Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Few questions bout the fitz

• 24-06-2005 8:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭

I want to start playing live games since I play online it is boring without the interaction i think.

I am 18 so i dont think it should be a problem to sign up if i was to go in.

Now the questions:

1. I read here before something about tipping dealers (I know to tip the waiters/waitresses). Is it in real money games or tournaments aswell? By real money i mean just normal tables u can walk up to?
    2. I need to know about transport. If i got on a dart from bray where would i get off to be the closest to the Fitz? Dont want to walk to far cause i dont want the chance of being robbed.
    3. Is there anything else i should know about when going and when being there?
    4. Are the thursday tournies to a 270€ entry tournament?
    5. Also just wondering what do they mean by smart casual dress? I dont go around in Burberry wearing caps and stuff but want to know what they mean by this. Like I wear the odd tracksuit bottoms so i just want to know.

Cheers for any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

colin300 wrote:
    1. I read here before something about tipping dealers (I know to tip the waiters/waitresses). Is it in real money games or tournaments aswell? By real money i mean just normal tables u can walk up to?
    You tip dealers a euro (usually) after winning a decent pot. Some people don't tip if the pot is less than €10. I've tipped up to €5 for a €300 pot, depends on the person though.
    Tournament tips are (again usually) given by the players who finish in the top 3 places, depending how big the prizes are. 3%-5% I think was the general consensus in a previous thread.
    Don't just walk up to an empty seat at a cash game tables. Go to the poker desk and get whoever is there to let you know what games are on, and if you can get a seat.
    colin300 wrote:
    2. I need to know about transport. If i got on a dart from bray where would i get off to be the closest to the Fitz? Dont want to walk to far cause i dont want the chance of being robbed.
    Pearse St station is a 10-15 min walk. It's a decent area though around Govt buildings and Merrion Sq.
    colin300 wrote:
    4. Are the thursday tournies to a 270€ entry tournament?
    Every last thursday of the month is the big game. Every thursday has freerolls, to win a ticket to the big game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭colin300

Thanks for that.
    I edited the post just before u posted so maybe u could answer number 5.
    5. Also just wondering what do they mean by smart casual dress? I dont go around in Burberry wearing caps and stuff but want to know what they mean by this. Like I wear the odd tracksuit bottoms so i just want to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

There is a close Dart station - Grand Canal is before Pearse Street and is only a 5 min walk up to the Fitz. I wouldn't worry about any clothing choice, I have seen people in suites and people in PJ's! :D

And Mr Pudding went in drag once. It was a Tuesday, and that's 'fancy day' for Pudding.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

colin300 wrote:
    Dont want to walk to far cause i dont want the chance of being robbed.

If you are worried about your safety why dont you head in on a Saturday or Sunday afternoon.Just relax and have a good time the Fitz is very newbie friendly and most of the Riff Raff are in Vegas for the next few weeks so thats one less thing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

The one thing you should remember is that all the casinos/card clubs around need to get people in, thats how they make money. Every club I have been in from Cork to Galway to Dublin are all very welcoming. I wouldn't worry about it. The last thing they will be concerned about is your attire.
    Just don't talk to the painted man with the red armband, he's bad news.

I wouldn't be overly concerned with getting robbed either, it is the southside don't ya know :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Yea I would be more concerned about getting robbed on the INSIDE of the club...:D

lol

well thanks for all the info.
    I think i might just have to make an appearance then cause i do like the game.

Is there anything i should know about gameplay in general cause as u can imagine it is probably very different from the way i know to play without even calling what i am doing just betting. :confused:

What limits/tournaments do you play online?

I dont play too high stakes on the net. I play some of the 1$ and 2$ ones the odd $10 ones. nothing major as i dont like adding money to the account. :D

Ye aswell just so i know the ones on sunday and thursday on the website dont give and entry fee so i am guessing freerolls???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Freerolls .. €10 rebuys