Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who wants my boards account ?

• 11-07-2001 9:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭

Well, in short, I think the karma situation at the moment is a joke - where we have some power hungry ppl giving it out loads, e.g bob the unlucky octopus etc. Seems to be some sort of in group game with all the mods.

So, I'm stopping using boards.ie, its no longer my homepage, and I won't be reading them again from after tonight.

I know its no big deal, but I've been here from the start, and I'll make my say with my feet, let the mods have thier fun. (At this point I just want to say that all of them are not idiots, ppl like hobbes etc have thier head screwed on)

And before you all start, its not because I'm not a mod etc etc, I never even asked, sounds too much like work. I even have +4 karma to my name! whoooo arn't I special ?

Heres my account details, first come can have it to do as they wise, 1000+ posts and +4 karma (don't ask)

username: bubbles (duh!)
    password: nokia

I'll be using other boards with no stupid ranking/karma system.

Its been mostly fun ! smile.gif
    hi
    -hacktavist

[This message has been edited by bubbles (edited 11-07-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭vac

Gah, although i do enjoy watching White****es (whitelancer's) karma go down i have to agree with Bubbles, its plain bent. I got -2 for posting a silly picture. Just i think there is too many power hungry fags that are doing it (not the person who took mine smile.gif )

Kill the Karma $hite its annoying..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

i totally disagree with the karma system also. it just annoys me and i want to pull the head off bob the unlucky octopus.. he gave me -1 karma on a board he doesn't moderate just because i disagreed with someone.

What is now was once only imagined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

/Nods at the point being made.
    /Shakes fist at admins

Despite the foolish moves being made by the admins etc, i wont be leaving that quick.

Who exactly had this bright idea of removing the number of posts, and introducing the karma system?
    Anyway, whoever it was, id like to tell you,
    YOU MADE A BOOBOO!

Aka: Dragon,Sexual Harassment Panda, SCUMM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭SickBoy

I'm with Bubbles on this one. Karma is a silly system. I won't be throwing in my account as it doesn't bother me as much as it obviously bothers Bubbles but there was nothing wrong with the last system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I think the problem lies with the fact mods are very vey easy to give out negative karma yet rarely give out positive. If this situation was to change to the extent karma was given out if they were very very bad or very very good it would be a nice way for karma to go.

Also note bubbles a/c has already been taken.

Also since some mods have done questionable acts of karma how about doing this.
    Give the admins the ability To give karma and nobody else, then if need be give admins who are very well trusted and respected by all(well nearly) eg. Hobbes, Monty, and Shinji. Also you will notice that while some mods are being questioned the older mods, which dev and cloud hand picked probably, are just fine like Blade and gerry and such. Also we are getting so many new boards that we need mods with spefic abilities for spefic boards, example Science board needed somebody like occy, because somebody else could be a "armchair Scientist".

I think that a lot of the mods are fine and trusted, however some are on a power trip. Example ltm got negative karma for posting pictures on the boards while at the same time occy was also doing it. Since a mod is doing it i dont see why a normal posted shouldnt.

Also on a final note, maybe one of the admins could keep bubbles a/c in "safe keeping" in case he wishes to return.

Gah 5th edit smile.gif
    Also might we be given a reason why we cant see the reason why karma has been given, since the whole point is to give a indication of the person -5 means nothing unless we can see why its been given.

[This message has been edited by PHB (edited 11-07-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Oh yeah

I like the karma system in prinicipal. But in practise it could never work. Points are assigned based on the opinions of the moderator relating to the merits of the posts.

These will vary from mod to mod, hence it is an unfair system. I haven't noticed problems enough to name particular mods, but there is no standard for a "good" post, so why try to pretend that there is? Why should the mods opinions matter more than those of the rest of the community?

On reflection and on the thought process evolved in writing the last paragraph, I think it is a terrible, terrible system. Why can't mods just post their opinions of a message in the same way as everyone else.

Some bright ****er's got a seriously over-inflated ego, methinks.

Of course, people are entitled to respect mods' opinions more than others if they choose, but the karma system gives the mods an unfair and baffling advantage in airing their opinions on specific users.

I can't even remember what useful purpose I thought it was intended to have.

That's a hell of an opinion change mid-post, eh?

Life is like a pyrotechnics display. You've got to stand back and let it happen, othwerwise you're are sincerely bollocked....

thegreensock.com

Can you feel the love?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭tarzan

i also do not agree with this karma rating. i've been around since the first board too.
    karma is being given out way too freely. if i make a comment putting someone down, even if its someone i know well and im joking around, theres a good chance that one of the moderators is gonna give me some negative karma for that. hardly the way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Yurmasyurda

What karma rating??? Someone explain, do you mean the way they are not showing post counts??

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

This karma debate has *just* erupted and Bubbles is jacking in his account?

I dont understand. wtf is the big deal?

We thought it would be a laugh, fairly innocuous.

If we are wrong, then engage in debate here.

Childish "I dont like it so I'm taking my ball home" melodrama doesnt sway me but I'm sad to see bubbles go. Thats his decision. I'm sorry but I cannot let it influence this debate in my head.

