Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobs in Dell!!!

• 08-07-2005 8:27am
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hey Guys,

Dell are on a major recruiting campaign at the moment, loads of opportunities available. I work there and they are looking for employees to refer people, so if anyone would like to try for a job please let me know and I will refer you and prep you for the interview etc if needed.

Here is a List of All Jobs availible on monster.ie. The last 3 are what i have been doing in Dell. Money can range from about 24k - 40k+ OTE (on Target Earnings), with the possibility of substantially more if you overachieve your targets.

We are currently in Bray, but as of this week we are starting to move the whole site to Cherrywood in Louchlinstown, just off the new M50 extention, so very accessible from nearly everywhere in Dublin.

If you want to apply for a position in sales, previous sales experience is a must. Only basic computer skills are needed, full training is provided, but what theya re looking for is money hungry people with strong organisational skills.

Any questions please post here and if you are interested pm me with some contact details and I'll tell you more.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Feckin Dell, went for an interview last year, passed all their tech stuff, had the experience, but they said I wasn't "bubbly enough" ... feckin bubbly! >_<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

i know a few people working in dell on placement for the summer, they hat it and "would rather be skinned alive and dipped in salt water than return there after graduation!"

/ i should say they're in limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

toiletduck wrote:
    i know a few people working in dell on placement for the summer, they hat it and "would rather be skinned alive and dipped in salt water than return there after graduation!"
    Rofl.

Sales, ugh. Why don't I just give my soul to Satan now?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

'cos you'd get paid lots? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i turned down a job in dell in bracknell last year.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

Zascar wrote:
    Hey Guys,

Bl;a bla bla bla

Any questions please post here and if you are interested pm me with some contact details and I'll tell you more.

Thanks.
    You forgot to mention that you get paid for every successfull candidate you put forward , :rolleyes: ..

Nice scheme ! Now get back to work :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

azezil wrote:
    Feckin Dell, went for an interview last year, passed all their tech stuff, had the experience, but they said I wasn't "bubbly enough" ... feckin bubbly! >_<

LOL, so much for interviewers' ability to 'read' ppl. Although I'd say your more 'spritely' than bubbly :) Their loss our gain eh?

But eh, "Sell me this pen." One of the girls went for an interview and she was glad she didn't get it! Salespeople are vile, *VILE* ppl tho. You gotta be a great liar to be in it otherwise you'll die of guilt.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

They are also looking for a lot of tech people. The work is OK depending of which department you get into. My department is pretty cool. Of course there are some annoying things but you will get that anywhere. I think the overall package is really good and I would recommend it.

MrP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

What kind of tech jobs are going there?

Is it the usual tech support stuff or something a bit more challengeing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Wondering the same thing as Jank. What kind of tech stuff is going there?

oneweb wrote:
    Salespeople are vile, *VILE* ppl tho. You gotta be a great liar to be in it otherwise you'll die of guilt.

that is absolute bull shít.

watched glangary glen ross a few too many times have we?

dont bother posting back here until such time as you grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭Dellgirl

LOL, so much for interviewers' ability to 'read' ppl. Although I'd say your more 'spritely' than bubbly Their loss our gain eh?

But eh, "Sell me this pen." One of the girls went for an interview and she was glad she didn't get it! Salespeople are vile, *VILE* ppl tho. You gotta be a great liar to be in it otherwise you'll die of guilt.
    so much for interviewers' ability to 'read' ppl

So much for yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭formatman

difference between a CAR salesperson and a DELL salesperson

The CAR salesperson knows they are lying !

For tech support there are a number of jobs going. There is Gold Server support. This is not supporting servers made of gold but supporting normal server that the punter have got **special** support contracts for. They are also looking for software support people . This is enterprise support, so stuff like Windows server, linux, netware, exchange, sql and all that kind of crap. The server stuff is front line but the software support is backoffice.

I don't know much about the sales stuff but if anyone want any further info on tech stuff let me know. Oh and there are referal bonuses. The company is looking to increase the global workforce from its current 56000 to about 85000 in the next 18 months and they are trying everything they can to try to find potential candidates.

MrP

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Sharkman. Yes I get a nice kicker. So what? If I help someone to get a decent job whether I do it out of the goodness of my heart or for some cash, makes no difference if i help someone get hired into a job they might not have got otherwise.

Whitewashman: Thank you, well said.

Look, this is just sales. I am not the devil and I DO NOT lie in my job. My job is account manager and I deal with larger businesses and manage all aspects of their delaings with Dell. My job is to hit targets and to try to make people buy as much as possible, but NOT rip them off or make them buy anything they do not need. Trust me, in this job anything dodgey you do WILL come back to bite you. This is not cold calling, its not selling dodgey pyramid schemes or life insurance. There are hundreds of people that do this type of job, and there are always a few bad apples who are not as honest as they should be, but it becomes very obvious who they are - everyone knows but usually they do not care as they have no conscience. These people do not get very far up the ranks.

