Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please, i beg of you....

• 16-06-2005 8:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5

HELP!!!!!

The boyf is goona be 18 soon. Iv no clu as to what to get the lad!!! :(

He not really into sport, and is VERY into computers.

All help would be really really appriciated.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

If you're not into computers yourself, ask one of his mates what he'd like.

They'd have a good idea of what he's looking for.

You never know, whoever you ask might go back to your bf & ask him outright what he wants & report back to you.
    It's kinda cheating, but if you're clueless, it might be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

get him a graphics card if he hasnt a decent one, like a ati x800xl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 cuckooclock

Cyrus wrote:
    get him a graphics card if he hasnt a decent one, like a ati x800xl

a what?????!!!!!!!!

i asked his mate.
    flute didint even know the birthday was next week!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Get him a laptop, a decent one at that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭GOAT_BOY

get him to teach you how to post one thread instead of two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

He not really into sport, and is VERY into computers.
    http://www.thinkgeek.com/ if you've time to wait for a delivery. They do gift vouchers if you absolutely can't think of anything (yeah, gift vouchers suck, but if he's really really geeky he might not know that).

im very very VERY poor....
    it has to be budget friendly, which is about €50-60

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

The poor guy

his gf doesn't know what to get him for his 18th and hasta ask strangers (which btw is probably not gonna end up helping you too much, really!)

his friend didn't know it was his birthday and then didn't know what to get him

poor lad. Just be romantic and give him some money at least then he'll like his present :)

GOAT_BOY wrote:

ha. ah ha. ah ha......

considering i just joined this yoke 10mins ago....

IT WAS AN ACCIDENT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭joe.

Grand theft auto - San andreas (that's a pc game btw)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

I know it's kinda girly sounding or whatever but bring him into town and ask him to pick out anything, something he wouldn't usually buy for himself - a DVD or something that he's wanted for ages and buy it for him. It'll be fun picking it and stuff... or something.

Else, spend the €60 on lingerie for yourself - more than a decent present for him!

already have that done... there's that, just wanted something else. i love this guy to bits, but it's quite hard to buy something for somone who seems to have everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭kasintahan

If he's into computers then he's almost certainly into the more generic "gadgets".

Go into Maplin (Jervis St, beside Symths toy store), have a look through their special offer magazine and buy him one item of quality + some chocolate (Lidl is round the corner, he's a guy don't worry about it looking fancy), + make a card/write a poem (cheaper and much more appreciated).

Lucky bastid! :)

kas

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

he probably like porn but as hes into commputers has it all :)
    just follow his other interests and get him him something outta that....dont think he will mind much anyway...its the thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

You can never have too many blank CDs or DVDs.

How about a voucher redeemable for a sexual favour of his choice from you...?

you may want to print some terms and conditions on the back though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭grimsbymatt

You can never have too many blank CDs or DVDs.

How about a voucher redeemable for a sexual favour of his choice from you...?

you may want to print some terms and conditions on the back though...
    My girlfriend gave me such a voucher as part of my last birthday present (good for 2 of my fave favours, which she really doesn't like doing - you know the one!)

Went down a treat!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Talliesin wrote:
    http://www.thinkgeek.com/ if you've time to wait for a delivery. They do gift vouchers if you absolutely can't think of anything (yeah, gift vouchers suck, but if he's really really geeky he might not know that).

I second the above. Very good site for geek related goodies. :)

Found my precious Schrödinger's Cat t-shirt there. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Pizza, cinema .... and something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Dr.Feelgood

Handcuff him to a bed naked in an apartment somewhere-leave a cd skipping on full volume on a kick ass stereo system. and come back three days later-

Or not....blow him??

Nah i'm kiddin.

