Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miriam O'Callaghan Show

• 22-06-2005 8:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭

Meant to be going to watch it in the audience tonight in RTE.

Any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Hasn't started yet. You can tell us how it goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

I saw an ad for the summer line up on RTE this morning! It looks pretty good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Telefís

They're outtakes Limerick Man from when she was on The Panel six months ago :)

I'm interested in seeing how this programme goes - unusual to have such a competent presenter get a new show like this, even if it is a filler.
    Unlike 'Kennedy' a few years back, or 'The Saturday Show' with Bibi (I so shouldn't be remembering these...), this one may have a little more than just girly fluff on it it - though the fact it's pre-recorded is a bit of a shame, increasingly happening for RTÉ summer output.

Out of interest Akula, can you check what studio it's in tonight - 1 or 4, I don't want to have to wait another month to find out!
    Which one is used is always a very good indicator as to how seriously RTÉ take a new show :)

though the fact it's pre-recorded is a bit of a shame

I don't know I think pre-recorded shows are better. I could not understand why RTE and TV3 both insist on having live friday and saturday night chat shows.

Its cheaper to make pre-recorded shows. and you don't have to have presenter worrying what day they there on.

Sigh, I know, I know - just live is always more fun for the viewer :), especially as we're all so used to live shows with RTÉ, that when they're recorded they feel rather dead.
    Perhaps it will wear off with time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

I think live is better, hell remember that time Corrie did a show 'live', loads of people tuned in just to see!

TV3 usually have live output, in most of their shows people can text in... it adds to the programme, only really RTÉ want pre recorded shows!

The Panel ROCKS

Also recorded :)

Wouldn't it be interesting to hold a text poll on RTÉ News (just once and once only :)), with exactly the same question as TV3 are posing on the same evening, and compare the results?

No doubt it would offer a fascinating (if somewhat predictable) insight into the audiences of the respective stations.

TV3 usually have live output, in most of their shows people can text in... it adds to the programme, only really RTÉ want pre recorded shows!

The News and Ireland AM should be live. Is sports tonight live?

The Offside show was live as it was interactive.
    Sigh, I know, I know - just live is always more fun for the viewer

One of the reasons the panel stopped being live. :D
    hell remember that time Corrie did a show 'live'

Yes I think that that was just because ER had done it.

Went off without a hitch by all accounts - was very impressed, hence also disappointed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

what calibre of guests are on ? z-list coronation street stars as on the late late ?
    when does it start showing ?
    ¬_¬

Well it cann't be as bad a Coulter & Co. :(
    Went off without a hitch by all accounts - was very impressed, hence also disappointed
    So who did she have on?
    what was the format of the show?
    And where you happy to be there?

Sorry, I wasn't there Elmo - that statement was referring to the live Coronation St a while back :D

Though I echo your questions, where are you Akula?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭father_ted9t9

TV3 News, TV3 Sports Tonight, The Offside Show, Most of the time the political party and Ireland AM Are all Live

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

so are we.
    right now.

As is The Late Late Show, Prime Time, Questions & Answers, RTÉ News, RTÉ Weather, Crimecall, the odd The Week in Politics, The Afternoon Show, Den 2, ID/Café, You're A Star, Lotto, RTÉ Sport.....

RTÉ is live television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭-Al-

pitty it wasnt interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭shacko

How oldis miriam

35-37ish?

Anyone see the promos that began airing last night?
    The set is abominable - its looks like Kenny Live from 1988, with crappy low-arched walls that conveniently cover large expanses of studio on the cheap.
    And Miriam looks like she's just downed a case of Ribena she's so hyper - not looking good so far...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭Ray777

Believe it or not, Miriam O'Callaghan is 45. She also has seven kids :eek:

She's the best asset RTÉ have. Clearly being groomed as the next presenter of the Late Late Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Ray777 wrote:
    Believe it or not, Miriam O'Callaghan is 45. She also has seven kids :eek:

45? Jaysus, she's one hot 45 year old woman, then! She'd give women half her age a run for their money! Definite MILF! ;):D

45?!
    Fippin heck indeed!! I was reluctant to put her even as 40 as in 35-40!

