Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bars on Lesson Street

• 10-07-2005 12:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭

Does anyone go to bars on leeson street on a regular basis? Wines bars and little clubs etc. They all look the same on the inside and outside. A little stairs down, some chick trying to get a 10er off you to come in, and either, about 3 ppl inside or 3000. Nothing to drink except expensive plonk?

TBH, I've only entertained this "let;s go to a winebar on leeson street" shenagains once or twice, and i've never been happy there but i'd be interested to know if anyone goes and likes it?

I heard Rios can be good.

I'd assume you need to be 29> to enjoy them maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Sue*

ye i ve been to the bars on leeson street quite a few times. However these days i avoid them like the plague...
    There basically full of the same crowd every weekend. With a huge sence of falsness about the place, particulaly bucks and legs etc. Rio' s on the other hand is nt too bad, but to be honast there are much better places in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

such as?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Went to one, Catz or something, I cant remember and ran back out again!! :eek: Talk about a hole!! Full of desperate looking people, guys with their shirts hanging off them and middle ages women trying to get it on with someone on the tiny dancefloor. We legged it out of the place!! Never again!

d2, panama, qbar(on a good day - sat), hogans, but to name a few

Larianne wrote:
    Went to one, Catz or something, I cant remember and ran back out again!! :eek: Talk about a hole!! Full of desperate looking people, guys with their shirts hanging off them and middle ages women trying to get it on with someone on the tiny dancefloor. We legged it out of the place!! Never again!

middle aged women... you forgot the sleazy old men sat up at the bar

i think i hate Qbar more than any where else in the whole world. i was in hogan's last week and it was ok. not my scene really.

what kinda scene do you go for ?

places with cute girls who are up for only one thing.

Sue* wrote:
    middle aged women... you forgot the sleazy old men sat up at the bar

Didn't stick around long enough to see them!! lol

I don't particularly like bars/clubs that are down in basements. The claustraphobia in me I guess. I wouldn't no where a good club is these days... Me being old... 22yrs old!! :rolleyes:

Larianne wrote:
    Didn't stick around long enough to see them!! lol

I don't particularly like bars/clubs that are down in basements. The claustraphobia in me I guess. I wouldn't no where a good club is these days... Me being old... 22yrs old!! :rolleyes:

less of the old at 22 ?!... lol, im older than you

places with cute girls who are up for only one thing.

and u dont like q bar... that place seems to be a walking advertisment for what your looking for lol

sorry the above girls that aren't mutton dressed as lamb up their own arses. i like doyles. the girls are easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i can't stand any of those bloody clubs. I work nights in a Guest house just behind Leeson street and since the smoking ban i've been plagued with noise till 4am as they've all opened smoking areas out the back. Had to phone the GARDA afew times due to really unaceptable noise levels.

Christ i wish the General/IRA had burned them all to the ground, back in the 80's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

If your looking to pull whelans is a good place also carnival

Or copper face jacks, for easy access and you won't find any d4ers in there! All from the cun'try. Where's carnival??

Sue- being at the club/pub scene so long I feel so old!! Esp. if in Redz or Qbar!! :eek: All so young. I hate those places.

Larianne wrote:
    Or copper face jacks, for easy access and you won't find any d4ers in there! All from the cun'try. Where's carnival??

Sue- being at the club/pub scene so long I feel so old!! Esp. if in Redz or Qbar!! :eek: All so young. I hate those places.

i have found that q bar is getting a fair bit older... been many a time i ve gone in there and felt young

If your looking to pull whelans is a good place also carnival

whelans is just a big foreign sweat box

q is full of knackers....

...pretending to be posh.

I've never had a good time in that place!! Got a weird vibe about it. Don't like it at all!

which is fine if they're not only looking for rich guys (i'm not rich).

Larianne wrote:
    ...pretending to be posh.

so is redz....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭ergo

Larianne wrote:
    Or copper face jacks, for easy access and you won't find any d4ers in there! All from the cun'try. .

this is true, for a good honest no holds barred night out start in Flannery's and then stumble down the laneway to Copper's , and no posers just down to earth folk out for a good time

as for Leeson St, well Rio's is the only place I can just about stand, mainly cos I think it is the only one which actually sells beer, and paying €40 for a bottle of vinegar in Legg's (cost price prob €1.99) and then to stumble thorugh the crowd, taking half an hour to climb your way past the crowd who are all blind drunk (and hopefully you are too if you are in one of those places) and half of them are obnoxious poser D4 types , not necessarily from D4,

having said that I did go through a phase of being in Legg's way too much(hence the bitterness and loathing), mainly cos everyone I worked with went there, try and avoid it as much as possible now

Hogan's is pretty good too, music there a bit hit and miss mind you, Whelan's is the old reliable for the music

and as for Q bar, well I've never had a good night there, and agree it's full of knackers pretending to be posh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

Sue* wrote:
    so is redz....

thats funny, i dont think ive ever thought of redz as trying to be posh. it is what it is. a last resort ****hole, and Q-bar is overpriced

q bar is definately over priced... sure it has to get its rep as "the most expensive bar in dublin" for a reason :(

The problem with Dublin nightlife is that there is nt enough good places to go to, i find myself likeing somewhere and then i go there so much until i get sick of it, and then im back to square one again of trying to find other possibilites... unfort in dublin, there is very few...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Last time I (reluctantly) went to Q Bar, I asked for a pint of bulmers, and was handed Cashels in a Bulmers glass. I walked out and haven't been back since. It's unlikely I ever will be again.. F**kin' kip if you ask me..

Coppers.. I went a few times out of curiosity. I think each time I went, someone tried to start a fight with me. I tried dancing, but I felt like I was back in a teenage disco. Sweaty guys rubbing up against random girls hoping for a snog/shag/feel etc..

Yuk.