Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tickets for Dublin vs Laois

• 28-06-2005 2:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭

I know that tickets for the Leinster SFC final are not on sale yet but i have been told you can "reserve" tickets with your credit card on a certain GAA website.
    Can anyone tell me where this is (if it exists and i'm not being spoofed)

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 lor_25

Hey,

You used to be able to buy them with your credit card on gaa.ie in the tickets section and then collect them from their office in town but now the link in there just directs you to the ticketmaster website....

You can still buy them on the ticketmaster site with your credit card though, just not sure how many are being allocated that way....

Lor (",)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭madmorphy

Tickets were on sale from the leinster council since last monday,whether there's any left from their allocation at this stage i don't know.If not you'll have to wait for ticketmaster next week maybe,then from your club and finally the back of the cusack on the thursday before the match !

Try first
    CROKE PARK - SUNDAY,17TH JULY 2005
    Bank of Ireland Leinster S.F.C. Final - Laois v Dublin (3.30pm) & Leinster Minor Football Final (1.45pm)

Ticket Prices:-

GENERAL
    Stand Tickets (Hogan, Cusack, Canal) - €30
    Hill 16 - €20

Tickets will be on sale from
    (a) the participating County Boards
    (b) Leinster Council Offices, Mountmellick Road, Portlaoise by either sending a cheque/postal order
    and a S.A.E. and tickets will be sent out in the post. OR by Credit Card (0502) 82000 (there is a €2 administration
    charge on all credit card transactions)
    (c) Ticketmaster

FAMILY TICKETS:-
    1 Adult and 2 children etc.
    Adult - €30; Children - €5 (Cusack & Canal Only)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

The best bet to get tickets for any dublin game is to buy them through your club because they sell out really fast. The leinster council tickets are well gone. Ticketmaster only get a very small allocation. How it works is each county board asks for a certain amount of tickets most of these being issued through your local club. Whatever tickets are left will be divided between ticket master and will also be available at croker on the thurs before the game.

As this is a final both counties will ask for a huge allocation of tickets so very few will be available on ticketmaster and in croker.

Clubs allocation of tickets doesnt go out until the 6th of july so imply go to your local club and put your name down for a ticket and your almost guaranteed to get your self one. Always go through your local club its by far the best and easiest way to get a ticket. Alos your local club receives a small percentage of every ticket it sells so your also supporting local GAA.

Hope you get a ticket to see the Dubs win Leinster :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

You can get tickets off the ticketmaster site a week or two before the match and they'll post them up to you or from croke park the week of the match, failing that there are tcket offices in the usual places on match day, assuming there are tickets left... I doubt it will sell out, if it does then the Dublin bandwagon is really in motion! The population of Laois is only 60,000 and believe it or not they're not ALL into football! :rolleyes: If it was Kiladre who made it to the final youu could sing for a ticket! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

it will sell out.

Laois v Dub senior. Hell, the dubs will fill Crokers themselves.

Offaly v Laois/Dublin minor.

Two grudge games in Croker. It will be a sell out.

Tickets are out Wednesday. Rumour mill had it that all lower tier stand tickets were gone a week after the semi_finals were played.

/me hopes for good seats. :)

Up Laois :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I agree with Kaim, it will definitely sell out.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

If absolutley no Laois fans whatsoever turn up to this game it is still a 100% guarantee sell out!!

You will be one lucky person if you manage to get a ticket outside croker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭stevemac

I have my ticket :)

stevemac wrote:
    I have my ticket :)

I have 5 tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

Sell out a certainty and i would doubt if any appear on ticketmaster.

I have booked my tickets in for the hill through my local GAA Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭stevemac

did ye see the paper yesterday? might have being the sun. where they said the clubs where to vet who they gave the tickets to because of some bad behavior there the last day

stevemac wrote:
    did ye see the paper yesterday? might have being the sun. where they said the clubs where to vet who they gave the tickets to because of some bad behavior there the last day

completely untrue. Its the Sun making up rubbish again to sell papers. Clubs dont know who caused teh trouble last time and it was a very small amount of people. Theres way you can work this and its a complete lie. If you booked a ticket through your club you will get.