Yes she has kids coming out her ears - at least her age makes a little more sense in that department.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Wheels

I seen the promo tonight during Haughey and just rewound it to watch them again and my god the set is hidious. When she stands up beside her seats you can see the bloody strings holding it up, and it looks like blue tinted tinfoil or sweet wrappers are stuck onto it. Whats the deal with the two little chairs sitting at the end of thise huge runway? They look like they were found in a skip and left there in case she gets tired and needs to sit down. Who on earth is paid to design such a hidious and cheap looking thing like that?

Wheels wrote:
    They look like they were found in a skip and left there in case she gets tired and needs to sit down.

lol :D

You'd be surprised at how true that may well be - if you look at Fair City, the 60s silver metal light switches in the shop have clearly been recycled from a refurbishment somewhere in the Television Centre :eek:

Yes the sweet wrapper comparison wraps (:D) it up perfectly - it looks like some yoke a group of junior infants stuck together in their Friday art afternoon, only they would've been more inventive in their use of glitter and PVA glue.
    And it makes for the most boring, sleep-inducing, not to mention ghastly backdrop for the standard mid-shot of guests. I can only imagine what it's like watching DJ Carey for 18 minutes with nothing but that blank flat behind him.

There aren't even any illuminated elements in the whole set! And from the single shot of the performance area, it would seem to be recycled from another show - a typical RTÉ practice.

Fair City, the 60s silver metal light switches in the shop have clearly been recycled from a refurbishment

Is this not to give the impression that the shop building is an old building?

I am guessing that DJ Carey is on the show. Why do the interview sports people, they are generally the guests on a chat show. IMO.

So is she any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Downtime

Went to it the other night and thought it was excellent. It was week 3 of six.

Guests were:
    Donal Macintyre - undercover BBC investigative reporter
    Jason Byrne - hilarious
    Glen Hansard form the Frames - who was superb and very moving when he spoke of Mick Christopher and his early days.

I was unsure of the show before I went but I am going to be sure to watch it now. Miriam was excellent. The only bit if the whole night that annoyed me was that fool Neil Delmare who was sent out to warm up the audience and I think 5 people left.

Really?! Heheheh....

Shall be watching tonight too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The first airing tonight was not too bad. A bit different from what we usually expect from her, but she did well enough. Simple, straight-forward guests to ease her in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Downtime wrote:
    The only bit if the whole night that annoyed me was that fool Neil Delmare who was sent out to warm up the audience and I think 5 people left.
    Neil Delamare is one of the most unfunny comedians ever. He was consistantly unfunny on "The Panel", where he kept trying to ply his brutal Stira-Folding-Attic-Stairs joke. He gives Fiona Looney a run for her money in the lack of talent stakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Mangler

I watched that show on Sat with Miriam O'Callaghan, It was priceless
    it was so bad I just couldnt tear myself away from it, she looked like
    a witch, all she was missing on stage was the cauldren. the set looked
    like santas grotto from Switzers, and yer man DJ Carey was like Dougal
    McGuire, I was waiting for him to say something like ... "I am hungry now"
    Classis car crash TV , you cant make that stuff up. BRILLIANTLY BAD

well done LADS !! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Downtime

OFDM wrote:
    Neil Delamare is one of the most unfunny comedians ever. He was consistantly unfunny on "The Panel", where he kept trying to ply his brutal Stira-Folding-Attic-Stairs joke. He gives Fiona Looney a run for her money in the lack of talent stakes.

Woo Hoo - glad I am not alone.

II watched that show on Sat with Miriam O'Callaghan, It was priceless
    it was so bad I just couldnt tear myself away from it, she looked like
    a witch, all she was missing on stage was the cauldren. the set looked
    like santas grotto from Switzers, and yer man DJ Carey was like Dougal
    McGuire, I was waiting for him to say something like ... "I am hungry now"
    Classis car crash TV , you cant make that stuff up. BRILLIANTLY BAD

First bad report I have heard so far. Didn't see it myself. Was hoping that it would be quite good. My mam seem to think she was good except for the stupid grin on her face.

