Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Google Earth (new meaning to the word 'map'

• 04-07-2005 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]Hey, check this out, you won't get any work done today! :)

http://earth.google.com/

It's fantastically accurate!
    [/font]

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

The shot slook good! Getting it now! :D Gonna be so addicted!

/edit: Get some strange errors and it terminates here. Poo! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Damn thats cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

That's scarily cool. I can go look up places I haven't been in for years!

I'm somewhere down here, now: http://members.boards.ie/simu/corcaigh.JPG

So incredibly cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

i havent downloaded this yet cos im at work so i'll do it again but there is another google site you can go to, its:

http://maps.google.com

its cool as well and no need to download anything, probably not as good as the earth.google.com link but still impressive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Pharcyde

If you like that, try Nasa's "World Wind"

You can d/l from download.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Apparently it doesn't need admin rights to install!
    (Had them anyway, woohoo!)

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

yeah, I had world wind for a while.. pretty good but you could only get extremely detailed maps for some american cities..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

Well this one has the US in detail (3D buildings, marked restraunts and B&Bs etc) and only parts of other worldwide cities (like northside dublin).

I got lost in this program last week and just as I started telling everybody they suspended the downloads. I'm not surprised since you're constantly downloading images from google servers.

You can bookmark places and when clicking on them, it zooms out and rotates the globe before zooming in again - very cool.

I found famous football stadiums (but not Anfield :(), the Hollywood sign, Aircraft carriers in the harbour of rio de janero, Japan's version of the eiffel tower, the eiffel tower. It's addictive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

can someone send this to me or something as Google have stopped allowing downloads? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Google Earth downloads temporarily delayed

Thanks for your interest in Google Earth, but we're sorry we can't offer you a download right now. As you know, Google Earth is in beta, and we're still building out our ability to take on new users. We're making good progress, and expect to be able to accept new downloads shortly, so we recommend you check back daily at earth.google.com. We hope to be able to welcome you and other new planet surfers soon.

We appreciate your patience,

The Google Earth Team

:(:(:(:(:(
    Same here. Can anyone send this on if poss. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

PM over here if anyone is kind enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

can someone pm the file to me too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

yeah PM me the file thingy or a link aswell pleassseeee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

JohnCleary wrote:
    can someone send this to me or something as Google have stopped allowing downloads? :(
    Same here. I tried this after the original posting and still haven't been able to get it since... PM?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

If people are sending this out please pm me too :)
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

Download here, will be taking it down a lil later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Downloads are back

Fair play to ya Mixie.
    Downloads down again.

Nice one Mixie! I'm downloading from you now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Just found my house :D This is cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Pity the detail gets so fuzzy when you zoom in on Ireland - must be all that poxy cloud cover... :rolleyes:

But check out somewhere sunny like the South of Spain, and it's scary how close you can get. I'm practically reading the reg plates on cars...! :D

P.S. Thanks for the download, Mixie, I'd only two days left on the trial of the Pro version...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Seriously cool software, found my gaff and work place ^_^

http://members.boards.ie/azezil/Meh%20gaff.jpg
    http://members.boards.ie/azezil/work.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

i cant seem to get the same quality detail as you azezil, any tips for better detail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Daelus

It's not working for me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Draupnir wrote:
    i cant seem to get the same quality detail as you azezil, any tips for better detail?

Not all locations have high-detail photos... yet.
    cregser wrote:
    I found famous football stadiums (but not Anfield)

53°26'5.97"N 2°57'49.91"W

Image quality for Liverpool is atrocious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

total class!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

Top class Google ..American citys, Paris and Area 51 are pretty cool..

On a serious note, what happened yesterday in London and Sept 11 they really are supplying a lot of details to the wrong sort of people, using the tilt function you could easily plan any sort of attack on a US city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Pretty cool alright. Had a look all over the world where I have been.

I especially like you flip the map sideways and in some cases turns the map into 3D contour map.
    using the tilt function you could easily plan any sort of attack on a US city.

Tilting is WMD?? Calm down there.