There might be a very small amount on ticketmaster but I have my doubts

Only 2 people where thrown out of croker in the semi.

One was for running on the pitch when jayo scored.

the other was at half time for climbing up on the scoreboard in the nally stand.

nothing serious at all.

The Sun newspaper must be the worse paper ever created known to man.

The print anything that will sell a paper.

I feel they employee paper to think up of rubbish to write about just to sell an extra few copies.
    stevemac wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭VERYinterested

Get on line fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

nice one!! thanks very much for the heads up. I got 4 lower tier canal end tickets!!

thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Seemingly only 1500 tickets are left???

Danno wrote:
    Seemingly only 1500 tickets are left???

Not any more !
    From HILL16.ie :

Ticket info: NO public sale of tickets for Leinster SFC final

The Dublin County Board is unfortunately NOT in a position to sell tickets to the public for the Leinster football finals on Sunday, July 17.

The County Board find themselves in the unenviable position of trying to deliver a ‘loaves and fishes’ ticket miracle as the demand from clubs alone far outstrips their ticket allocation from the Leinster Council.

Dublin’s allocation of 20,000 tickets (plus 500 family tickets) falls a long way shy of the massive 35,000 tickets the clubs combined have requested. With past and present players plus Parnell Park scheme holders also to be facilitated the County Board appreciates that there are going to be frustrated fans.

If there are returns from other counties information will be posted on the website. Ticketmaster have also, controversially, being selling tickets through their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

A few will always turn up closer to the day. I have not got mine yet, but I have it promised, so I will be fine. Meanwhile I will be going to Croke Park for the Ulster Final. That should be good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I wonder if any Dub has ever queued for up to 6 hours in line to get a ticket for a final match?

Or is it only me.

I have queued for similar lenghts of time on numerous occassion I am afraid.

There were some big queues in 2002 of which I was a part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭laoisfan

kaimera wrote:
    Offaly v Laois/Dublin minor.

offaly versus laois.
    laois minors beat dublin minors yesterday evening, Laois 3-08 Dublin 1-07.

--laoisfan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

im sick and tired of hearing most people say laois will win leinster against dublin.

most people are going by the two teams performances in the double headers against kildare and wexford.sure laois thrashed kildare and wexford gave dublin a run for their money but look at it this way.

laois were lucky to beat offaly a few weeks ago when dublin beat offaly (convincingly in the league).Kildare are not a great side and have been in decline the last 3 years while wexford have upped their game.

dublin have prepared for the leinster final better than laois have by playing two friendlies while laois have sticked to their normal training routine.i have a feeling dublin will win this sunday.its still a fifty-fifty.i just dont think that people should be doubting the dubs.laois can have their off days too but both teams have been on fire thus far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Kav28

Yeah Blackbelt your spot on! Laois' preperation for games's are completely wrong, sure look at their performance in their last game.

Dublin's prepaeration is so much better, i hear there thinking about bringing back Barney Rock now!

blackbelt wrote:
    im sick and tired of hearing most people say laois will win leinster against dublin.

ahhhhhh poor widdle u...... ;)
    laois were lucky to beat offaly a few weeks ago when dublin beat offaly (convincingly in the league).Kildare are not a great side and have been in decline the last 3 years while wexford have upped their game.

lucky to beat offaly? yes. just a reminder that offaly had something like 18 or 19 wides in that game.

btw it is not really a fair comparison...league-v-championship. different teams have different priorities regarding both.
    dublin have prepared for the leinster final better than laois have by playing two friendlies while laois have sticked to their normal training routine.

so they have play 2 matches more....?????
    .....laois can have their off days too...

that is true.....i think it you look at the remaining teams in the championship it would be fair to say that all of them have had at least one off day?

i still do not get your ranting though? sure dublin could win? so too could laois. i reckon it will be a tight match, only a point or two between them. i would not be surprised even to see a draw. the gaa would love that.

best of luck to dublin. come on laois (both seniors and minors)!!

