Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Won !!!!!!!

• 01-07-2005 5:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭

Just got back from the fitz 270 there. 5-way split at the end with all 5 getting about 4000.

First time I make the money in a big tournament and I fcukin win the thing! Cant believe I got 4 grand..... :D

was 2nd in chips with 130,000, with chip leader 145,000 and shortstack 85,000. blinds were 5000/10000 and we were getting nowhere. Final table was going for about 3 hours.

was 6am so we decided to split the 20,000 5 ways.
    prize structure was

1st 9,400
    2nd 4,600
    3rd 2,500
    4th 1,500
    5th 1,300

good deal?

couldnt care less, I came out with 4G in my hand

Knew I was gonna do well in this one

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Jesus , well done RoryC! Thats some result.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Good job rory, hope to make some trips there in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

roryc wrote:
    good deal?

No, you gave up about €750 in equity. The chip leader gave up over 1k.

Edited to add very well done by the way, but thats not imaginary money, I know its easy to say well im four grand better off, but you gave up 1/5 of your true winnings. When the deal is offered all you have to say is both yourself and the big stack should get maybe 6 or 7 100 more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Great result Rory well done, you were motoring along when I went out, how did Marq finish up?

I've never been so card dead in my life, I won't go into it now but that was by far the most frustrating night of cards I've ever had. The fact that I didn't have a single decision to make all night says a lot.

Congratulations again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Well done great win. Whats the story when you win like that do they just give you a great big dirty wedge of cash or do they put it in your account or what?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Well done Rory! Had feeling you were going to get something last night, but to split it is a wonderful result! As you saw, like Iago I was card dead myself apart from my cowboys right at the start, and I knew the bald chap would catch something when I saw his AJ vs. my tens at the end of my night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Well done great win. Whats the story when you win like that do they just give you a great big dirty wedge of cash or do they put it in your account or what?.

A big wedge. Great feeling (although I never got 4K).

Well done Roryc. Great result. Must be on some high today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Great Stuff Rory, an upgrade on the car already, well played.

Nothing happened for me at all, card dead, ran into a nut flush when it was time to make a stand. Should have stuck with the roulette wheel !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Great win Rory, well done.
    Disaster night for me again after yet another bad beat. Don't know how much more of them I can take this year, it just amazes me how some people play the game.
    Anyone know how a guy from Northern Ireland in a white t-shirt finished? He was playing on table 3 seat 5 with just under 50 players left. This guy was just amazing. The first I saw of him was when I got moved and he re-raised all-in for around 20k from the BB with J7 off suit to a solid player's early position raise. Raiser had KK for a total of around 6k and took the pot. After that the NI guy went all-in 5 hands in a row. The fifth time Big Dragon called for all but nearly 1k of his chips in the BB with 10K and flopped the nut straight with a flop of 9JQ rainbow. However the NI guy got runner runner diamonds for the nut flush with his all-in raise with A7 diamonds. After that he quietened down for a couple of hands and limped in early position with blinds at 500/1000. With one other caller I raised to 3,500 with AK. Big Dragon goes all-in for 900 for the value and the NI guy then goes all-in again for around 12k. I decide to call for a total of 11,500 as I was pretty sure I was ahead. NI guy turns over Q8 spades and hits a Q on the flop. Once again great play is rewarded with a very nice pot at a crucial stage of the tournament. Anyone know where he finished?

Remember to invest in a massive spoiler and exhaust combo for the new speedster! The higher and more outrageous the spoiler = the cooler you will look and feel cruising down O'Connell Street. And get those go-faster stripes we talked about last night - adds 17.547% to your max speed at least, guaranteed*!

*this is not a guarantee

Could the NI guy be described as 'follicly challenged'? If so he also knocked out biteme and, well, plain old me. His knocking out of biteme was particularly cringe-inducing! If we're talking about the same guy I really hope he didn't make the money...I'm just a bitter bastard I suppose.

Great win Rory, well done.

After that the NI guy went all-in 5 hands in a row. Anyone know where he finished?

How could someone be so wreckless in a big game. Did the guy seem like he didnt care or did he believe he was doing good things?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

As I said to Paddy Hicks the other day, it's great to see good players get good money. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

ionapaul wrote:
    Could the NI guy be described as 'follicly challenged'? If so he also knocked out biteme and, well, plain old me. His knocking out of biteme was particularly cringe-inducing! If we're talking about the same guy I really hope he didn't make the money...I'm just a bitter bastard I suppose.

Hehe, that was the start to my wonderful night. I went on to have fun in the cash game where I couldn't hit any of the monster draws I had. Things like Ad Td jc 9s on a Kd Qd 6h board, where I totally miss everything. And then I miss completely with 9h th on a 8h 7d 4h board when the other guy has like A8.

