Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Hurling's Back!!!!!

• 25-06-2005 2:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭

The dub's are back hurling again!!!! What a win for the minor's against kilkenny and the u-21's are in the final as well.

Surely this mean's the future is bright once again for dublin hurling. This minor team especially could go all the way.

Two great win's in one week. Now all we need is a minor football win on wednesday over Laois and revenge for the last 2 year's!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Not to mention Kilmacud Croke's win in the Feile.

Dublin underage hurlign on the up. Definitely a good thing! Hurling needs a new shot of life.

Unfortunately (from the dubs point of view) we will hammer the seniors next Saturday in Walsh Park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

The Leinster Minor Final will see two teams seeking their first titles since 1983 (Dublin) and 1985 (Wexford)

based on the semi-finals Dublin should do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Screwdriver

It's great to see Dublin doing well. A new team is badly needed. The structures are in place and they are getting results.

It will take about 5 years of hard work for Dublin to challenge the likes of Wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

I have been in close contact with this minor side over the year and i have confidence in their ability to go all the way.

Hopefully this will help lead to an upturn of the competiveness of hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I think that it is very important for Dublin to retain their Liam mcCarthy cup status to progress, as one of the biggest problems they have might be retention of these young players! Just out of interest how many players are on both the Dublin minor hurling and football panels?

It is just a shame that Wexford will beat the Dublin minors in the final :p

There are 10 players who are on both panels.

Unfortunately the majority of the better players on the hurlers also play football so there will be a big battle to keep them hurling.

And wexford fluked a draw in the round robin stage against the dubs so let's just wait and see who emergse victorious on sunday!!!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Maynooth

Yeah fair play for beating Kilkenny.....to beat a team like Cork or Kilkenny or Tipp would be amazing. Go on the minors :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

A great win for Dublin. Let's not stop there. Niall Quinn was on the last team that won the Leinster minor hurling championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Niall Quinn - feck thats a long time ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

calling all dubs, calling all dubs, get yer arses out there and support the minors on Sunday! The minor game is often more entertaining then the senior, but if the senior is anything like last year it'll be a cracker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭DUB

As far as i know 5 of the hurling panel are in the football panel for the delayed football final. I could be wrong. Winning Leinster witht he hurlers might convince them to stick at it! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

After tonights showing in Walsh Park Dublin still have a long long way to go. No scores for about 50 mins! Waterford's biggest opponent tonight was the weather!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 JJPW

I think that it is great that dublin hurling is getting better at underage. I just hope it can continue to the seniors so as to have more than 3 teams going for leinster.

However I think that Wexford will beat dublin tomorrow!
    Come on the yellowbellies!

That win with Niall Quinn as part of the team was in 1983. It is good that they are making some efforts and having some success again. There are some other good things happening, so despite the result in Walsh Park, there is a lot to be positive about in Dublin hurling. Up the Dubs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Final score: Dublin 0-17 v 0-12 Wexford

So Dublin minors are Leinster champions. The future really does look bright for Dublin and judging from the seniors pathetic performances the sooner we can start bringing these players into the seniors the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

It is just a shame that Wexford will beat the Dublin minors in the final
    ha.

it was an interesting enough game. the senior was very good i thought. i don't know how important a win in the minor is to the overall picture of dublin hurling.

pity there weren't a few more ppl there to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

I feckin missed cos i was in stupid galway, and i haven't seen some of them lads play in over a year. dammit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

As a Wexford man I would like to say well done to Dublin, you thoroughly deserved your win and I hope you go on to greater success.

The thing that puzzles and disturbs me however is the goodwill that most GAA fans have suddenly started to show towards Dublin hurling over the last week or so.

Why?

The majority of the fans in the other 31 counties claim to hate the Dublin football team calling them arrogant etc. Which they are not by the way - there are far more arrogant counties out there. Westmeath, Offaly, Cork and Meath to name just four.

So why the current change of heart towards the hurlers? After all they're Dubs too.

I speak as someone who has always viewed this anti-Dublin sentiment as highly hypocritical and wholly immature behaviour.

The goodwill is because Dublin have not had much success in modern times in Hurling. Our last Leinster Senior Title was back in 1961. Any animosity is not towards Dublin, but towards Dublin football, because they are doing well. The Kerry Hurlers or Kilkenny Footballers would get a lot of goodwill in the same way. Anyway, well done to Dublin. It was great to be there to witness it.

Well said there Flukey.

Great win for the lads and throughly deserved. I heard a good night was had by all!!

The two midfielders and the centre-back won it for the dubs as they dominated the play.

The sooner tehy start moving up to senior ranks the better. I hear johnny McCaffrey is already on the 21's.

Now all that's left is to finish the job and win the All-Ireland!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    As a Wexford man I would like to say well done to Dublin, you thoroughly deserved your win and I hope you go on to greater success.

The thing that puzzles and disturbs me however is the goodwill that most GAA fans have suddenly started to show towards Dublin hurling over the last week or so.

Why?

The majority of the fans in the other 31 counties claim to hate the Dublin football team calling them arrogant etc. Which they are not by the way - there are far more arrogant counties out there. Westmeath, Offaly, Cork and Meath to name just four.

So why the current change of heart towards the hurlers? After all they're Dubs too.

I speak as someone who has always viewed this anti-Dublin sentiment as highly hypocritical and wholly immature behaviour.
    I'm hopeing they'll become a first class team. They'll never beat cork though! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

a excellent read here. good article which explains while Dublin underage hurling is on a high it may not translate to senior sucess as it might in big ball

http://www.kilkennycats.com/outsider.shtml

Excellent article, and sadly the same story could be written for the Lovely County Of Laois.

I feel though, that if Dublin succeeds in hurling over the next few years, then it will pre-empt a much needed "jab in the arm" for hurling across the rest of Ireland...