Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BSOP (HUC) Betting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Feckin' class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Hutson lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

No mention of http://www.specialdays.ie then ?

Remember? The fellah that put up the prize and sponsorship in the first place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

Yeh I didnt add our prize either.. We dont link to external sites from PPP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

lafortezza wrote:
    Hutson lol

you didn't expect me to let CoD in with the cheesiest picture now did ye!? :D

He he he... I want nekkid ones next year! :0)

Yeh I didnt add our prize either.. We dont link to external sites from PPP

ah OK , pity the original sponsor couldn't be recognised though, never mind, his hard luck then I guess :( :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I am inclined to agree with Culchie. That web page makes it look like you sponsored the whole event and this is not the case. It is the table provided by Special Days that people wanted, perhaps you could mention that Special Days donated the first prize without adding in a link toi their website.

Hmmmm... making me feel guilty now... I have no desire to not to give credit where its due.. just trying to .. sniff.. I will do something about it..... hold the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

don't suppose you'd open a little book on result.......

Guys... that is a little unfair if you dont mind me saying.. As it happens this is not a PPP cashes in job. this is a PPP does something for boards thing. You know sometimes... I have to say I am really quite suprised.. Karl asked me.. I said yes..
    Im sulkin I really am!

PPP Pitboss, I know we are having what is termed sometimes as 'a frank exchange of views' on a couple of subjects.

However, I do admire PPP and their overall business philosophy on alot of things, and indeed admire your availability to such forums such as this.
    Your customer service throughout the whole Paddy Power network is excellent.

We're also the punters though, it's a two way process.

Credit is given where it is due, and any shortcomings also will be pointed out.

I think the page completely ignores Special Days original sponsorship, and I don't think that 's fair..... it definitely comes accross as a PPP competition.

It ain't fair, so I'm saying it.

both sponsors are being equally recognised on boards, the fact PPP were nice enough to stick up a site is a separate issue IMO.

a mention for special days would be nice but no biggy.

thanks Nikki

karlh wrote:
    both sponsors are being equally recognised on boards, the fact PPP were nice enough to stick up a site is a separate issue IMO.

a mention for special days would be nice but no biggy.

thanks Nikki

No surprise, but I disagree.

If I were specialdays (and I don't know the man from adam), I'd be pretty peeved.

You ask I give.. what can I say.. ;) Files changed but may take a little time to go live.
    Now what odds shall we put on them?

Culchie wrote:
    No surprise, but I disagree.

If I were specialdays (and I don't know the man from adam), I'd be pretty peeved.

well there were no petitions for a special dya banner for the poker forum before this but yeah, lookin at the site without a mention of them i have to agree with ya.

with the mention it'll be even better for them tho.....a lot of poker player traffic through the PPP site as you can imagine :)

happy ending!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

You ask I give.. what can I say.. ;) Files changed but may take a little time to go live.
    Now what odds shall we put on them?
    5-1 to win each ;)

Is that a maybe i hear?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I'm not even going to start to get into the use of "BSOP" - registered trademark, that is!!! ;);)

Hyzepher

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Can I just ask if the prizes were announced before the first round games were played. Maybe I was asleep at the time.

Well now.. I can hardly be blamed for that! Or can I.... culchie? What do you think? :0)
    Specialdays now have a special place in the "history" paragraph and I is goin home.
    Ta ta ;0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

A mention of the person whose idea it was and who went to the effort of organising it wouldn't go astray.

Hear Hear

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Guys, I agree with you but you have to remember we (Boardsies) probably have a different expectation and culture then PP are used to. I mean, you hardly see them detailing the history of Cheltenham and thanking the organisers and prize sponsors when they take bets on the horse races, lol... In this case we are a self-built community so we feel more emotional attachment to the whole thing. Just pointing out the clash of cultures!

Good luck to the lads in question.... Doesn't Karl H look like Shane McGowan in that pic?! mmmmm attractive....
    DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Open a book!

DeVore wrote:
    Doesn't Karl H look like Shane McGowan in that pic?! mmmmm attractive....
    DeV.

i'm banking on throwing up on my opponent taking it down for me ;)

DapperGent wrote:
    A mention of the person whose idea it was and who went to the effort of organising it wouldn't go astray.
    Cool yer jets its in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭CoD

Thanks, time to show off to my friends... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Cool yer jets its in!
    Cool. Nice page. :)

I'll give you a tenner if you replace Karl's picture with the one from his sig.

DapperGent wrote:
    Cool. Nice page. :)

I'll give you a tenner if you replace Karl's picture with the one from his sig.
    i will if you send me the original.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Thanks to PPP for stepping in to let us know about prizes for the final few, v nice website too.

I would have contacted PPP when I first organised this but it never crossed my mind. mcaul from special days had given boardsies a good deal on poker stuff over the previous months, so I pmed him about sponsorship.
    He said that with the amount of business boards had generated for him he would be delighted to give us a table for the winner.

