Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wireless Router Help Please!

• 16-07-2005 8:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭

Hi hope someone can help me out cuz im lost.

My problem is i got a laptop yesterday and a wireless router (linkys wireless-g)
    i have dsl with digiweb and i want to share it with my laptop using the router.
    my brodband is fine using the zyxel modem digiweb gave me but when i use the router i get nothing.
    i can set it up fine (i think) but when i try to connect using the linksys router it tells me it cannot get the ip address from the PPPoE server can anyone help me out there.

hope i gave a small bit of info to ye but if you ye need more just ask.

really hope someone can help me out cuz this is driving me mad :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Adviser

Have you run the network wizard on both machines?

Have you windows firewall enabled? if so disable it, its crap!

Have you any other firewall running? If so is it configured??

~Adviser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭pauln

Ok, here's just a few things to check in the web-config.

1.) On first page set Internet Setup to-> Automatic Configuration-DHCP.
    2.) Enable the DHCP Server down the page a bit (not essential but simplifies things), save settings. Set TCP/IP properties for wireless card to recieve IP address automatically if DHCP enabled.
    3.)Go to "Advanced Routing", set operating mode to "Routing" and set interface to "LAN & Wireless", save settings.

I'm going to presume that the laptop is already connected to the wireless network already, but if not then just say so and we can get that going.

Let me know if any of that helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

pauln wrote:
    Ok, here's just a few things to check in the web-config.

1.) On first page set Internet Setup to-> Automatic Configuration-DHCP.
    2.) Enable the DHCP Server down the page a bit (not essential but simplifies things), save settings. Set TCP/IP properties for wireless card to recieve IP address automatically if DHCP enabled.
    3.)Go to "Advanced Routing", set operating mode to "Routing" and set interface to "LAN & Wireless", save settings.

I'm going to presume that the laptop is already connected to the wireless network already, but if not then just say so and we can get that going.

Let me know if any of that helps.

hi cheers 4 the help lads iv no firewall on and i have tried all of that and i still get nothing im lost and its wreaking my head big time at this stage.
    and i dont know were to set tcp/ip properties for wireless card to recive ip auto...

For XP

Start> Control Panel > Network & Internet connections > Network Connections > Find your connection there, wireless something or other > double click internet protocol (TCP/IP) > check, obtain ip automatically

~Adviser

Are you able to connect to the web-config screen of the router i.e. 192.168.1.1 on the laptop using the wireless connection?

no i cant get the dsl on my desktop working with the router so i have not
    tried the wireless on the laptop yet.
    have the auto ip in windows done still no-joy, i gotta be doin something wrong
    can anyone think what it might be?

cheers again lads.

ricey wrote:
    no i cant get the dsl on my desktop working with the router so i have not
    tried the wireless on the laptop yet.
    have the auto ip in windows done still no-joy, i gotta be doin something wrong
    can anyone think what it might be?

cheers again lads.

You have to use a cross-over cable between the router and the DSL modem, that might be your problem, but might not be at the same time. Do you have the modem plugged into the WAN/UPLINK port of the router and is there a GREEN LINK LED on the front that lights up when you plug it in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭dil999

How have you set up the router.

Under 'Encapusulation' Select the Correct PPoE setting. On my my router its set to PPoE LLC (It depends on the settings of your ISP)

Also make sure 'Bridge' is disabled
    and 'IGMP' is disabled

You should then put in your Username and Password into the router. This will save you having to logon using a dialup connection

Make sure you VPI and VCI settings match your ISP's(8 and 35 for 'UTV internet', need to confirm yours with your ISP)

When you do set up the wireless don't forget to set your WEP encryption otherwise your next door neighbour might start using your bandwith.

If you're still having trouble, get the above settings from your ISP, Probably on their Website. And post the router model number. I can probably check the manual to see if anything else is missing ( but not tonight)

Obviously you need to get your desktop connected to the web first before you worry about wireless

Good luck

Right im still having no luck so il try fill ye in on a bit more info and questions :(

i have the router connected to the modem with a eathernet cable on my linksys router i have the power light, wlan light and the internet light on.

On the webbased set up page for the router do i use the PPPoE or the DHCP?

I have the get ip auto in xp done and i have all my firewalls off.

Its driving me really really mad at this stage, wtf am i doin wrong i really cant figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Disconnect your Linksys router and connect to the Zykel.

Go the to configuration page for the Zykel and set it to "bridge" mode. Your Zykel is also a router, that should be what was causing the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,021 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

ricey wrote:
    Right im still having no luck so il try fill ye in on a bit more info and questions :(

i have the router connected to the modem with a eathernet cable on my linksys router i have the power light, wlan light and the internet light on.