Dell have hired thousands of people over the years. The attrition rate is quite high, and I have met plenty who did not like it and curse the place blind. But more oftent han not they just didn't make the cut and are bitter. When you are not performing in a job like this is it not a nice place to be. That said, if you are good at your job its a great place to be and you can make lots of money. Thats why I like my job. I'm not trying to brag but I'm 24 and I make about €50k year, and there are very very few other jobs that you can make that much money at such a young age with very little experience. If you are a hard worker, and can apply yourself, anyone can do very well in here.

If this sounds like you, give me a shout. I'll make a couple of hundred quid and you might just get yourself a great opportunity to make money and build a carreer.

formatman wrote:
    difference between a CAR salesperson and a DELL salesperson

The CAR salesperson knows they are lying !

ok, any one else who has a pop at eithe r sales or dell is getting banned.

im fed up of this attitude that people have towards either money motivating careers, or money making companies.

either grow up, and realise that there is more to life than upgrading your pc at home with the latest version of obscure linux (oh, and the more obscure the better, right?), or dont post.

im going to start taking a hard line approach to the stupidity of some people towards other professions.

besides, being in sales, i find it quite insulting to have this type of rubbish bandied about by fools on thier summer holidays who have no experience of either engineering or sales, and think that being called a desktop engineer actually means something....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭WexCan

I started in Dell three weeks ago and I've got to say that my team is amazing, my manager is a really nice guy, and the pay's great for the job I'm doing.

I would recommend it to anyone, but like any job it might not suit some people - it depends on the type of environment you like working in and how you interact with people. If you can get along well with your team and aren't a constant moaner about this or that you'll love working for Dell.

As Zascar said, Bray staff have started moving to Cherrywood this week, and there is quite a rapid expansion in the number of jobs etc etc. Dell should be completely out of Bray by the end of this Autumn.

And this bitterness about Zascar etc being given a referral bonus - so bloody what? Hmmmm. And the sales people are mainly really nice people, all the ones I've been in contact with have been anyway. There seems to be healthy as opposed to unhealthy competitiveness between them - a friend of mine in small business sales loves his job and his customers love him.

As MrPudding said in another thread, if you've got the cop on and motivation, you'll do well. It's a wonderful opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

*gets out the banning stick and waves it about*

Bitching about sales is real bright on a forum where both the mods work/have worked extensively in it. ;)

Personally, I don't care. You can bitch all you want. I may listen to your bitchy little attempts at digs at sales when you've got enough experience to know what you are talking about and an IQ level that does more than just aspire to treble digits.

Oh wait. At that point you'll have copped on enough to not bitch about generic fields of employment. There are many many types of sales.

The best paid and better areas of sales have nothing to do with selling to people. They have everything to do with selling to companies. Which is a very different kettle of fish. Any muppet with confidence can hard sell some junk over a counter, on a doorstep or over a phone.

But closing a 6 or 7 figure contract? That takes skill, training, a **** load of effort and a good deal of experience. If you can't respect that, then welcome to the wonderful world of bitterness. It's a magical place filled with broken dreams, broken men and small paychecks. It also has most "mini" managers.

And desktop engineer does mean something WWM. It stands for the guys that plug the ethernet cables back into the back of people's PCs. Rewarding and fulfilling work I imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

ools on thier summer holidays who have no experience of either engineering or sales, and think that being called a desktop engineer actually means something....
    Maybe you should follow your own advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

By any chance are they looking for summer/ Part-time people?

I think Dell is a company I'd like to work for.

CiaranC wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

i turned down a job in dell in bracknell last year.
    Good move - bracknell is a kip!

kjt wrote:
    By any chance are they looking for summer/ Part-time people?

I think Dell is a company I'd like to work for.

AFAIK most of the positions going are full time permanent. Try giving staffing an email - emeajobs@dell.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

And desktop engineer does mean something WWM. It stands for the guys that plug the ethernet cables back into the back of people's PCs. Rewarding and fulfilling work I imagine.
    Right, so it's apparently not OK for people here to slag off sales and marketing, but it apparently is OK for the moderators to slag off those in technical roles, without whom all these sales and marketing people wouldn't have anything to sell in the first place? Sounds like double standards to me.

"Quid custodies ipse custodiens", and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I work in a technical role in Dell in Cherrywood and have to say Dell has been the best employer to work for in my working career.
    The appraisel system is fair and have found that mostly the best people get promoted to the best jobs and fast, something that isnt common in other companies in my experience.
    If you are looking for a place to work that has good prospects and good monetary rewards if you put in the effort, frankly you could do a LOT worse than working for Dell..and i'm not getting any comission for saying that....

