or something. Let him go to Spain and spend a weekend realising he's an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sounds like a really bad movie (not the actual movie, the idea of doing something because he saw it in a movie). Does he do this often? Did he become a junkie after watching Trainspotting?

He is actually 29. Probaly right it might be best to lef him feck off to spain for a weekend and realise what a idiot he has been. But does anyone actually know how one becomes a matador.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

i'd just like to take this opportunity to say that bullfighting is:
    stupid
    barbaric
    cruel
    unjustifiable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

^^^
    agreed, i much prefer monkey knife fights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

i'd just like to take this opportunity to say that events were animals are pited against each other for blood sport, with or without weapons is:
    stupid
    barbaric
    cruel
    unjustifiable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭shacko

i'd just like to take this opportunity to say that events were animals are pited against each other for blood sport, with or without weapons is Sh1te cool.

Bullfihting Rocks. he's a genius i bet he'll get all the birds to. Your brother rocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Is your brother mentally retarded at all?

Serious question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

i'd just like to take this opportunity to say that events were animals are pited against each other for blood sport, with or without weapons is:
    stupid
    barbaric
    cruel
    unjustifiable.

Did you read the original post you spanner....

BTW, most bullfighters come from bullfighting families and are introduced to bullfighting at a very early age.... At 29 he hasn't a hope in hades...

Is your brother mentally retarded at all?

Serious question.

No to the best of both mine and my familys knowladge he has no mental Handicap whatsoever. He's Just a very impulsive MORON. He gone round and told most of cork to come and see him on there summer holidays next year when he gonna be fighting bulls in a ring. More like fighting Smokies outsidethepub methinks ;)
    . So if anyone can give me some reliable info i's appriciate it

Cheers

Ross

BTW he just posted the Freemason Tread on my account. So now he's gonna be the freemason bullfighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

just let him go he will see when he gets there no work for irish bullfighters lol -

Kevin sounds like an old man ;)

A friend of mine from America said he went to see a bullfight in Spain, he didn't want to but his friends did, so he said okay, and then when he was there and saw all of it, he started crying and just couldn't stop it, he said he couldn't control it. Although it must also be mentioned he became a vegetarian after watching Babe.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It's never to early to learn to be a Matador. The maximum age to start is about 5 though.

They also have fights in Mexico , France and Portugal but IIRC fewer of those involve killing the bull. ( Macao imported the Spanish ones. )

This is about a mexican site - seems he can't be a matador unless two matadors approve etc.
    What is a torero ?

This is a generic term and can refer to anyone taking part in the bullfight. It should not be confused with "toreador" which does not exist in modern bullfighting, being popularised by Bizet in his opera "Carmen".

What is the difference between a matador and a novillero ?

Matadors have taken the alternativa, a ceremony in which they are proposed and seconded by two other matadors and thereby graduate from novillero to matador. A novillero can only fight novillos whereas a matador can fight both toros or novillos but because of his standing, usually only fights novillos in a festival. Matadors are sometimes referred to as "espadas" (swords) or "diestros" (experts).

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It's still just wearing leggings and side-stepping a cow though, innit?

Seems like becoming a pollero is the only option for ross brother.

But if neither matadors nor novilleros normally fight toros, who actually fights toros?

Just a quick update for anyone still intrested. He flies out 2morrow, and the masons wouldnt take him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

Well, I've seen bullfights in Spain, and I've seen a matador getting gored by a huge bull (you really can't see how tall they are on tv - the average height of them was about 5'8 or so from what I could tell), the pain he must have endured would be enough to stop me from even thinking of becoming a bullfighter, but the bravery of them is what makes them really special. Could your brother continue to fight and kill a bull after having to take off his shoes due to them being full of blood?

Afaik bullfighters normally come from either poor backrounds or from bullfighting families - it's not a career choice the average man would want to take..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭ro1798

what kind of a spa think that bull fighting is cool or a fight? how is some bent bloke with a sword and rake of lads on horses with spears cutting vitals on the bulls neck so it bleeding to death, getting weaker etc before the "star of the show" kills the 3/4 dead bull.