On the webbased set up page for the router do i use the PPPoE or the DHCP?

I have the get ip auto in xp done and i have all my firewalls off.

Its driving me really really mad at this stage, wtf am i doin wrong i really cant figure it out.

Both the modem and the router are acting as DHCP servers, set the wireless router up as an ACCESS POINT turning off DHCP, give the wireless router an IP address which is different to the modem, either 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.254

remeber both the modem and router have to be set up on the same IP range 192.168.1.x or 192.168.2.x whatever you have the modem set as.

Your clients will now get there IP address from the modem, make sure the Ethernet cable you are using to connect the router to the modem is a cross over, usually yellow.

Hope this works let me know if it doesn't.

do i have to have the router or the zyxel modem hooked up to the desktop?

this is what i have done.

i have the zyxel modem hooked up to my desktop with a eathernet cable
    then i have another eathernet cabel going from the zyxel modem to the routher`s internet port and another to a wlan port.

ricey wrote:
    this is what i have done.

i have the zyxel modem hooked up to my desktop with a eathernet cable
    then i have another eathernet cabel going from the zyxel modem to the routher`s internet port and another to a wlan port.

Your setup should be Normal Ethernet cable from desktop to Linksys Router.
    Cross over cable (different from normal ethernet, should have come with zyxel modem - usually yellow) from wlan port of Linksys router to ethernet port on the back of the Zylex modem.

You have to have both linksys router and zylex modem on the same ip range. Use the linksys router as a strict AP (access point) and your zylex modem as your server.

Whats the IP address of your

Zylex modem &

Linksys Router?

both of them are 192.168.1.1

ricey wrote:
    both of them are 192.168.1.1

Change the linksys router to 192.168.1.254

Have you made the linksys router an access point?

What model is the linksys router?

il do that now cheers.

its model no. WRT54G.

Il change that now.

right i have changed the ip, how do i make it a access point?

cheers again for the help its really needed...ha

"Your setup should be Normal Ethernet cable from desktop to Linksys Router.
    Cross over cable (different from normal ethernet, should have come with zyxel modem - usually yellow) from wlan port of Linksys router to ethernet port on the back of the Zylex modem."

Make sure your setup is as above.

Open Internet Explorer and type http://192.168.1.254 in the address bar

This should bring up the web based config & setup of your linksys router

There should be an option to enable the router as just an access point, once this is done it will just route the traffic from your desktop and laptop to the zylex modem. If it tries to change its IP address just change it back to 192.168.1.254. You will get your ip information from your zylex modem, your desktop will most likely get

IP: 192.168.1.2
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0
    Gateway: 192.168.1.1 (this is the address of your zylex modem)

cheers bud.

i just used the cd set up and it has worked and said i have configured my linksys modem but i still cant find a network on my laptop??

ricey wrote:
    cheers bud.

i just used the cd set up and it has worked and said i have configured my linksys modem but i still cant find a network on my laptop??

Make sure the laptop is configured for DHCP, turn the wireless security of the Linksys Router to Disable, it is either set for WEP 64 WEP 128 or WPA, if your laptop can see the network then re-enable the router for WEP 128 encryption, writing down the hexadecimal code it gives you.

jesus iv been at this since 12today and im still none the wiser.
    i tried everything but still dito!
    i taught when i used the cd set up it would work but still nothing
    maby im looking for a easy step by step guide cuz its either in cant follow
    the help or im doing something wrong.
    im just about to give up and try get someone to set it up for me at this stage
    it would prob be worth it cuz im lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭dil999

Ricey,

You haven't a hope of sorting this out on a thread, as we are all giving you confilicting advice (including myself) based on a fractional understanding of your setup. I originally thought you were replacing your existing modem.

I have a setup which is similar to yours, I am with UTV internet, I have a Zoom ADSL router, and I have a Linksys WRT54G wireless router. I will PM you my mobile, Give me a call and if you mimic my setup, you should get it set up in 10 minutes.

Dil.

This may be of some help ....

Cheers 4 all the help i got it working all the help i got was great
    got me on the right road.

Fair play. Did you find out exactly what it was??

ya i just had to change the ip of the router and that was it really but then i
    couldnt get the laptop to find the wireless connection for ages and ages it was
    driving me more mad still is now cuz all i had to do was switch on the wireless
    on the laptop its a tiny little button on the front like how stupid can u get he he.

cheers again lads.

The simple things are always a pain in the arse! Especially when ya can't find out what it is for ages....