Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another example of celebrities totally out of touch with reality...

• 24-06-2005 1:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/4618227.stm

It was "one of the most humiliating moments of her life".

The bit in the article which catches my attention: The hugely successful TV star unsuccessfully tried to access the store after closing time.

What the **** is wrong with these people? They really really believe they are entitled to whatever they want, whenever they want.

This kind of **** totally sickens me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

boo ****ing hoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

Aww bless. Poor little rich girl couldnt buy another house full of clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Some of them really are stuck up p*icks aren't they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

Says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

goddamn celebrities think they run the world :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

It's doubly ironic when you consider she's always tries to portray herself as a 'one of the girls' kinda woman. The soccer mom who'd rather be at home cooking apple pies, minding the kids and reading romance novels in time for the book club meeting.

Of course, you'd need to be thick not to see thru her ... but then she has billions so she must be fooling somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"Stupid bitch tries to access store after hours, gets refused".

This is news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

Pigman II wrote:
    It's doubly ironic when you consider she's always tries to portray herself as a 'one of the girls' kinda woman. The soccer mom who'd rather be at home cooking apple pies, minding the kids and reading romance novels in time for the book club meeting.

Of course, you'd need to be thick not to see thru her ... but then she has billions so she must be fooling somebody.

americans :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

i just read a different slant on this story in todays paper, i read that she was refused entry as the security mistook her for a shop lifter. anyway, i would say that the owner is hopping mad as he would have made some money im sure on sales with her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

If they didn't exist, who would we vent our futile rage on/ laugh at on the internet?

I'd like to imagine it would be politicians but I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Actually, after reading it properly, it appears it was closed to the general public, but there was a private shopping event for luminaries or something going on.

It appears they refused her access on grounds of race, or rather it's implied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Shabadu wrote:
    Actually, after reading it properly, it appears it was closed to the general public, but there was a private shopping event for luminaries or something going on.

It appears they refused her access on grounds of race, or rather it's implied.

It was closed for a private party which she was not invited to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Yup.. There is some complete idiots out there.

Shame really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Daelus

Why do celebrities expect to be treated like Gods while actual important people, like doctors, don't get any special treatment? At least, I don't think they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Daelus wrote:
    Why do celebrities expect to be treated like Gods while actual important people, like doctors, don't get any special treatment? At least, I don't think they do.

Start a doctor appreciation thread:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Little Goose

simu wrote:
    Start a doctor appreciation thread:)

Lets not! Doctors think they're the bees knees but they are just snotty and arrogant and the majority think they are God! - Don't get me started!!

Oprah is a spoiled brat though...

*whinge* "I'm NEVER shopping there again! They wouldn't let me in when they were closed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

It makes me sick when I see sh!t like that, this illusion celebs have that their lives are more important then everyone elses. Fair play to them for being loaded but they can spend thier money (or try to in this case) without letting the world know.

Altough i can see where she is coming from.....I like to shop in Tescos late in the evening when its less likely i'll be hassled for an autograph. I also employ an army of umpa-lumpas to carry me around like ants carrying a large object.(they have a great turning circle)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ms Beanbag

Theres a totally differen version of events here....
    http://entertainment.msn.com/movies/hotgossipb

Anyone who thinks Oprah W. could be spoiled should perhaps read her biography... very humbling indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭airetam_storm

Yet the public are the real culprits 'making' them into celebs. Well not so much for Oprah but just about all 'hit' music and *ugh*.....big brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

wtf is wrong with the presley girl on the left?
    http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41227000/jpg/_41227901_winfrey_ap203.jpg

face like a melted haloween mask

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Daelus

Down with this sort of thing! :p

We should all just be indifferent towards these celebrities until they implode in a shower of: "Do you know who I am!?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

weemcd wrote:
    wtf is wrong with the presley girl on the left?
    http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41227000/jpg/_41227901_winfrey_ap203.jpg

face like a melted haloween mask

she belongs in The House of Wax

Freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

This is a disgrace. I'm boycotting Hermes.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Ms Beanbag wrote:

Anyone who thinks Oprah W. could be spoiled should perhaps read her biography... very humbling indeed.
    I think I'll stick to the BBC since they have a better reputation and are a wee bit closer. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

the one thing i hate about celebrity's is that when they enter a shop, they order the staff to tell all the customer's to get the fcuk out and then close the place so that they can shop in peace.
    Just because they have money.