BTW if you have server skills and are looking for work..pm me..all Dell emp. get commission for referrals if they cut the mustard!! :P I can also get your interview fast tracked...

The new M50 extension goes right into the Cherrywood industrial estate..very very fast and east to get into work as the n11 is in front also.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Alun wrote:
    Right, so it's apparently not OK for people here to slag off sales and marketing, but it apparently is OK for the moderators to slag off those in technical roles, without whom all these sales and marketing people wouldn't have anything to sell in the first place? Sounds like double standards to me.

"Quid custodies ipse custodiens", and all that.

No I've worked in tech support, and technical jobs. I've been the guy plugging the cables back into the back of machines in offices. Also most of my friends in real life work in IT. So no, I don't have a lack of respect for it.

What we are pulling the piss out of are people in IT who have low level roles but important sounding titles. People who do tech support but who call themselves engineers.

You know, people with complexs over working at the base level. We all, or at least most of us, started at the bottom and had to work up from there. It's just that it seems stylish in IT atm to try and sound like you're not.

Edit: It would be the same as a team leader in a door to door sales team calling himself a manager.

In both cases, the person is deluding themselves and trying to sound more important than they are.

nesf wrote:
    People who do tech support but who call themselves engineers.

While this may be true of support engineer for home users..I really doubt you could not call people earning ~€28K starting off at the basic leval rising to €50K ++ after a few years "engineers" .....

Most of the people here are ex sys admins or contractors that got pissed off with the irregular hours/money, lack of pension plan , holidays etc etc...

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Longfield wrote:
    While this may be true of support engineer for home users..I really doubt you could not call people earning ~€28K starting off at the basic leval rising to €50K ++ after a few years "engineers" .....

Most of the people here are ex sys admins or contractors that got pissed off with the irregular hours/money, lack of pension plan , holidays etc etc...

I wouldn't link payscale to title. I'd link the job they do to it.

And what do you mean "most of the people here". I agree we do have a lot of well trained and highly experienced IT people on here, but I doubt they are in the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

In both cases, the person is deluding themselves and trying to sound more important than they are.
    To be fair it often isn't the people calling themselves anything of the sort, but the companies themselves who give them these fanciful names. Eveybody these days is an "analyst", a "consultant" or (and this is the weirdest IMO) an "associate".

Alun wrote:
    To be fair it often isn't the people calling themselves anything of the sort, but the companies themselves who give them these fanciful names. Eveybody these days is an "analyst", a "consultant" or (and this is the weirdest IMO) an "associate".

Agreed. But that doesn't excuse people flouting around the title to try and sound important. I can understand why they do it but I don't see why someone should have any shame about doing low level work.

Tech support, while not glamarous, can be a good start to a long and sucessful IT career. I don't see why people try to dress it up as something more important.

The difference is between the older "established" professions with rigid titles and advancement schemes, and the newer professions that aren't standardised and aren't as rigid. An associate in a law firm means something. A title of desktop engineer doesn't. It could mean anything the company wants it to mean.

People seem to have this obsession with job titles and identify themselves through them to some degree.

You are not your job, your title or your paypacket.

nesf wrote:
    I wouldn't link payscale to title. I'd link the job they do to it.

And what do you mean "most of the people here". I agree we do have a lot of well trained and highly experienced IT people on here, but I doubt they are in the majority.

Sorry, "here" was supposed to mean here in Dell, where well trained and highly skilled people are in the majority!!

Longfield wrote:
    Sorry, "here" was supposed to mean here in Dell, where well trained and highly skilled people are in the majority!!

I'd have no idea, I don't know anyone who's worked for them iirc. So I'll take your word for it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

Are all the job openings in Dublin?
    Or are they hiring in tech roles in Limerick also?

Worked in Dell on my co-op in Castletroy (before it closed down) and loved it, think it was a good company to work for - but don't want to move to Dublin!

Anyone know about job openings in Limerick?

CiaranC wrote:

ive been there and ive done it.

my point is that a desktop engineer has very rarely seen the inside of an engineering lab,and does not have an engineering degree.

its a misconception.

much like many people have about sales. in my carrer, ive done dekstop support, been a desktop engineer, been a network engineer and serveral other things.
    i find that most people who slag off sales and have some sort of media biased opinion are about 18 years old, have managed to build a pc, and think they are a rocket scientist.

dont read what isnt there.

no, i think you misunderstand the point. i dont want anyone to slag off anyone. i would rather people tried to understand other areas and professions, instead of having some narrow minded view and catagorising what jobs should be.

hell, my title is UK and Ireland account manager. in another company, id be called a regional manager, in another id be territory manager or a country manager. hell, i could even be vice president for sales for UK.

i dont give a crap about what the title is (hence the desktop engineer remark) what is important is the actual role that is fulfilled.

however, anyone that goes around saying that sales is about lying though your teeth, selling your soul to satan and pulling fast scams and cons, will get beat down very quickly by me, becuase any decent sales person will tell you a very differnt thing.

in fact, if you want to know about it, you can read something about it in my journal. ive done a piece on sales in that. its not right or wrong, its just my take.
    perhaps some people may just need educating, but i think an open mind will lead to that anyway.
    or maybe im just tired after a very long week? in which case i apologise for being tetchy. i'll still ban any motherfúcker that persists in persuing this stupid sales line though...