--laoisfan

Kav28 wrote:
    Yeah Blackbelt your spot on! Laois' preperation for games's are completely wrong, sure look at their performance in their last game.

Dublin's prepaeration is so much better, i hear there thinking about bringing back Barney Rock now!

:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

i never said laois preperation was wrong.i just think playing friendlies against other teams is better preperation.

as far as the rant goes....im defending dublin against criticism and doubts by their own supporters in particular.all my friends think laois will defo win.why?....because they are favorites?

Dublin all the way.Good luck to both teams

I would not have either team as favourites for this one. I think this match is wide open and I am really looking forward to it.

Waylander wrote:
    I would not have either team as favourites for this one. I think this match is wide open and I am really looking forward to it.

I have to agree with Waylander this match is way too tight to call. I think people are reading way too much into the previous games that both teams played. Yeah Laois were very good against a poor Kildare side(they are now out) but they were poor themselves against a poor Offaly side.

Dublin have not exactly set the world alight so far but they have been digging out results and are showing a true passion which has been lacking in previous campaigns.

This match really can go either way but I think Dublin have it in them to win if they play to their true potential.

On another note yes thats true that no tickets will be going on general sale through the Dublin couty board. there are too many people from clubs looking for tickets. I have to say that im pretty annoyed that ticketmaster got an allocation of tickets no matter how small it was. The tickets should be sold through the clubs first and then and only then should ticketmaster get tickets. Its how its done in soccer that club members get tickets and its the right way to do it. Also I think an allocation of 20,000 to Dublin in a stadium that holds 80,000 is an absolute joke. They should have gotten at least 30,000 and so should Laois.
    laosfan wrote:
    i would not be surprised even to see a draw. the gaa would love that.

This is the last thing the GAA want as the date for the Ulster replay clashes with the date set out for the DUblin v Laois replay should it be a draw. This would lead to one of the games not having a stadium to play in. Ulster board cannot afford to wait until after sundays game because they need to start making arrangements and printing tickets etc. This would be an absolute disaster for the GAA should it be a draw. Makes you think why the hell did they put the games down to be played on the same day

Well it blows another hole in the theory that referees play for a draw. Draws happen without any intervention from the referee. I doubt we will have a draw on Sunday, and not because of a fixtures bottleneck. If it happens, it happens. I just feel we will get a winner from this one, hopefully Dublin! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 NoNamesLeft

I have to say i'm very annoyed about the ticket situation i find myself in...

I've been to all of Dulbin's Championship games so far and i went to ALL of Dublin's home games in the league in Parnell this year and all of a sudden i can't get my hands on a ticket.

I had applied to a local club for a ticket but they didn't get the number that they wanted, so i'm left in a pickle to find myself (a real fan) tickets for Sundays game.

The GAA need to sort out their ticket allocation scheme cos it sucks big time.
    The real fans can't get a ticket while corporate holders get theirs when they wouldn't know one end of a gaelic field to the other...

Rant over. Here's hoping i find one outside on Sunday

I have to say i'm very annoyed about the ticket situation i find myself in...

I've been to all of Dulbin's Championship games so far and i went to ALL of Dublin's home games in the league in Parnell this year and all of a sudden i can't get my hands on a ticket.

I had applied to a local club for a ticket but they didn't get the number that they wanted, so i'm left in a pickle to find myself (a real fan) tickets for Sundays game.

The GAA need to sort out their ticket allocation scheme cos it sucks big time.
    The real fans can't get a ticket while corporate holders get theirs when they wouldn't know one end of a gaelic field to the other...