Those hands felt worse than the QQ in the tourny. That bald guy didn't seem to really know what he was doing at the start of the tourny. When I sat down beside him he was talking to his mate about cetain hands and stuff which relayed he wasn't to clued in.

btw well done Rory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

How could someone be so wreckless in a big game. Did the guy seem like he didnt care or did he believe he was doing good things?.

This guy looked like he wanted out (into the cash game or something). I had decided that if I had anything on the BB of 1k with 8k in the tank I was going to take a 50/50 shot as I really needed a tank to start building a stack to play with.

I hit the nut straight on the flop and it got longer with an 8 on the turn. However as said by DrC he hit the nut flush.

His all-in was a terrible play on the next hand after DrC had raised pre-flop and DrC read him correctly. Sometimes good play is rewarded by stupifing numpties but sometimes the numpties win (DrC's play, not mine. I was the numpty with the KT)

Well done RoryC. Great play.

Good to play with Iago again but we were both card dead on a tough table and I think we both stayed alive with agrresive bluffing only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

ionapaul wrote:

He was chip leader at the end..... :D

roryc wrote:
    What a fnukin' injustice...

BigDragon wrote:
    I had decided that if I had anything on the BB of 1k with 8k in the tank I was going to take a 50/50 shot

I hit the nut straight on the flop and it got longer with an 8 on the turn. However as said by DrC he hit the nut flush.

I would have done the same.
    And to flop a straight and then lose the pot must have made it a bitter pill to swallow. Ul there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

roryc wrote:

you should be in bed, or at least sipping champagne somewhere (although maybe you are, maybe you're doing both in fact)

Was that the guy with the green t-shirt, from NI? He had a big result at the Cavendish recently, I heard him and his mate talking about it, seems he's making a lot of money from poker over the last 6 months or so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

No that's not the guy. The guy from NI with the green t-shirt wasn't folically challenged. I was at his table briefly and any play I saw from him was good and solid.
    Was the folically challenged guy from NI also wearing glasses? If so I was also on his table, he got moved to table 3 seat 9 with around 60 players left. I wasn't involved in any hands with him but any hands he played seemed to be of respectable standard and didn't seem to be that bad of a player. The other guy that was in seat 5 took the biscuit though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Brilliant result Rory, well done. It's no coincidence that the times you go in really confident are the times you perform really well.

Interesting about the NI guy. So far all the guys from the north that play in Dublin have been of a really high standard.

Hard luck to all the other regulars, but there's not a lot you can do against idiots who keep hitting, or dead cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Well done Rory, thats a fantastic result! Nice to see those tickets go to good use ;)

Your equity in that situation isn't as bad as HJ makes out in the above. Based on your info provided there must have been somewhere in region of 109 runners, assuming a deal was made whereby all of the final table got a grand and its was paid to 18 at 450 each? That would leave just under 550k chips in play so I have made the assumption that 3rd and 4th in your example had and even split of the remaining 187k. Based on those numbers your only gave up around €266 in equity.
    	Money     Chips	 Equity
    1st	 €9,400 	145000	 €4,528 
    2nd	 €4,600 	130000	 €4,266 
    3rd	 €2,500 	93500	 €3,562 
    4th	 €1,500 	93500	 €3,562 
    5th	 €1,300 	85000	 €3,383 

Pool	 €27,350 		
    Players	 109 		
    Chips	 547,000 	(187000	unaccounted for)

Couldn't make it myself last night, I love playing this tourney and have had good success in the past but goddam jive keeps arising making me miss out. Roll on the Festival for a Boards assault on the €385 Omaha Freezeout and the €500 double chance!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Who were the other four involved in the split?
    Any regulars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭pokertroll

Very well done Rory - I've played with you twice now and you truly are a great player. Congratulations!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

cheers lads.

didnt get much sleep! still on a bit of a high. gonna go out and piss away some of it 2nite in town...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

roryc wrote:
    cheers lads.

didnt get much sleep! still on a bit of a high. gonna go out and piss away some of it 2nite in town...

told u to play that ticket. spend it unwisely. i was out so early i didnt even get a free dinner. drove my trips straight into a full house. have a good one, d.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

nice one rory, well done

btw, what was that jibe u made earlier yesterday about me "splitting" it last month? (not that i ever would)

and who else made the final table?

got flushed out myself, and as usual got all my chips in when i was ahead but at least i didn't have to buy in so i played with a clear conscience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Congrats Rory, well done!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Nice result Rory....its allways nice to see a northsider do well:D