Like you see it on celebrity big spenders.

Im sure they would be imposed with a bill of the losses for telling all the customers to go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

personally, i feel sorrier for the fools who have nothing better to do than be outraged by the actions of others.

i mean, you obviously have little in your own life to amuse you if someones wealth means they are a target for your scathing remarks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

celebrities have no talent. they just get lucky and somehow manage to get power for no conceivable reason! like was sed above, if a doctor requested something like that, u might hav respect becaues its a doctor. but oprah talks to people on a sofa. her job is to talk to people on a sofa! how anyone can respect her for not havin proper job is beyond me! and dont get me started on soccer palyers! its not a job, its a sport, a game!

oh ye and that presley one on the left is prescilla! thats the ma in case u dont know! she was in the naked gun films. and who sez plastic surgery makes u look better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Of Course, ya don't get what you want, play the racist card.

There'll defo be a drop in sales at Hermes stores. Remember when she made the comment about Beef and loadsa people went off it.

People see her as a god-like figure over there, well women and gay peole anyway.

Although I was surprised how a lot of people in 'the business' i.e. News reporters don't like her. One dude I worked with in particular, had a real disliking to her. (And he was black by the way, Oprah before you say anything!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Saturnine

**** her the useless talentless C.U.N.T and her ****ing book reports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭The General

dublindude wrote:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/4618227.stm

It was "one of the most humiliating moments of her life".

The bit in the article which catches my attention: The hugely successful TV star unsuccessfully tried to access the store after closing time.

What the **** is wrong with these people? They really really believe they are entitled to whatever they want, whenever they want.

This kind of **** totally sickens me.

but sure if they go in during the day they get fu(ked lashed out of it by people looking for autographs etc, if i had a shop id let most in cos you know there gonna spend big :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

personally, i feel sorrier for the fools who have nothing better to do than be outraged by the actions of others.

i mean, you obviously have little in your own life to amuse you if someones wealth means they are a target for your scathing remarks.

I'm seeing something ironic in the above post. Tenuous (sp?) but it's there......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Does anybody else look at the typical middle class 'homemakers' in an average Oprah audience and just want to puke? They're so unbelievably fake and pretentious. At least a springer audience is an honest bunch of yahoo hicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Ms Beanbag wrote:

Well it still says she was trying to get into the shop when it was closed...!

WhiteWashMan: you really are a bitter fool... None of us have any issues with her money (fair play to her), we have issues with her crazy ego. You really don't like people, do you?

dublindude wrote:
    Well it still says she was trying to get into the shop when it was closed...!

WhiteWashMan: you really are a bitter fool... None of us have any issues with her money (fair play to her), we have issues with her crazy ego. You really don't like people, do you?

bitter?

im not the one running around slating people.

just because the things she does are in the limelight, and the stupid things you do go unnoticved, does not mean she is stupider than you.

as for not liking people. i give people the respect i think they deserve.
    i dont think you deserve any to be honest.

im not sure who you people are trying to convinve, others, or yourselves.
    perhaps you need a little more self validation in your life?

I'm seeing something ironic in the above post. Tenuous (sp?) but it's there......

its a thread based on being passremarkable.

not exactly ironic.

think about it eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

She looked like a local well known shop lifter and was told that they have had troubles with Africans so she couldn't come in. I wouldn't be too chuffed about that one either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Im with WWM, big deal what she thinks/what way she acts, let her on, nothin got to do with me.

I fail to see what the big deal is here, anyone care to share?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

Beacause they made racist remarks against her ColHol and refused her entry based on her race.