Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayfair

• 28-06-2005 3:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭

Is anyone going to the 30euro freezout at the mayfiar tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

thanks to evening shifts, count me out...Boo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I won't either, only got back from U2 at 1am last night and am shattered today, walked for over 3 1/2 hours yesterday in total and for some reason it really took it out of me! I need sleep...need to be fresh and up for the €270 game on Thursday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Im going!
    Are you affiliated to the club Bigun or do you just play there or both?. The tournie is good craic i hear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bigun

Im going!
    Are you affiliated to the club Bigun or do you just play there or both?. The tournie is good craic i hear?

I just play there but a mate works there.

yeah it is a bit of craic and usually some good banter with the dealers.

And the club puts money to the pot depending on how many turns up so its good value.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I was going to ask the same thing, as most of your posts are about it. I've no problem with people supporting their favourite club (hell... we even let Pokertroll in here :p:p) but don't let me find out that you work there on the sly or there will be spankings.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

DeVore wrote:
    I but don't let me find out that you work there on the sly or there will be spankings. DeV.

Spanking eh..?

I wish I worked there...

*ahem*not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

Bigun wrote:
    I just play there but a mate works there.

yeah it is a bit of craic and usually some good banter with the dealers.

And the club puts money to the pot depending on how many turns up so its good value.

well was there many there last night?....

i was thinking of heading in myself but wasnt sure i'd be able to get parking around Harcourt street.....is there anywhere to park around there?

jobless wrote:
    well was there many there last night?....

i was thinking of heading in myself but wasnt sure i'd be able to get parking around Harcourt street.....is there anywhere to park around there?

There was about 17 or 18 last night. I came 3rd :) 1st €270 2nd 120 3rd €60. It was very well run with dealers,new tables,new chips,digital blind clock offered drinks 3 times etc.
    I have to admit i was pleased when the grumpy yank got knocked out late on. He was one of those "thats just a call.dealer he just threw in a 500 chip but didnt announce raise so thats just a call" blokes(imo leave that to the dealer to say or else just go with the flo). I heard his wife on the other table a few times..."well in America this" ..."well in America that". She got knocked out early shortly after her pocket aces made trips on the river only to make another guys straight. The winner played a fine game.
    I got parking on York St(just beside stephens green halfway between stephens green shopping centre and Harcourt St. You should get parking if you just mosey around a bit.

I have to admit i was pleased when the grumpy yank got knocked out late on. He was one of those "thats just a call.dealer he just threw in a 500 chip but didnt announce raise so thats just a call" blokes(imo leave that to the dealer to say or else just go with the flo). I heard his wife on the other table a few times..."well in America this" ..."well in America that".

Yeah this pair were a real pain in the ass.

you will be pleased to know that after getting knocked out first :confused: i played in the cash game and took just over 100 euro off him in one hand when i pulled a poker on the flop and slow played it untill he was all in.
    He got up and left.

Although his wife did take one guy for about 250 euro and then she told him what his tells were just to piss him off. and your right she was giving it all that ..."well in America this" ..."well in America that crap, at one stage she wanted to "chop the blinds" even the dealer had to ask what the **** she was on about. she said that if the hand is folded around to the small blind that the blinds can be pulled back in? has anyone ever heard of this?

Bigun wrote:
    Yeah this pair were a real pain in the ass.

you will be pleased to know that after getting knocked out first :confused: i played in the cash game and took just over 100 euro off him in one hand when i pulled a poker on the flop and slow played it untill he was all in.
    He got up and left.

Although his wife did take one guy for about 250 euro and then she told him what his tells were just to piss him off. and your right she was giving it all that ..."well in America this" ..."well in America that crap, at one stage she wanted to "chop the blinds" even the dealer had to ask what the **** she was on about. she said that if the hand is folded around to the small blind that the blinds can be pulled back in? has anyone ever heard of this?

Nice pot im delighted to hear it and equally sorry about his wifes win. The wife was so feckin sure of herself. Thats sick about her telling a guy about his tells. At the break she was at pains explaining to the husband the whole story of her aces being cracked and her proper play .."i kept pumping, he kept calling ya know". Did you spot the yank as soon as the prizepool was read out. He was bug eyed as he tried to do the math in his head. His wife was over after being ko'd and he was still doing the math in his head seeing was it a fair deal no doubt ..."honey no no listen.. when you were over on that table how many players were there, were there more than 9".
    What was the hand that you went out on Bigun?(if you want to recount of course). I asked a few fellas were they Bigun but no answer i didnt notice you first out anyway. I said hello to Karlh from boards there. I wonder was there much other boards fellas there.

I didn't so much as go out on a big hand as dwindle away to nothing.
    i only got three hands to play with, pocket aces ( i bet 200 and everyone folded) then i was bb had 4 2o and nobody raised so we saw the flop and 42k came to give me two pair, i bet 200 and someone went all in for a further 450 so i called and he had k6 so a pair of kings versus two pair and a 3 and a 5 came to give the other guy a low straight. after this i had about 500 left and went all in with AK and got called by pocket 8s and lost.

I was in table 2 seat 2, the big guy with a black leather jacket and glasses.

You sound like you had a good time, will you be going back?

Bigun wrote:
    I didn't so much as go out on a big hand as dwindle away to nothing.
    i only got three hands to play with, pocket aces ( i bet 200 and everyone folded) then i was bb had 4 2o and nobody raised so we saw the flop and 42k came to give me two pair, i bet 200 and someone went all in for a further 450 so i called and he had k6 so a pair of kings versus two pair and a 3 and a 5 came to give the other guy a low straight. after this i had about 500 left and went all in with AK and got called by pocket 8s and lost.

I was in table 2 seat 2, the big guy with a black leather jacket and glasses.

You sound like you had a good time, will you be going back?

I got moved to table 2 after 30mins maybe you were gone at this stage but i cant place you. I was in seat 9 or 10 nearest the dealers right so your position might have been blocked from me by him. Yeah i was impressed with the place and i will be coming back from time to time, i'll also play the fitz sunday f.o. ocasionally.
    Looking back its the charachters like the Americans that help make a night even if you are a little vexed at the time. If theres no charachters then the night is less memorable. Its like the worst parts of holidays are remembered fondly after time!.