This is exactly what I was talking about. Dublin only got an allocation of 20,000 tickets out of a stadium that holds over 80,000. I presume Laois got the same allocation so where the hell did the other 40,000 tickets go?

Ticketmaster should not be give any tickets what so ever until every club member that has applied for tickets gets them. Thats the only fair way to do it. Why they are doing it this way is beyond me because you get the stupid people who suddenly become dub fans just because they are in the final. If you applied for tickets for all previous games through your local club you should be guaranteed a ticket. Its just ridiculous. I did manage to get a ticket through my club but I was one of the lucky ones many people who have gone to every game didnt get a ticket.

By teh way there NoNamesLeft if you go all home league games why didnt you but a season ticket to parnell park and that way you ARE guaranteed a ticket to the championship games. It would a lot more sense if you did it that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

blackbelt wrote:
    .why?....because they are favorites?

Dublin all the way.Good luck to both teams

Dublin are favourites they are 10-11 with Paddy Power, Laois are 6-5!

I think Laois will win simply because they are the better football team IMHO!

I think there is nothing in between these two teams, the game is wide open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Kingp35 wrote:
    This is exactly what I was talking about. Dublin only got an allocation of 20,000 tickets out of a stadium that holds over 80,000. I presume Laois got the same allocation so where the hell did the other 40,000 tickets go?
    Laois get slightly more as they are also in the minor. I think I read 29k in the indo. all the other counties in Leinster also get an allocation and i'm sure the other provinces get a few too. The indo article also said that the majority of people who bought off Ticketmaster were dubs (or kildare/meath/wicklow - probably dubs).

I understand what you're saying about the real fans getting tickets but there is always this issue when it's a sell-out. Ticketmaster having tickets is the real problem here imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 NoNamesLeft

Thats a good point Kingp35, but i work in shannon, co. clare and have to travel up to all the games, whcich i don't mind doing but i think becoming a parnell park member would make it easier but then i have no way of collecting the tickets the weekdays before the games. it's a major problem.

As you said where did the other 40,000 tickets dissappear to, it's supposed to be a sell out!!! who got them if it wasn't the fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Only 1,500 went to Ticketmaster, which is feck all in the scheme of things.

The problem was that the Leinster Council sold almost 20,000 tickets on their credit card line shortly after the semis. They thought there was no chance of a sell-out so they put no restriciton on the number of tickets to be sold in this manner until it was too late. It meant that Dublin clubs got far less than they wanted and were expecting. They reckon (by cr. card address I presume) that about 12k of these 20k went to Dubs (but there would be mostly non-club members rather than club members) with 7k or 8k going to Laois.

The allocation of the 82,500 tickets was as follows (in thousands):

Dublin 22.5
    Laois 7.5
    Offaly 1
    Rest of Leinster 10 (most of these ending up in Laois apparently)
    Leinster Council sales 19.5
    Corporates/premiums 10.5
    Ticketmaster 1.5
    Other outlets 1.5
    Players 0.5
    County board group passes 8

The Rooster wrote :
    The problem was that the Leinster Council sold almost 20,000 tickets on their credit card line shortly after the semis. They thought there was no chance of a sell-out so they put no restriciton on the number of tickets to be sold in this manner until it was too late.

12,000 of these tickets went to dublin addresses,i got 4 myself.Personally i don't think it was right that there was no limit on the no. of tickets you could buy,i just chanced my arm the day after the wexford game cos i have a season ticket anyway.
    I'd say alot of these tickets will go to genuine dubs though,because i doubt the bandwagoners would have known about the leinster council tickets till they were all gone.
    Of the 4 i got 3 went to club members today,who didn't get tickets in their own clubs last night,i presume this will be happening a fair bit !.

Well I have mine, a lower Cusack Stand one. The weather could be good on Sunday so I may come home with a red face, like I did the last time I sat there when Dublin were playing. In fact all the red was on one side of my face! :) As long as Dublin win, I don't care.