See its already an US and THEM situation. We "give in" on the karma issue (when I've been having second thoughts about it anyway) or we "stick to our guns" and "snub our noses" at user complaints (evidently!).

This sucks and I'm annoyed. I'll think more on this later.

DeVore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Personnally I don't really care about karma
    /me sees his l33t karma rating

Most people I've seen ranting about are ppl who more than likely deserved it (strange but true).

I don't its fair tho for moderators to give karma for boards outside their own and perhaps a fairer balance should be struck between negative & postive karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I'm still waiting for my negative Karma...
    I ordered it days ago, dammit rolleyes.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,543 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

This is a discussion board, why Karma why post count? both antagonise two sets of people, i'm a "crazy poster" let my foul mindbending thoughts pollute the innocent by devious methods involving letters and words.Most people here are smart enough to figure out i'm plotting to take over the world anyhow.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I agree with bubbs on this although scrapping in your account is a bit harsh, he is stating how strongly he feels on the matter.

His point about occy is also a valid one, occy seems to be beating the designated moderators on the counter-strike board in handing out bad karma, surely handing out karma points on the basis of post on the cs board should be the job of that boards admins.

-Dave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Lucy_la_morte

Is bubbles joking again? tongue.gif

It's just a tail, but I'm sort of attached to it.

Lucy la morte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

nope he is deadly serious. I talked to him in irc about the whole thing. And I can see his point.

I dont think he is right jacking in his account and I hope that its kept in case he does change his mind.

Essentially the Karma system isnt a bad one. In fact I would say its probably very effective. The problem isnt with the system. Its with the people in power over it.

Is it possible to set it up so that when one mod gives a karma point be it good or bad that it has to be ok'd by a second mod before coming into effect? Karma points imo shouldn't be handed out like popcorn at a fair so there shouldnt be that much an increase in work.

There needs to be checks and balances for the mods too. Just because they were awarded the position of authority shouldnt make them above the rules of the boards.

If the bottom falls out of your world, drink Andrews and the world will fall out of your bottom!!
    games?

[This message has been edited by SHADOW (edited 12-07-2001).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

It seems that a lot of people - some moderators included - haven't got the hang of the karma system.

Karma is not given to people for agreeing or disagreeing with moderators. You don't get bad karma for having an opinion contrary to that of the moderator.

If you flame another user in an insulting or uncalled for manner, or spam a board, or post useless and off-topic stuff to a thread in a way that ruins the topic of the thread in progress, or generally behave in an anti-social manner on the boards, you get negative karma for it.

If you post something really useful, or help out another user with a query, or help mediate in an argument or whatever, you get positive karma for it.

Where is the problem with this, exactly? People are having a right whinge about this giving moderators power that others don't have... well this may shock you guys, but as a moderator, I have the power to edit your posts, delete your posts, and even lock your topics. All this does is give me the ability to make a permanent mark on a users record to note that they disrupted the boards or helped out on the boards.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Constructive suggestions will be listened to on the "Karma" thread (I like that one Shadow).

Constructive, not destructive.
    Build, dont throw away.

DeVore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Yes Shadow has a point, i dunno how workable it going to be but it certainly is a good idea. As for bubbles jacking in his account, well I don't think he should. Repli in fairness you deserved some of that bad karma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭AI_inferno

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Repli:
    it just annoys me and i want to pull the head off bob the unlucky octopus.</font>

Possibly for stuff like that. Not you but I find that a lot of posters are unnecessarily agressive tbh. The karma thing isn't being used as some form of deterrent, maybe people get 12 clicked after too much bad karma? I reckon it's just a gentle warning to cop on type of thing...

I'm kinda for and against the viewing of karma reasons. It's good to know why you got it of course but maybe it might lead to spamming against the mod that awarded it. Show the reason but hide the mod name?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SHADOW

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by AI_inferno:
    Show the reason but hide the mod name?
    </font>

Nope. If the mod awarded the karma point they should be prepared to stand by their decision. If it leads to "spamming against the mod" (and I'm not really sure what you mean by that) then ban the person.

If the bottom falls out of your world, drink Andrews and the world will fall out of your bottom!!
    games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

/me changes his post to the Karma (Admin) thread.

-Dark-<Insert Random name>-

[This message has been edited by Dark-Angel (edited 12-07-2001).]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Bubbles sell the account on eBay! You'll make millions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭walt

i'm sorry to say that bob is a sad little man who likes to give negative karma...alot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">I think that a lot of the mods are fine and trusted, however some are on a power trip. Example ltm got negative karma for posting pictures on the boards while at the same time occy was also doing it. Since a mod is doing it i dont see why a normal posted shouldnt.</font>

Ltm got negative karma specifically for spamming the same "Wow, that's really interesting" picture all over the place, and on some threads several times, including threads that had been serious and on-topic to that point, if I'd ever seen occy go as over the top as that I'd have complained about him too. It seemed to work before in stopping him and one or two others plastering that bloody "lambar spaek" all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Jug-A-Lug

dont go bubbles frown.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

As with others here I dont really care either way. I dont see how the karma serves any purpose, nor to be honest, do I see how it would be 'a laugh' either. Maybe Im just getting old smile.gif

out of intrest how come some people dont have any karma display at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

anyone who gives up and account because of karma is pretty sad.
    and yep bubbles that includes you. not that you will see this anyway.
    like, get a life. its a bullitan board, not a life threatening illness.
    calm down people.