I saw a really cool similar software a while back by US military. It would map an area into 3D but then they would drop tiny sensors into the area (large numbers) which scan sounds are able to determine where shots are being fired from and map them to the 3D map. Handy for picking out snipers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

http://bbs.keyhole.com/ubb/ubbthreads.php

Go to a forum, pick a thread, and click the attachment - it'll automatically forward your Google Earth to a location. Think of it as a forum of bookmarks.

Nice shot of a plane just about to land at Dublin Airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Yeah I saw the plane landing at Dublin Airport. Very cool. For those you haven't seen it yet it's here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

I can see my house from up here!
    http://img238.imageshack.us/my.php?image=home21cm.jpg
    Not too bad at all. Pity there aren't more places covered with high resolution pics yet though.

One of the lads in work lives here...

...we can't make out what the hell the shiny thing is tho! Spooky eh??

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Feenikusu

Merzbach, my village...can't see our house, picture's resolution is not high enough.
    And Rheinbach, our town, I go to school there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

oneweb wrote:
    One of the lads in work lives here...

...we can't make out what the hell the shiny thing is tho! Spooky eh??

Saw that. Probably a top secret laser :p

Also saw a UFO. 55°38'26.06"N 13°00'54.53"E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

More to follow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

How up to date is it?

I dont know the official line but if you look at the Gasworks in Ringsend it is still a big empty shell as opposed to a ridiculously expensive hamster cage!

Why did they turn on to that bloody road!!!! Thats the grassy knool back and to the left...........back and to the left...........back and to the left...........back and to the left...........back and to the left...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭protos

ouch .................... my boss nearly cried when google bought keyhole, and the office has been in panic since - now our worst fears are realised.

We were just about to release a very similar product - except that it runs inside the browser. Took us three years and a lot of money to develop it - Demo here :

http://www.js3d.com

The demo only has map data for seattle, but the platform is miles ahead of google earth. No way of making money off it now though ...........

protos wrote:
    ouch .................... my boss nearly cried when google bought keyhole, and the office has been in panic since - now our worst fears are realised.

We were just about to release a very similar product - except that it runs inside the browser. Took us three years and a lot of money to develop it - Demo here :

http://www.js3d.com

The demo only has map data for seattle, but the platform is miles ahead of google earth. No way of making money off it now though ...........

Hey I checked that out...

Compare the spec info pages...
    http://desktop.google.com/download/earth/index.html
    and
    http://www.js3d.com/JetStreamPlatform-SystemRequirements.htm

They're both exactly the same!! My guess is that maybe Google bought the software from js3d?

It is what it's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭trap4

I collected GPS tracklogs for my tour of north Kerry a few days ago and plotted them on Google Earth including placemarks for Ballybunion Golf club and Ballyheigue beach. The cool thing is that this area is one of the few countryside areas of the country currently covered by high-res satellite photography so for much of the the virtual tours it almost feels like you're looking out the window of a plane down on the Irish landscape.

It was very interesting to compare the photo I took looking down onto Ballyheigue bay from Kerry head with the virtual rendering of the same view from Google Earth. I have to say I was amazed at how accurate it was. You can see the photos and download the virtual towns on my blog [1]

I would love to see more people generating virtual tours for other Irish locations!

[1] http://eirepreneur.blogs.com/eirepreneur/2005/07/ballybunion_and.html

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I spend a few hours with Google Earth last weekend, it is excellent.

2 questions:

- How up to date are the images?
    - What happens if you subscribe? Better image quality? More up to date images?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Oooh, I'm gonna have some fun with this tonight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

BossArky wrote:
    I spend a few hours with Google Earth last weekend, it is excellent.

2 questions:

- How up to date are the images?
    - What happens if you subscribe? Better image quality? More up to date images?

Downloaded this the other day, just looking at it now. Is great!! Can see my house and the caravan out the back!!

To answer your question about how old the images are, well I'd say 2 years old. I live near a petrol station and you can see it's only getting built in the pictures.

It's cool coz ya can look up where your cousins live in say america or australia. Looked up my old apartment in Chicago. It's there. :(

Amazing!