Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Cork vs Kerry Final not a sell-out

• 10-07-2005 3:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭

Shows what a bunch of sunshiners we have here in Cork.

I think this Cork team with Masters, McCarthy, O'Sullivan, will really put it up to a overhyped Kerry.

I think too much has been said about this Kerry team. Lasy year they beat a ****e Mayo team and Cork have hammered them in league twice in the last 2 years.

Cork @ 3/1 ...I'll have some of that please Mr. Sucker! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Originally postef by applehunter

I think this Cork team with Masters, McCarthy, O'Sullivan, will really put it up to a overhyped Kerry.

I think too much has been said about this Kerry team. Lasy year they beat a ****e Mayo team and Cork have hammered them in league twice in the last 2 years.

Cork @ 3/1 ...I'll have some of that please Mr. Sucker!

Kerry will draft through this match,( I hope) gooch will be market to the end but that won't stop us. Kerry don't usually attempt in the league against cork, that match is usually the curtain raiser to the league and its a p*ss up for both sets players to renew old rivalries and reminsce on the past. cork will go far this year i believe win or lose, I wound not rule out a Kerry V Cork Corker clash ala 2002.
    Also alot of Kerry people aren't travelling as Pairc Ui Chaoimh is so inaccesable, we'd have to walk miles from the bus or Train plus, parking in the area around the stadium is brutal (i believe).
    Anyway may the best team win,
    And may that be the kingdom !!

Regards netwhizkid

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Maybe it shows most of cork dont give too ****s about the football and tbh never have. Sure it would be nice they won but tbh I dont really care that much.

Now as regards the Cork hurling team........
    Also alot of Kerry people aren't travelling as Pairc Ui Chaoimh is so inaccesable, we'd have to walk miles from the bus or Train plus, parking in the area around the stadium is brutal (i believe).

Pairc Ui Chaoimh is probably one of the MOST accesable stadiums in the country. Obviuosly you have never been to croker! :) You can walk it to the stadium in 15 to 20 min form the bus station! Maybe kerry people are just lazy as they dont have their donkeys to carry them from A to B ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Originally Posted by jank
    Pairc Ui Chaoimh is probably one of the MOST accesable stadiums in the country. Obviuosly you have never been to croker! You can walk it to the stadium in 15 to 20 min form the bus station! Maybe kerry people are just lazy as they dont have their donkeys to carry them from A to B

I have been to Croke Park several times and it is not that bad only about a 15mins walk from O Connell St, (i get the bus from Heuston Station) but i'll opt for the luas now this year i think if Kerry make it to croker touch wood. as for Pairc Ui Chaoimh, i can't say as i've never been there, But i have heard it is a long walk thats all. anyway Kerry roll on and our northern knuckleheads are left to pulverise each other again next saturday. lol
    great game btw

Regards netwhizkid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭River Allow

Netwhizkid, as I am from the beautiful Cork, I would like to congratulate on your win. Twas close. I am delighted with the Cork display. We came within 3 points of the all-Ireland champions... a huge improvement since last year. Our defence plyed mighty and midfield cleaned up. All we are missing is a few handy forwards! But don't worry lads, ye haven't heard the end of us yet! We are a young team. Granted we may not win an all-Ireland soon but keep ye're eyes peeled lads!

[/B]UP THE REBELS!!!!!!!!!

Oh ny the way Netwhizkid, I reckon Pairc Ui Chaoimh is just a little more accessible than Fitzgerald stadium! (Sarcasm on the little more accessible, more like way more!!!!)

Antway, congrats again and I wish ye every success in the rest of the championship.

River Allow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Kerry people never tend to go to matches until they hit the All-Ireland final. I hope, for the good of football, they don't win it again this year. They've won the championship so many times that its getting boring.

I'd love to see a team like Mayo or Laois win it. At least it'd bring a touch of excitement to the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

jank wrote:
    Maybe it shows most of cork dont give too ****s about the football and tbh never have. Sure it would be nice they won but tbh I dont really care that much.

Now as regards the Cork hurling team........

This is very wrong... when last have you been down anywhere in West Cork? Castlehaven/Bantry/Ilen Rovers/Carbery Rangers/etc. You could fit most Irish counties into the part of West Cork where theres only 1 sport, and everyone is mad about it.

Sunshiners is not the right word, Cork has always set higher standards for itself than any other county in everything we do. Someone commented to me once in a pub in Kildare where they had the poster of the Kildare team who were runners up in the All Ireland final, that most Cork pubs would be ashamed to display their certificate of second best proudly on the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Those team posters are still in rakes of pubs in kildare.

Also, is anyone else trying to read this thread with Kerry/Cork accents? Funny as **** tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

Illkillya wrote:
    This is very wrong... when last have you been down anywhere in West Cork? Castlehaven/Bantry/Ilen Rovers/Carbery Rangers/etc. You could fit most Irish counties into the part of West Cork where theres only 1 sport, and everyone is mad about it.

Sunshiners is not the right word, Cork has always set higher standards for itself than any other county in everything we do. Someone commented to me once in a pub in Kildare where they had the poster of the Kildare team who were runners up in the All Ireland final, that most Cork pubs would be ashamed to display their certificate of second best proudly on the wall.

I agree with you regards West Cork being 'football country'. They love their football down there and to those people the hurling is a poor second. Every to their own I suppose.

If any country like Kildare have been starved of All-Ireland success any poster at all would do. However tbh I have not seen these posters at all. Maybe they are mistaking it with Leinster Champions 1998 posters. Maybe not.