Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Import Air Rifle?

• 29-06-2005 10:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

hey do any a ye lads no if i can order an air rifle
    from america over the internet.
    is it legal or what and do i have to have a gun
    licanse to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

You'd need a firearms cert and an import licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 boxer

i e-mailed the website asking them would they
    send it and they said they would so what do you think
    the chances are of it getting to me

And whoever corrected me in the title area of my first thread
    Thanks!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭daithi

Customs will nab it on you, thats what they are there for. its illegal too, I recon you could be done for smuggling arms. de law is de law

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jaycee

I wouldn't try it .. !

The customs will nab it .. :eek:
    The Gardaí will Nab you.. :eek:

You may be charged with attemped illegal arms importation :eek: , lose what you have spent on the air-rifle :eek: , be fined, :eek:
    and possibly locked up. :eek:

You will then have a massive black mark next to your "Pulse" ID number,
    which will probably spell the end of your shooting career... for good. :(

All in all ... a very bad idea !

ok i better not try that so its just i found
    an unreal japaniese made air rifle on an american
    websit which is powerd at 15lb/s and shoots .22 pellets at 800fps
    and its only $130. in my opinion thats savage.its called the xs-b21 and
    i dont think they sell it in europe. so theirs definatly no way i can
    get it. is their any irish websites that have air rifles on them.
    i dont have an air rifle but i really want to get one. whats a good one
    for vermin and that which i can get for under 300euro.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

You do realise you need a rifle licence for an airgun?

ya i no, il get one as soon as i am ready to to get the air rifle.
    i already went to get one but i decided not to until i no im about to get the gun.
    were in ireland can i get a good air rifle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Erm.................. you won't get a licence until AFTER you've done a deal on a specific gun, and can go to your local Gardai with the details of that gun- make, serial number, calibre.

Pretty much any gun dealer will have airguns in stock, both new and second-hand. Prices range from around €100 or so for servicable used guns, up to whatever your bank manager is willing to let you get away with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jaycee

boxer wrote:
    were in ireland can i get a good air rifle.

A Gunshop..?

jaycee wrote:
    A Gunshop..?

id kinda be thinking that gunshops would be
    dear but i suppose were else would i get one.
    ya i must go to a gun shop.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭Redrocket

try getting some spelling and punctuation lessons before filling out the licence application form

boxer wrote:
    ya i must go to a gun shop.
    Afraid so :(

Because airguns are classified as 'firearms' in this country, you won't find them in hardware/toy shops as is quite common in other places.
    That's also why you don't see them for sale through the usual 'classified ads' routes people use for selling off their unwanted stuff.

ya understood it didnt ya ,thats good enough for me
    just cause you probably got them doesnt mean i do.
    ya no where ya can shuv your lessons.

rovi they do/did sell the air rifles in fishing shops
    in britain i think.

boxer wrote:
    <snip>

rovi they do/did sell the air rifles in fishing shops
    in britain i think.
    Airsoft and airguns under a certain power level are freely available over the counter in the U.K., witness the various threads here about the airgun 'problem' there.
    The situation here is unlikely to change any time soon, particularly when we have reports from Northern Ireland of firemen and 2 year old children getting shot with air powered weapons :mad:

ps.-
    Just a bit of friendly advice- go easy on the 'robust' language, lest a Moderator decides to invoke the Forum Charter.