He has given us (for free!) a 7 foot professional folding table as the main prize. It's valued at €239 (current special offer price €199). It will be delivered free of charge to anywhere in Ireland to the winners door.
    You can see the table on the Special Days website

ttf7_large.jpg

I think that's a pretty savage prize to go along with PPP's kind donations.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

And again I'm asking was I asleep when this was announced before the first round began?

the table was from beginning i think, the PPP donation only came there after final 3, i think....

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Thats a bit ungrateful CoD, Special Days get a lot of business from Boards too so its a commercial business decision. If we want to get prissy about this, where's Boards cut from all this? We pay the costs for hardware and bandwidth and hours every day for admin time. Who pays for that? Oh yeah, our advertisers. Now... who has supported this forum, and who has bypassed that approach?

Like I said, don't turn this into a prissy pissing contest cos I don't want to go there and trust me neither does anyone else. I'm trying to be nice about this...

DeV

Sorry, I'm kranky from lack of sleep and stress from the WSOP. I wish the three contenders the best of luck and may the best poker player win. Except Karl.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

DeVore wrote:
    Sorry, I'm kranky from lack of sleep and stress from the WSOP. I wish the three contenders the best of luck and may the best poker player win. Except Karl.

DeV.
    DeVore wrote:
    I'm not sure if my head can take much more of this tension after playing poker all night in Harrahs. :)
    Just in case anyone's feeling sorry for him :D

CoD wrote:
    the table was from beginning i think, the PPP donation only came there after final 3, i think....
    Yup. I didnt even know you were holding it until Karl told me about it. I think at the time you guys were not playing any of the 1x1 on PPP coz of our STT 1x1 round structure, so when I fixed it and Karl approached me about it.. I said sure, rooted around for an appropriate donation and then came up with the "genious" :0) Idea of sticking up a page to profile the tournament...
    I am a little sad that it has caused such consternation. It was meant to be a "nice suprise" for you guys... ah well. Maybe next time I will wait till all of you agree this is the way you want to go with it. Cant please everyone all of the time I guess. not meant to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 blaugranabhoy

I've recently started playing hold'em on paddypower. I have started at the play money tables and v. low limit cash games. I was just wondering how one goes about showing your hand to the table when you have won the pot without a showdown.

Players I'm playing against are able to do this but I can't seem to find an on-screen option to do this. Would really appreciate some help with this.

One other question while I'm here. Are the average pot sizes quoted on paddypower for each table based on that week's play / day's play / hour's play etc? Just out of interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Pitboss, sorry I was not having a go in my earlier post, and I know your intentions were always to be helpful to the boards community, I just did not think that Mcaul would have thought it fair that after he provides the first prize, as well as other goods he has provided in the past (I think everyone at the final table of the last month of the BSOP got something). I felt he should be mentioned for his donation, otherwise I like the page, and I am glad that Paddy Power are happy to have an official regular contributer to the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I've recently started playing hold'em on paddypower. I have started at the play money tables and v. low limit cash games. I was just wondering how one goes about showing your hand to the table when you have won the pot without a showdown.

Players I'm playing against are able to do this but I can't seem to find an on-screen option to do this. Would really appreciate some help with this.

select options/select show winning hands

when you have done this and you are playing you will see an option at the end 'dont show' and 'show' and the choice is yours. if you dont select either it will just default to 'dont show'.

with questions like these just ping a manager(live text chat). They are just waiting there to answer these queries!

DeVore wrote:
    Thats a bit ungrateful CoD, Special Days get a lot of business from Boards too so its a commercial business decision. If we want to get prissy about this, where's Boards cut from all this? We pay the costs for hardware and bandwidth and hours every day for admin time. Who pays for that? Oh yeah, our advertisers. Now... who has supported this forum, and who has bypassed that approach?

Like I said, don't turn this into a prissy pissing contest cos I don't want to go there and trust me neither does anyone else. I'm trying to be nice about this...

DeV

Where was i being ungrateful?? I was simply answering musician's question about when the prizes were announced.
    It can sometimes be hard to show emotion over the internet but i didnt mean to be ungratefu, just answering someones question.

I'm very glad of specialdays and PPP for what they have done for us.

don't mind DeV, he's just on the blob and his training panties are chafing.

i will win this, not for the table, not for the fame and hookers.....just to annoy Tom!!!!!! :mad:

You go gurl!

Sorry CoD I didn't want to just delete my post because I wrote it and its how I felt at the time but I posted after some reflection to note that I was being kranky and irritable from lack of sleep and stress. I think everything is sorted now and I am looking forward to the next one because , like Muso, I missed this one being announced (how!? I'm only here every 5 minutes!).

DeV.