Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW 530d

• 01-07-2005 12:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭

Hey All,

I'm thinking about buying a BMW 530d, does anyone know what the difference is between the 530d, 530d SE and 530d Sport.

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

Different trim levels. No difference to the engine, great little car for a runabout. 530d is 530d, the more letters after this means more extras as with all cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭DukeDredd

kluivert wrote:
    great little car for a runabout.

Holy crap! If you consider a 530d small, what is a normal size car?! :D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

DukeDredd wrote:
    Holy crap! If you consider a 530d small, what is a normal size car?! :D
    5L V10 507bhp M5 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

The SE model seems to be the best, as I think it comes with leather seats and air con.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

5L V10 507bhp M5

aren't they near enough the same size?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

kbannon wrote:
    5L V10 507bhp M5

ah yes, thats a nippy little car

aren't they near enough the same size?
    530d:-
    3L straight 6/24valve
    218bhp @ 4,000rpm
    500Nm @ 2,000rpm

M5:-
    5L V10 V10/40valve
    507bhp @ 7,750rpm
    520Nm @ 6,100rpm

Methinks they are slightly different!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

kbannon wrote:
    530d:-
    3L straight 6/24valve
    218bhp @ 4,000rpm
    500Nm @ 2,000rpm

M5:-
    5L V10 V10/40valve
    507bhp @ 7,750rpm
    520Nm @ 6,100rpm

Methinks they are slightly different!

aye, I know that bit! I meant in terms of dimensions.

Interesting how they are on a par with torque. Would be interesting to see which would be quicker in a hillclimb.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

aye, I know that bit! I meant in terms of dimesions.

Interesting how they are on a par with torque. Would be interesting to see which would be quicker in a hillclimb.
    I believe the new 535d engine (same one as the 530d but with two turbos) kicks out more torque than the current M5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

jamieh wrote:
    Hey All,

I'm thinking about buying a BMW 530d, does anyone know what the difference is between the 530d, 530d SE and 530d Sport.

Cheers!
    Are you talking new or second-hand?
    FWIW BMW brought a new 3.0 diesel engine about 18 months / two years ago. My understanding is that the older one was a lot more "agricultural".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

I was going to recommend my old BMW (cared for like a baby) but I see it was sold on June 27th last :rolleyes:

http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=252624

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

I'm going for a new one.

I rang a few garages today and I think I'll go for the sport model. Seemingly it has an "M aerodymanic package", sports seats, sports suspension, side skirts, 19' alloys, etc!

Thanks for the help!

Unfortunatly an M5 is a bit outta my league.....beast of a car!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

jamieh wrote:
    I'm going for a new one

If I were you I'd sure consider getting a 535d instead. It's only a few grand more but the engine is something else. More torque than a M5. And of course it won the best engine of the year 2005 in it's class:

Summary of the IEOTY winners for 2005
    For the overall award and eleven individual categories:

International Engine of the Year
    BMW 5.0-liter V10 (M5, M6)

Best Performance Engine

Best New Engine

Best Above 4.0-liter

Best 3.0-liter to 4.0-liter
    BMW 3.2-liter (M3)

Best 2.5-liter to 3.0-liter
    BMW 3.0-liter Twin-Turbodiesel (535d - European model)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

Do people still buy new cars in July - seems crazy - but I guess if that's the car you are going for a few thousand extra depreciation is not a bother ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭navi_5445

Don't think we have the SE here, that's a UK spec level.

Edit: Above applied to used (E39) models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭kermit_ie

Haven't BMW stopped differentiating between the UK and here as regards trim levels?

BMW Ireland is owned by BMW UK.
    There is a SE spec on the 5 series (see www.bmw.ie)

Just going back to the figures for the E60 M5 - apparently the car is factory restricted and with the cap off it reaches well over 600bhp and presumably the torque figs rise also!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭$lash

What new 5series models come with an LSD?

I don't know but I think it may only be the V10!

edit: looking @ the M5 brochure - it has a 'variable M diff lock' (as well as other electronic gadgets so I presume it isn't a standard lsd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

kbannon wrote:
    Just going back to the figures for the E60 M5 - apparently the car is factory restricted and with the cap off it reaches well over 600bhp and presumably the torque figs rise also!

Holy bejaysis :eek: :D

That would make it a strong contender for fastest production saloon car ever. We are talking well over 320 km/h here. Anybody been there, seen that, done that? Any linkies kbannon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭528i

You sure you're not talking about the Alpina B5, Killian ?

I know there's whispers about the 'stock' output of that v10 being in the region of 530bhp, with the 507 figure merely commemorating a previous models history etc. but I reckon 600bhp is either salesman talk or a mixup with the (previously verified) Alpina V8 which was restricted due to powertrain snapping torqueadellic concerns :eek:

naw - the standard S65 engine untouched by tuners.
    See http://www.m5board.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=55355 for example.
    There are plenty of rumours that the M6 may be coughing out 612bhp and it uses the same engine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭528i

I'd say they're just that, rumours. Hard to see where 100bhp could come from with just a chip/air filter/exhaust mod on a normally aspirated engine- unless your from cruiseirl.com (then its entirely possible, from a fiesta even) :)

At least the Alpina (or something like an AMG) have forced induction which can be uprated/modified for large gains relatively easily. That V10 is incidentally down quite a bit on mid-range torque over the outgoing M5, no problem if you shift down afew cogs I suppose, but theres something endearing about a big lazy V8 that just lunges forwards in any gear rather than all this dizzy 11million rpm craic. Having said that, once the e60 comes down to a more manageable price range secondhand I'll probably jump at one.

Expect a dozen 528i aliases on m5board.com spouting 'guys my new M5 just blew its engine/g.box/[insert hugely expensive item here] to knock a further 10k off those prices :D

That is only one source that I was able to find.
    The belief is that the engine is detuned and normally about 600bhp. However it is restricted by the ECU and if chipped by BMW or another source it can release the ponies held back by the electronics.
    Furthermore, I don't subscribe to the view that the engine was released on full output. As with most manufacturers there is always a decent reserve (ok - not usually 100bhp!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Truth wins

jamieh wrote: »
    Hey All,

Cheers!

Go for 530D SE. Thats what I have after taking test drives of all other models. Its like a rocket and you will love the interiors and the overall experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Msport trim has harder suspension along with run flats that can make for a hard if sport ride. The SE is more comfortable but doesnt have the sports seats, steering wheel or body trim. Either is good. The best extra is under to bonnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Truth wins wrote: »
    Go for 530D SE. Thats what I have after taking test drives of all other models. Its like a rocket and you will love the interiors and the overall experience

I would guess it's been bought,used and traded buy now......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I'm pretty sure the OP has bought one and even sold it already since this thread is from 6 years ago :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

And Closed! :D seriously though six year old thread lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Wtf?! 6 year old thread!

Use the report button if you notice it lads!