Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abusive partners

• 05-07-2005 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭

What would you do if you were with a girl and she was physically abusive to you, lets say she went for you. There is no backing away from it, your in a room with no one else. What do you do? If she is phyco enough to go for you she would go to the cops and say it was unprovoked etc and have you arrested! It has never happend to me thank god but I just saw a thread in Personal Issues relating to it. What would you do? Push her off and run?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Easier take a slap and skedaddle than have the hassle of dealing with the cops, I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

if she was trying to harm me i.e smack me around the gaff, then i'd try and stop it .. if she became more abusie i.e using a wepon ( rolling pin, something like that) then i'd have no choice but to either try to disarm her , or hit her...

but i would take whatever wepon she had tried to use ( making sure i don't get any prints on the "handle" of it, once the gaurds came i'd explaine it to them show them the wepon and let it take it's course.

after the gaurds thing i'd then get a restraining order on her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

ahve hidden cameras put in the home, to prove it was her, cuz cops tend to take the female side in the belief that any man can over power a woman but a woman wouldn't hurt a fyy.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Hidden cameras? what is this, MTV's punk'd? If someone wants to hit you, stop them and leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭airetam_storm

Just disarm her and leave, but never hit her or she'd file for abuse and as already said the law does tend to side with the female especially if shes bruised

Hidden cameras? what is this, MTV's punk'd? If someone wants to hit you, stop them and leave.
    if it was severe yes, the law doesn't side with male abuse claims, they always think that it must be self defence or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

id stab her to death and throw her body in the liffey.
    its the only answer.

id stab her to death and throw her body in the liffey.
    its the only answer.
    yeah livin up to your name there...

Le Rack wrote:
    yeah livin up to your name there...

really?

really?
    just a wee bit...

Le Rack wrote:
    just a wee bit...

i'm sorry

Le Rack wrote:
    if it was severe yes, the law doesn't side with male abuse claims, they always think that it must be self defence or something.

how ever if your friends do know or suspect that she is pwnzing j00 , then that will help .. plus having either the wepon or the video to show it's happening is concerte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭shellby

my theory has always been fight like a man take it like a man
    unfortunitely this is one scenario the law will rarely sympothise with the man so the best action would really be to defend yourself without striking back ie restraining her then walking away

whats the pwnzing j00 bit mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭newgrange

I had a friend was being physically abused by his female partner, and for all the reasons people have stated here he waited ages to go to the police. The guards in Clontarf were very supportive when he did go - mind you, he had visible marks where she had beaten him. He decided not to have her charged, but at no stage did he get the impression the guards did not believe him.

newgrange wrote:
    I had a friend was being physically abused by his female partner, and for all the reasons people have stated here he waited ages to go to the police. The guards in Clontarf were very supportive when he did go - mind you, he had visible marks where she had beaten him. He decided not to have her charged, but at no stage did he get the impression the guards did not believe him.
    Good for him. But sometimes it could go the wrong way and she could show the police a scar from where he hit her in defence and claim it wasnt provoked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I've just found out within the last few days that one of my friends is abusive to her bf. He's told my bf and some of the other bf's in our group that she's gone at him with a knife and everything. They're buying a house together which i dont understand. Of course i'm not going to open my mouth coz its none of my business and i feel they should sort it out between them but what if someone gets really hurt? Its such a tough one to call....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I was stabbed by a woman.

She was pretty intent on killing me and struggling to get the knife off her was getting to be pretty dangerous. A few punches were required in order to phase her long enough to get the knife out of her grip. When your life is at risk the sex of the assailant really doesn't matter all that much.

I did only use the amount of force that I felt was necessary, and I certainly didn't strike back once I had the upper hand.

She would have ended up with a pretty badly bruised face for a few weeks, I still have a big nasty scar on my stomach almost 2 years later and I'm lucky to be alive.

The Garda accepted my side of things without a problem. It helps if you have a trail of blood and a weapon to show them I guess.

You and your girlfriends could confront her about it if her bf is too afraid/unconcerned to

\edit\ Monkey_fudge, did she admit to attacking you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

shellby wrote:
    my theory has always been fight like a man take it like a man
    unfortunitely this is one scenario the law will rarely sympothise with the man so the best action would really be to defend yourself without striking back ie restraining her then walking away

Man enough to hit me, man enough to be hit by me.

Unfortunatly the law doesn't tend to see things the same way as i do.

\edit\ Monkey_fudge, did she admit to attacking you?
    I'm not sure. Actually she couldn't deny it, becasue I had witnesses in the end who took care of her while I made my way to the hospital as I was losing alot of blood. Within an hour Two Garda came and took my statement when I was on a hospital trolly.

Le Rack wrote:
    whats the pwnzing j00 bit mean?

it's leet speak for owning you , as in bashing the cr-p out of you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭newgrange

Man enough to hit me, man enough to be hit by me.

Unfortunatly the law doesn't tend to see things the same way as i do.

Neither does the human body.
    She might be man enough to hit you, but you will need a lot less force to break her jaw than she does to break yours.

Bottom line in an abusive relationship is leave. Now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

I have never been in that kind of situation, but i'd like to imagine i would have the restraint not to hit her, and just restrain her.

i don't really know how i'd react, it'd depend on wether she was using a weapon or not.

Ishmael wrote:
    I have never been in that kind of situation, but i'd like to imagine i would have the restraint not to hit her, and just restrain her.

i don't really know how i'd react, it'd depend on wether she was using a weapon or not.
    The weapon is the deciding factor really and also how injured you may be yourself. I had got the girl who stabbed me pinned against the wall so that they couldn't stab me again. But I was losing blood so I had to act while I still had the strength or I'd have been killed.

The person was also clearly psychotic and there was no reasoning with them. It was also a completely unprovoked attack.