Longfield wrote:

not true.

what do they engineer?

do they design and make things?

thats engineering.

i earn over 50k sterling. am i an engineer? no. i can fix a network. hell, ive sold into one fo the worlds top supercomputers. does that make me an engineer?

no.

it doesnt.
    Longfield wrote:

you think so? what makes you think that most people here are ex sys admins and contractors (are these sys admin contractors, coz contractors can do any job)

im not sure what the point of this is anyway...

id say most of the people on here are still school by some of the text speak i keep reading.
    pffft.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Anyway back on topic. Id be interested alright in a job but dont know what one would suit me. Obviously id like to have a slice of that money making pie that Mr pudding is on about, but would like a kinda more technical role.

Just couldnt see myself in sales, well not now anyway.

Would one need a few years IT/Server experience to apply for that gold server support.

What is the salary range for those in starting technical jobs?
    How long would one have to be there to get promotioned to more advanced roles?

this role sounds like a junoir version of what i went for last year.
    they wanted me to be very technical, but also very salesy.
    its was an odd combination of both, but it looked exciting at the time.

the company is certainly professional. they will ask you what you know about dell, so a good read up on hte dell web site is advised. if i was to step back about 4 or 5 years, i would say this would have been a great position for me to go into and develop, however i got a job at the same time that im currently still in which basically made me responsible for Uk and Ireland, and i figured that would look a whole lot better on my cv than 'grunt in dell' :)

jank wrote:
    Would one need a few years IT/Server experience to apply for that gold server support.

One would need to have some amount of experience to apply for regular (bronze) support - afaik A+, N+, MCP etc are recommended, diploma/degree a plus and a year or so similar experience. Gold would prob require 4/5 yrs - go to dell.ie and click on careers down at the bottom.

Tech pay rates, afaik, start at around 22/25k (higher depending on team). With further training and development (encouraged by the company) progression can be quick. My department is essentially a phone based reception for the entire UK/Ireland support team - both client and server teams in Ireland and home/small business support in the Indian call centres (We're the ones who take the service tag before sending people through). A few of the others in the Dept are in various stages of doing the Dell server certifications and will hopefully progress into server soon. So the company does care about and encourage the development and progression of it's employees. I haven't been there long though so perhaps MrPudding or Zascar can give some more info.

you think so? what makes you think that most people here are ex sys admins and contractors (are these sys admin contractors, coz contractors can do any job)

im not sure what the point of this is anyway...

id say most of the people on here are still school by some of the text speak i keep reading.
    pffft.

As he has already pointed out, when he said "here" he meant Dell, not Boardss.

MrP

jank wrote:
    Anyway back on topic. Id be interested alright in a job but dont know what one would suit me. Obviously id like to have a slice of that money making pie that Mr pudding is on about, but would like a kinda more technical role.

Just couldnt see myself in sales, well not now anyway.

They generally look for experience for the Gold Server teams. It doesn't have to be Dell server experience. In fact, if you have a lot of experience in client system support you will still be in with a chance. Their attitude is simple. The tech stuff is easy. Hardware is hardware. They can alway teach you the tech stuff. They cannot teach you working under pressure or talking to a guy that is having a fit cos his exchaange & file & print cluster is down and he had 1000 employees that can't do anything.

Money for Gold server starts at around 40k. Like I said in another thread Dell really do offer huge potential for you if you have a bit of cop and don't mind working.

Don't get me wrong, it is by no means perfect. There are a few annoying things and a couple of really annoying things. But, on balance it is actually pretty good. There are a lot of changes happening at the moment. Because of the huge expansion that is being planned they are redoing all the management structures. They like to have lots of managers!

I wouldn't do the sales stuff. There is nothing wrong with doing sales in Dell. If you hit your target you are very well rewarded. Sales just isn't my bag.

Longfield, are you in one of the server teams? I am in NOS.

MrP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

i know a guy that works for dell and he hates it because he hates sales.
    i might give it a try myself;)

MrPudding wrote:
    As he has already pointed out, when he said "here" he meant Dell, not Boardss.

MrP

ah. my mistake :)

well holy crap!

i can be wrong!

drdre wrote:
    i know a guy that works for dell and he hates it because he hates sales.
    i might give it a try myself;)

Well hey if you're in Cabinteely it's just down the road :p