Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

advice

• 12-07-2005 5:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭

sorry but could you look at this pc aswell will you tell me if i can get better parts for the same price and do i need anything else??(cables)

and also who makes the best 6800gt on komplett thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Wow nice setup man. U could maybe try and go for a slightly bigger psu??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭awhir

what about this one but how would you install the 2 parts

I think its only 1 unit but komplett was just giving u 2 veiws of it :) , its just a standard psu. I think this would work well, wow thats gonna be a nice system :D

how long do you think it will last and what about the 68800gt Q

i am going to changing the hard drive to a

Samsung SpinPoint PL40S 40GB SATA 2MB 7200RPM
    Price: 38.02

Seagate Barracuda 200GB SATA 8MB 7200RPM
    Price: 87.60

instead of a Seagate Barracuda 250gb SATA 8MB 7200RPM

the reason i am changing them is so i can put windows on the small one and i can put files and games on the big one

Ye, i think thats a better configuration to go with, thats how i have mine setup :). Makes life a lot easier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭zuma

Ye, i think thats a better configuration to go with, thats how i have mine setup :). Makes life a lot easier

Smaller main drive with large storage drives.

In my case I have a 30GB(soon to be 250GB) drive and 2 x 300GB for storage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Dundhoone

the gainward should be a good card, but has been described as noisy. It also has a "golden sample" version (not on sale with komplett) which has a guarenteed overclock.

I reckon the XFX 6800gt is the best card you can get though komplett, fairly quiet fan and good overclocking potential.

how long will it last??? good chance that pc will see you smiling for at least 2+ years for games. then a graph card upgrade and away you go for another while. For general use, surfing an word processing it'll do ya for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

I think you should get a nVidia 7800 series gfx card

no i am thinking of geting one later

look at this on komplett it says that this is a 8ms lcd on here but when you go into it it says its a 16ms lcd???????

IIyama 17" ProLite E431S-B TCO-99 Monitor, Black, DVI-D, D-sub, 8ms

Other features include an ultra fast 16 msec response time, economy modes, VESA compliant mounting plate and Kensington lock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭DemonOfTheFall

They're quite sloppy on their product descriptions, they seem to make a lot of them without really paying any attention to the product. I'd say just email them about it. A good example is their TV section where they say that almost all of their screens are 16:9, but any eejit with a calculator can see that theyre only 15:9.

Dont even consider that thermaltake power supply. Overpriced rubbish.
    This : http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=308626&cks=PRL should provide more power where it counts and be a lot quieter at the same time too.

EDIT: That processor cooler is fairly useless aswell, not silent at all and the cooling isnt very good.
    This: http://www.komplett.ie/k/ki.asp?sku=306455&cks=PRL is a much better job. Bit dearer, but worth it for the quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

look at this on komplett it says that this is a 8ms lcd on here but when you go into it it says its a 16ms lcd???????

IIyama 17" ProLite E431S-B TCO-99 Monitor, Black, DVI-D, D-sub, 8ms

Other features include an ultra fast 16 msec response time, economy modes, VESA compliant mounting plate and Kensington lock.

marketing scam, 16ms is fine

I wouldn't say marketing scam, but most of the time you won't notice the difference.

There are times when you will notice ghosting on a 16ms screen though. Try throwing a grenade in GTA and watching the screen shake. It used to be fugly on my 25ms panel, quite good but not perfect on my 16ms. You're grand with a 16ms panel.

Don't get the Iiyama though. My 16ms panel is Iiyama and it's not very good. Get a samsung, they're nice and bright.

but people told me that 16ms is quiet shi* for gaming and DemonOfTheFall said that the Fortron/Source Powersupply ATX 400W is better then the Thermaltake Silent Purepower 560W Powersupply.

and that the Zalman CNPS7700-AICu CPU-Cooler Socket 478/775/754/939/940
    is better then the Thermaltake Venus Silent Boost CPU-Cooler Socket 754/939/940 is all this true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

but people told me that 16ms is quiet shi* for gaming

People are wrong. I've got both a 16ms and a 25ms and both are fine for gaming, even FPS. Don't be a fool now.

Trust me on what I said claregalway, theres reviews all over the net to back up what I said.

As for the 16ms for gaming, 16ms should be fine for games unless your eyes are really really sensitive. But honestly, dont buy an Iiyama screen, theyre sh!t. get a samsung