Eh you'll think of something- you have to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

show him this post and buy him ANYTHING and he'd be happy..your puttin loadsa effort in so it doesn't matter what u get him once he knows u are tryin...or alternativly u could blow him :p...just kiddin...how about an mp3 player or somethin

DrFeelgood Try to be vaguely helpful or you will be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Glipmac

Tell him strait off that you dont know what to buy him and tel him to pick somthing or ask his parents thay may know

Okay soz-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

if u can find it for that price you should get him one of them old dick tracy hats and a white tie and a black shirt.

actually, u might be able to get a cheap guitar within ur budget. have a think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

yeah a guitar is always good or maybe a driving lesson or something if he doesn't already drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

How about a wireless mouse? If he has a mouse with a cable he may want one without a cable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

Gordon wrote:
    How about a wireless mouse? If he has a mouse with a cable he may want one without a cable.

Agreed, a person who is into computers, could aslways user a better mouse. The Logitech MX1000 is a very good one.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Gift vouchers are the worst present ever, IMHO. It's saying "I have some vague notion that you like this sort of thing, but am not interested enough to know what you'd really like. Effectively I'm just giving you money and letting you buy your own present, but am at the same time limiting it to one particular area of gift." Okay for maiden aunts, but a big no-no for girl/boyfriends.

I'd say go for something he won't expect but couldn't help but enjoy - something travel-related or a one-off adventure (parachute jump, driving a formula one car or something).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

ok - just saw the budget post there....

you could proabably get a low-end pair of seinheisser headphones for €60ish in peats.
    a computer game maybe?

it all depends on what he already has - and what you mean by "in to computers" are we talking PCs, consoles, programming, gaming, porn, internet etc.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭logic1

im very very VERY poor....
    it has to be budget friendly, which is about €50-60

Crotchless panties.

.logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

GOAT_BOY wrote:
    How do you wrap that??
    Does it come with flowers??
    Is it returnable?

Why are you such a prat, I'm sure it was an accident that she posted twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Novocaine

Are you kiddin me?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Novocaine wrote:
    Are you kiddin me?!

*sniffs*

If a woman got me that Logitech wireless mouse I've always wanted, I'd be her's forever...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

well.... he;s going to be 18.... your are his gf..... a good rodgering would do
    Give him the time of his life, allow (nearly) any sexual favour he asks from you, cheap enough, and you might have fun doing that too,
    my two cents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

You cant presume that they are currently entangled in such pratcises.
    But if you are going to play, play safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

http://www.bcool.ie

Or if he's into hacking you can craft a PNG buffer overflow for him:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

If you are on a tight budget then go romantic! Cook him dinner, dress up in sexy lingerie, buy a set of furry handcuffs, one of those playful whip things, a blindfold, can of cream and a jar of nutella. After dinner bring him to the bedroom and let your imagination run wild... I can guarantee he won't ever forget that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

[various sexual ideas]
    Okay, possibly that was perfect advice. Possibly you've just frightened the poor thing away from boards forever. Either way why don't we just say that "do something sexy for him" is in the list of ideas already? I'm not sure we need to explore every one in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

Handcuff him to a bed naked in an apartment somewhere-leave a cd skipping on full volume on a kick ass stereo system. and come back three days later-
    You wouldn't have seen the movie Spun, would you? :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Mini break?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

what you have to do is be organised when it comes to things like this, you have to start listening about 3 - 4 weeks before any occassion (birthday, anniversary, Christmas, Valentines) and I mean really listen, anything that he says, you would not believe the ideas you will get, anything at all, even "wow - that's cool" that's enough, just LISTEN!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

A Leatherman and belt-pouch.

Or a poncho.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Get him a Syxpak

it's what everybody wants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭GOAT_BOY

gillo wrote:
    Why are you such a prat, I'm sure it was an accident that she posted twice.

I'll have you know that's personal abuse. Please stop or i will be forced to cum in your ear

Banned.

Tiffany wrote:
    You wouldn't have seen the movie Spun, would you? :rolleyes:

You know its true!!!

Did Goat Boy get banned?

I wanted to ask him did he see the Bill Hicks tribute fellar last year in dublin?