Your Imps Demand Cable...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

What he said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Wyverne

ahhhhhhhhhh Bubbs, please dont go........

thanks to this karma, i have been in fear of posting any more of my wonderful buffy pics
    frown.gif

ah well, i think that i might say what everyone is thinking, (or im going to say what I THINK everyone is thinking) and i think it would be good if someone said it aloud, (and if im off base then someone please tell me to shut up as i know ye all will :P

having post counts AS WELL as starting date was a great idea, because it basically said all u needed to know about that person......

lemme explain why... people who stay a long time at certain discussion boards (i.e bubbs, wwm, hobbes etc etc) like the idea that theres something that differentiates them from the bloody newbies, i.e a bigger post count, its like giving something back to them for being loyal and for having been around for so long,

having a larger post count pyschologically makes the person with that larger post count feel better, they feel they are getting something in return for being around for longer then others,

but wait....... theres more.....

having the post counts in conjunction with the starting date (or lack of one in the case of some of our more long term lads) also says somthing, because on the one hand you have hobbes, that great lad with 30000000000 posts hehe, BUT.. hes been here since god knows when, so he will be viewed differently to someone who has 30000000 posts but only started last year (u get me ?)

having this karma system, although meant to encourage good karma :-P is putting everyone on an equal footing, (and quite right u may think) but its not quite fair to have people who are here for 4+ years on the same +4 karma rating as someone whos been here for only a few months.....

i hope i explianed my point properly lads, (you two devore m8 seeing as you were asking for constructive rather than destructive)

now that i have explained myself, like i said, if i am wrong then please tell me where to go, if someone like hobbes / WWM who have been here for a while disagree with me then maybe my point is moot,

i just think that you have to reward more than a good post,

u might wanna keep the karma thing, but at least return the starting date maybe

i dont know, its just my two cents, and i doubt if anyone read this far anyway

cheers lads

PS: bubbs plz dont go m8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

sorry, what was your point?
    i feel better coz i have a bigger post count and ive been here longer?

ummmm, not too sure where your coming from mate?!
    but if its any help, im happy with the size of my penis smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

yep Wyverne, as WWMan already said, it sounds to me like your talking crap smile.gif

If you want to know that stuff then you go click on the members list at the bottom of the page.

When somebody has joined and how many posts they have does not give thier opinion or posts anymore weight than someone with 1 post who joined 5 minutes ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Wyverne

sigh.......

like i said just my 2 cents and if i am wrong plz point it out to me, as you have done

my heartfelt thanx

mumblec0ckmumblesuckers :-P

Joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Mills

Mods and admins are exempt from the whole karma thing smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

What does karma do? Do you gain anything from having a good karma rating? do you loose anything from having a bad one? I dont understand what difference any of this rating can make. Personally I couldn't give two fooks whether some muppet in some backend of nowhere cybercafe kr00 thinks im sound or a fookwit tbh. Who are these people and why are they on my d!ck?

_ _ _ _ _________ _ _ _ _
    <A HREF="http://homepage.eircom.net/~cullenm&quot; TARGET=_blank>
    sig.jpg
    </A>
    http://run.to/pile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Wyverne:

having a larger post count pyschologically makes the person with that larger post count feel better, they feel they are getting something in return for being around for longer then others,
    </font>

I think there's an element of truth here that a few people "doth protest too much" about. If post count or time on the boards isn't important to those people then do a Bubbles and jack in your account and get a new one.

As if.

Lunacy Abounds! GLminesweeper RO><ORS!
    "Boxes for show, Baskets for a pro" - [FCA]SyxPak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by WhiteWashMan:
    ummmm, not too sure where your coming from mate?!
    but if its any help, im happy with the size of my penis smile.gif
    </font>

hahahaahhaa
    pld.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by FreaK_BrutheR:
    Well i wouldn't jack in my account but this has got nothing to do with my postt count or status or whatever. Ive just been FreaK_BrutheR since way back, spelt the same way with same caps and underscore and all so i donbt particularly wanna change that like.
    </font>

Valid point. We get use to our nicks. But FreaK_Bruther would look very similar.

To me the measure of someone being a regular poster that's been around for a while and knows the ropes is someone with an average to high post count over the space of a year or so.

Lunacy Abounds! GLminesweeper RO><ORS!
    "Boxes for show, Baskets for a pro" - [FCA]SyxPak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭FreaK_BrutheR

Well i wouldn't jack in my account but this has got nothing to do with my postt count or status or whatever. Ive just been FreaK_BrutheR since way back, spelt the same way with same caps and underscore and all so i donbt particularly wanna change that like.

_ _ _ _ _________ _ _ _ _
    <A HREF="http://homepage.eircom.net/~cullenm&quot; TARGET=_blank>
    sig.jpg
    </A>
    http://run.to/pile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Pantsness Is all I have to say smile.gif

John