How many times do they get hit by the bull? any fool who thinks he is a man or a hero for bull fighting is a complete retard, do we idolise the blokes who work day in day out putting a bolt in cows heads? dont think so

in the north of spain bull fighing is looked down on it is mainly the tourist areas that have them

my 2 cents

ronan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭roberteboot

Let your brother follow his dream.Its possibly the best thing ive ever heard.Who flies off to become a bull fighter?!
    You have to applaud his imagination.Even though its very unlikely he'll pull it off(pretty much impossible) at least hes dreaming while most people sit in their offices posting on boards.At least the man will have a story to tell.Bravo.

<id like to point out im applauding his imagination.Not the actual bull fighting.Which is pretty rubbish>

As I've already said he's a moron and if he gets birds cause of he he wont mind. He see's smething and has to try it. He got the Idea from the wedding crasers. He signed up for the foriegn Legion. The day he was to fly out my father had to lock him up in the spare room so he'd miss it. i DONT THINK HE'S ALLOWED TO SET FOOT IN FRENCH TERRITORY OR HE CAN BE DONE FOR DESERSION. He's a moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

you should contact the evening herald they love this type of Live the dream /shatter the dream story-
    you know "the innocent child who grew up to be a heroin dealer"
    "Former joyrider becomes Formula one world champ"
    "fukkin eejit is Spain's favourite bullfighter" etc etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

Skip wrote:
    As far as I know it's a highly esteemed art over there, for which you have to train for years and years, and after that it's still only the best who make it. Tell him this, that he can't just become a bullfighter walking in from the street, so at least before he leaves he should practice on dogs and cats. Or chickens. Preferably on cows or bulls, don't know about their availability there though.
    highly esteemed art! hah! i used to live over in spain saw it every weekend first they have the "rodeo clowns" if you will that run around and play with the bull running up to it and sticking what can only be described as giant kebab skewers in to its spine then armoured horses come in to the ring and lads with big spears stab the **** out of the bull then when its weak confused and just about to die the "bull fighter comes, does a little dance with it and then it gets stabbed in the back of the head and killed....... some art! i knew a bull fighter once he was a knobend, he thought he was the bees knees, having said that its a very big tradition in spain dating back years. its all over the country and if he makes it he'll be a god in spain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭beer enigma

My cousin was a professional bullfighter- hes based in the UK, but went out regularly for fights. Father English, Spanish mother.

Its a MAD profession & he's definitely got a few loose screws.

Anyway long and the short of it is, he's 27 and walks with with such a pronounced limp from being gored then being trampled, he'll never walk without crutches again - serves him right I say !

Just incase anyone wondering he's back with a cracked skull, two broken ribs and a broken clavical. He went toa bull fight saw the bull torn to peices and cried his eyes out. He had to go to a bar to dry his eyes. where he got into a fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Just incase anyone wondering he's back with a cracked skull, two broken ribs and a broken clavical. He went toa bull fight saw the bull torn to peices and cried his eyes out. He had to go to a bar to dry his eyes. where he got into a fight

I'd love to believe all this...I really would.
    Thanks for the entertainment at least...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

1. Poll: Should boards.ie have a "Bll Fighting" fourm?

2. As him how'd he like to be buried. Or ask him, when he wises up in 2 weeks, what drink he'd like.

3. Let your brother stop talking crap before taking on some ****ty job in PC World.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Haha this thread was brilliant. Nice one Ross.

With regards to your (3) there Sinecurea: If he really did it(He didnt), he is not talking crap. The amusement of it, imagine sitting around reminiscing in a pub and recalling how you flew out to Spain to become a bullfighter. It would be hilarious.

He Really Did It !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

There are doubters young Ross. Provide some photographic evidence, with your holding a sign over your brusied and battered brother saying "Boards.ie Bullfighter"..

Then you shall rock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I have a friend like your brother. He does the most stupid dangerous things buty Im convinced he will live to be 100 and then get killed by a meteorite or something like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Baffled

Funniest thread i have ever read. Absolutely classic.

I'll see what ican do about a a photo. It Might take soem convincing

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

ya
    no photoshoppage ones either!