Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camping this summer

• 13-07-2005 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭

Me and a few friends are considering going camping this summer somewhere in the backarse of nowhere. I know there's some law against camping outside a camping site but with the weather there's no need to start a fire and we're a clean bunch really. Was just wondering if anyone has nice scenic suggestions? Preferably near water.

Was also considering climbing Croagh Patrick for the laugh (nothing religious), and maybe camping somewhere very close to it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Bundoran's pretty cool. Deadly beaches in the area and the bridge bar has a cool surf bar upstairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

grasshopa wrote:
    I know there's some law against camping outside a camping site

Really where did u hear this?

Went camping during mid-term while ago in Wicklow mts. Got dropped off, hiked for 15km then found somewhere (otherside of a valley). We didn't find the best spot we could have, I'd recommend if u don't do a hike u pick a good spot, otherwise u will be bored silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

The Aran Islands - scenic, facilities, and near water and in the arse end of nowhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

I don't know, I heard it somewhere, something about illegal camping in cities or something vague that I can't remember. Anyway most of the places you go will probably be somebody elses land unless it's mountainous... Though running from a farmer with a pitchfork in one hand and shotgun in the other might be fun too... Haven't actually been to the Aran Islands since I was about 4.... hmmm... I fear Gaeilge anyway:)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

campin aint illegal - lighting a fire and littering is.

And if you go far enough up a mountain to sheep country a farmer wont give a **** unless you're doing either of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

You really shouldve camped in oxegen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'm just back from that ColHol and let's face it, camping at a rock festival really isn't a proper camping trip...

im just back too, and i have to agree. btw, did you hear of the Athy boys, campsite A11?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭$lattman

I went camping on a random beach in Carna in Connemara last summer, it was great craic until I left my brand new, expensive digital camera in the tent while we went to the pub and it got stolen by inbred pikeys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Ooly

grasshopa wrote:
    Me and a few friends are considering going camping this summer somewhere in the backarse of nowhere. I know there's some law against camping outside a camping site but with the weather there's no need to start a fire and we're a clean bunch really. Was just wondering if anyone has nice scenic suggestions? Preferably near water.

Was also considering climbing Croagh Patrick for the laugh (nothing religious), and maybe camping somewhere very close to it.

Croagh Patrick is really cool, climbed it with a group of friends a few years ago......such a laugh...

U shud try strandhill in Sligo....rly nice area & excellent surf if ur into it!!

ColHol wrote:
    im just back too, and i have to agree. btw, did you hear of the Athy boys, campsite A11?
    Nope, but then again I was in A1 so I was a fair distance from ya.

Yeah, we were legends though. Got our name up on the big screen at snoop, had a dj for the red box down. A guy brought his decks and disco lights and the whole gear up, twas awesome

Actually, I did hear about ye...

Heard a story about some mad feckers bringing down decks!

yep!

*legends*