She (My Mam) said that DJ carey was quite good, which is surprising since most sports stars are the worst interviewees.

But then this is summer fare so wasn't expecting much. I will watch it next week. Is it repeated?

Donal Macintyre - undercover BBC investigative reporter
    Edit: I hate Donal McIntyre god that TV3 show is just so boring. I amn't interested in the scumbags of Liverpool.

Can't agree with all you say Mangler - the show was by and large very good.
    But as with so much of Irish television, you really have to ditch the objective outsider point of view, and view it in a more parochial way in which case the programme was very good :D

Miriam is as crass as the day as long, we all accept that, and the set really beggars belief in its crappiness, not least the performance area.

But Miriam simply as a person talking to another was quite excellent - she hung onto every word the guests had to say, listening intently, and came up with relevant follow up questions. She also came across as a really lovely nice person, though admittedly her to-camera deliverance needs some work - rather steely and autocue-rattle-off-like, in line with her Prime Time persona.

The guests also seemed much at ease with her, and the audience seemed to like her a lot.
    It's very much so evident that she's not used to a studio audience - she keeps referring to them, and to the guests about how much 'they' like you etc.
    And any time they applaud she grins from ear to ear, esp at the start - charming more than anything else though :)
    Pat would be way more professional than that!

The set is an abomination - from the design, to materials, to size, to the strings holding it up, to the black background cyclorama curtain blatently evident wrapping around the studio - just ghastly, a disgrace on the part of the national broadcaster.

Excellent performance from Miriam though, just what I expected of her - she's a really nice 'people person' and it shows.

A Late Late contender.

It is also to the best of my knowledge the first ever RTÉ studio production to be shot in 16:9 - it is broadcast in 14:9 letterbox on terrestrial.
    This is a huge step. I suspect the Late Late's Studio 4 will be fitted out for widescreen by Sept - along with all of RTÉ's studios.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭shuushh

why is miriam o'callaghan crass as the day is long ?

dj carey is a bumbling fool id say he was decked out in one his v-neck jumpers was he ? great sports player but jasus hes not exactly PR gold

Nope - for once he was wearing a 'classic ensemble' of white shirt and black suit - eh, apparently...:)

As for Miriam being crass - well she's hardly Ms Subtlety herself is she?!
    From that all those Americanisims, to the mid-Atlantic slur, to her earnest loud shouty questions on PT, to the harshness of her accent, to her hair tossing etc etc etc....

Still like her a lot all the same - she's an excellent journalist, completely unself-conscious which is very rare, and also comes across as just a nice person on both PT and her new show.

Dunphy is on tonight.

Well I saw the Eamon Dunphy interview it was good. I didn't think she was good with PJ Gallher, I only saw a bit of Charlie McCreevy.

Average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Had Ray D'arcy on it last night this show is innane rubbish. i have to say that MOC is more suited to this fluffy banter than to serious current affairs. I never rated her as a presenter on Prime Time I find her faux seriousness annoying but then thats RTE for you where a person can go from Zero to hero in no time just look at charlie 'hyper ventilating' bird.

Had Ray D'arcy on it last night this show is innane rubbish.

I don't know if it was innane rubbish, It was a chat show. Well are chat shows innane rubbish?

I thought Saturday Nights show was good. And again she was able to speak to a sports personality without it being dreadfully boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I saw the show last Saturday and it was arse beyond belief.

The 'set' looked like it was thrown together in about 60 seconds. Three chairs and a glass table. Jaysus lads. I don't know what's worse, that or Tubridy's 'busy' set.

The dental technician who did the crowns on her front teeth should consider a career as a vetanary dentist specialising in chipmunks. Her smile was scary.

...and then of course there was the usual parade of Z-list celebs selling product.

Miriam really should stick to the politics and heavyweight stuff. I wouldn't like so see her becoming the female version of Pat Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

she should stay away from politics as well because serious debate requires a serious approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Maynooth

I was amazed at how much I liked the woman. Shes very good and very flirty with her guests, I like it! She has mainly male guests on too the cheeky thing ;):D