Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

blagging your way into oxegen

• 08-07-2005 11:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭

I did this last year, I just paid yerman at the entrance to the campsite the extra money and got in. Two friends of mine have Saturday tickets but want to do this. Has anyone heard of tightening on security or that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

We do this most years you just go down and wait by the fence then when its clear just make a break for it simple :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

cool, whats the best time to try it

You can go for it anytime. Basically there's usually a fence the a grass section then another fence and there's people patrolling the grass bit so just wait for them to be out of site or far away then just go for it. you might get caught a couple of times trying but eventually you'll get in. If you wait til its dark its simple as they can't see you. just remember pick your moment then don't hesitate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

just remember pick your moment then don't hesitate

also be mindful of the force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭gobby

What about faking arm bands and just strolling in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Take it

I was going to fake an armband thing and got loads of different coloured paper and photo paper too and then found out this year the bands are tourquize and blue MATERIAL like a ribbon with oxegen stiched into them :) damn them! I really wish i could get a high quality photo of a band though And id give it a shot :) so can anyone help out?

Take it wrote:
    I was going to fake an armband thing and got loads of different coloured paper and photo paper too and then found out this year the bands are tourquize and blue MATERIAL like a ribbon with oxegen stiched into them :) damn them! I really wish i could get a high quality photo of a band though And id give it a shot :) so can anyone help out?
    Working on it... I'll post if I get one. (Wont be high quality though. Camera phone)

haha yea im waiting on a picture message aswell :P if mine comes threw ill put it up aswell ... time to get the sowing kit out :P actually what im planning on doing is ... im not bad at graphic design so just start from scratch and look at the photo and make it look like stiching aswell and print it onto photo paper (my printers kick ass) and give that a shot? what way are u going to do it?

Take it wrote:
    haha yea im waiting on a picture message aswell :P if mine comes threw ill put it up aswell ... time to get the sowing kit out :P actually what im planning on doing is ... im not bad at graphic design so just start from scratch and look at the photo and make it look like stiching aswell and print it onto photo paper (my printers kick ass) and give that a shot? what way are u going to do it?
    No idea yet. My bro is a printer but seeing as they are fabric I think I need a new plan of action. Might just try to leg it in.

Lads your missing the point just be men (even honorary ones for the other sex) and hop the fence run then hop the other one its easy

Sounds like a plan. How high are these fences and how difficult would it be to jump em in the dark of the night?

Like i have tickets but just day ones but all my mates are in camping so i just wanna get into camping is that where the fences are ? if so then see you there gobby :P in the dark of the night running full speed at the fences ... to drunk to jump and smashing into them :P i wont see you but ill hear you and ull hear me :P haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Apparantly because someone was selling dodgy tickets from ticketmaster the ol' bill are gonna be there in force to help with security. I just wanna get my hands on a ticket tbh :(

.ak wrote:
    Apparantly because someone was selling dodgy tickets from ticketmaster the ol' bill are gonna be there in force to help with security. I just wanna get my hands on a ticket tbh :(
    Dang. Thats gonna make it a bit harder to get in. :mad:

being honest i doubt the gaurds are getting off there arses for dogy tickets, i know security has been upped since the england bombs, thats why i had to get late tickets, i had it sorted that id be getting in free but then the day of the bombs i got a phonecall that securitys changed and i wouldnt be able to get in with my mate. So all the sniffer dogs and cops will be looking for bombs not drunking gob****es running at fences :p ... have an old top maybe dark green, jump the fence, run into the crowd and drop the top :P have like a red top under it :P sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Steven

Christ people! Try to keep boardsie out of your illegal activities. There is a time and place for everything, and that place is IRC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭spiderlegs

I heard the bands were green white and orange....Either way there material.How the **** will I copy that!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Yes. I've seen them ...quite fetching! The first thing I thought is that the people with the coloured paper are in trouble. Even the laminates are odd looking.

spiderlegs wrote:
    I heard the bands were green white and orange....Either way there material.How the **** will I copy that!!!!
    Get the sewing machine out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

my mum made bands,but i only went friday,sat and last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭Jonathanpbk

well, i'm just back after an incredible weekend... anyway, 3 of my mates got fake tickets by accident, so one went up to a garda and said he got mugged and his ticket was robbed and they took him over and gave him a band for free!! he deserved it though, paying 200 and getting ripped.
    the other 2 just got bands from us and got in easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Norinoco

well, i'm just back after an incredible weekend... anyway, 3 of my mates got fake tickets by accident, so one went up to a garda and said he got mugged and his ticket was robbed and they took him over and gave him a band for free!! he deserved it though, paying 200 and getting ripped.
    the other 2 just got bands from us and got in easy!

Same kindof think happened with my brother.

He lost his ticket in the carpark on the way in and went up to a guard. The guard took him in to the campsite in the back of a paddy wagon! Then the next day gave him a free band. Thank god for the Gardai...!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Seemd like there were a lot of hooky tickets around, I saw loads of people turned away. I heard a security guy say "I can tell you the exact barcode on that ticket by looking at it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

i didnt understand all the people that bought tickets in the car park off dodgy guys, most tickets were the worst fakes id ever seen. it was very stupid especially when tickets were availble at the gate for a little over face price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Nidge

Call_me_al wrote:
    i didnt understand all the people that bought tickets in the car park off dodgy guys, most tickets were the worst fakes id ever seen. it was very stupid especially when tickets were availble at the gate for a little over face price.

Available from who?

staff at the gate. ticket collectors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Nidge

i would have liked to have known that, but i mean how did people find this out? you go up they ask for a ticktet you say you don't have one then they give you one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

Call_me_al wrote:
    staff at the gate. ticket collectors

you mean they were making money on the sly or they were officially selling tickets?

What a weekend. Got in using a dodgy ticket. My bro had a ticket from the same fella and didnt get in at the gate. Was okay tho cos we were able to sneak him in. Great weekend.

officially selling them. if you asked a ticket collector they should be able to sort you out, and if they say no, then tell em to ask their supervisor. so you should know for next year. although i wouldnt personally take the risk, and i would just buy a ticket on time...

Call_me_al wrote:
    officially selling them. if you asked a ticket collector they should be able to sort you out, and if they say no, then tell em to ask their supervisor. so you should know for next year. although i wouldnt personally take the risk, and i would just buy a ticket on time...
    Just goes to show that even when its sold out its actually not sold out at all...

slightly different at a festival, its the only place i have heard of it happening, def doesnt happen at gigs in point, croker, lansdowne, or any indoor arena...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

One of my mates had a ticket he bought through buy and sell and reciept included, then when he went up to the gate the barcode reader beeped, and he was informed it was a ticket bought with a stolen credit card and he wasnt getting in and he had to wait for the Garda to come. The Garda didnt come so he had to show id to the security supervisor and he took his name and address and phone number. And we all chipped in and gave the supervisor 150euro to let him go in. Bastards id say they were making a fortune. Do you reckon the guards will follow this up?

Excellant weekend!

they prob wont coz the amount of names and addresses they took for drugs confiscations would be more important and they prob wont even follow those up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

I met many people in there without bands and theres plenty of stories here and on the official site of the same sort of lark.

Eventually the numbers in there are going to rise so high people will be in danger and the festival will be denied its license. May take years but its inevitable.

people with one day tickets dont get passes, so that would explain the lack of bands...