Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

* Dublin V Wexford *

• 13-06-2005 2:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭

Predictions? I think Dublin will do it easily in the end, might get off to a tricky start though. Can't wait, just got my tickets today for both matches. Should be a brilliant set of games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Wexford will make it tough for us and it would be great for the game to see them win, but I think we will be too good for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Dublin rarely do things easily, and Matty Forde is a class player but I would expect Dublin to get through by a couple of points against the second best team in Leinster, after Dublin obviously :) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Depends if Dublin show up with a free taker or not.

They might just have found one in teh second half against Meath. I certainly hope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I am predicting a victory for Wexford, but only just in a tight game! My main concern is the amount of ball that Wexford will pick up around the middle of the field, players like Diarmuid Kinsella and Redmond Barry in the half forwards for example are great footballers but need to pick up more ball! If they can create a supply of ball then Wexford have inside forwards that can do damage, and it is not just Mattie Forde, Hudson, Kinsella, Barry and others are chipping in this year and I will be interested to see Banville! Alan Brogan was exceptional for the Dubs the last day and will have to be starved of the ball, but if the Dublin forwards continue their mis-firing ways Wexford could be in their first Leinster football final for circa 60 years!

Jason Sherlock has been dropped in favour of Mark Vaughan, in the only change from the last game. Vaughan obviously made a good impression and some of his scores, particularly that long range free, were good.

I was hoping Vaughan would not be playing, we will have to see how he responds to the pressure of starting his first championship game! Wexford will announce their team tonight, with John Hudson having a fitness test on his thigh injury!

Dublin have a three point handicap with Paddy Power which I think is slightly generous! I also just put a fiver on Wexford to do the Leinster double, 240 if it happens that should be enough for a small personal celebration! :D

I'm thinking Paddy Power is just about right. The Wexford defence is not the best, and if Vaughan continues to kick frees well I think Dublin should win. Remember Mossie Quinn missed a couple of relatively easy frees (made by Sherlock though) against Meath. This has been a huge problem for Dublin in recent years, and if, and I know it is a big IF, they have a solution to this, the whole team will take a bit of confidence from that.

Wexford's forwards are more clinical and will run up a higher score than Meath! But I will concede that the defence is not always up to scratch!

Also in relation to free takers Joe Sheridan missed a few easy frees as well! Vaughan looked good the last day when he came on, that is the only time I have seen him, there is a different pressure involved in this game than the last and with psychology playing a big part in free taking it will be interesting to see how he reacts! Alan Brogan also had an exceptional game the last day and I wonder if he will be a influential the next day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

the best free taker in leinster is the number 13 for carlow ( cant rememebr his name) he has the added advantage of being a quality player too. however between mossy and vaughan I expect the dubs to get it right and beat Wexford by 2-3 points.

c'mon the dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Lemlin wrote:
    Depends if Dublin show up with a free taker or not.

Couldnt agree more!!
    Waylander wrote:
    They might just have found one in teh second half against Meath. I certainly hope so.

Do you mean Mark Vaughan??.....Hope he kicks all the frees over!...but thats all he did against Meath....could have performed better all round!
    Flukey wrote:
    Jason Sherlock has been dropped in favour of Mark Vaughan, in the only change from the last game. Vaughan obviously made a good impression and some of his scores, particularly that long range free, were good.

I was on the HILL.........and IMO the only thing he did for us was kick that amazing long free kick and one or two others!!!!!

But apart from that.....correct me if im wrong....he didnt seem to catch any of the high balls that came into him........he fumbled the low balls...bouncing past him or hitting his shoulder or just not grabbing them right!

If he sharpness up in the "collecting the ball" department he COULD be a threat!

In fairness he did kick that long kick and 1 or 2 others which kept us in the game! But could be alot more of threat for Wexford.....the DARK HORSE???

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,359 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Curran wrote:
    Do you mean Mark Vaughan??.....Hope he kicks all the frees over!...but thats all he did against Meath....could have performed better all round!

I was on the HILL.........and IMO the only thing he did for us was kick that amazing long free kick and one or two others!!!!!

I know Mark Vaughan Quite well I have played against him countless times and he has never impressed me. From open play he is a very average player and does not do enough. He never really gets himself really involved in the games and you rarely see him on the ball. He is howeever a very good free taker but the word from inside the Dub camp is that Mossy quinn will start off as the free taker which leaves me thinking why exactly is Vaughan starting the game? Granted he will be switched to free taker if Mossy has another bad day but I fell he should have started on teh bench and come on if we need him just like against Meath. Its a risky choice to start with him and don't expect much from him in open play because he just isnt that type of player.

Another position that is under review is Colin Morans at half forward. Put simply Moran is not a half forward he is a half back and you can see it in his game. The reason he is there is because we just dont have anybody else who can really cut it to play there at the moment. Senan Connell could come in there and do a job but he hasnt really performed in recent years and thats why he finds himself on the bench. there has been talk of moving Moran back to the half backs where he should be playing but it was decided to go with continuity and not to change the shape of the team too much before this game.

Another big question is who should we use to man mark Matty Forde. There were alot of calls from fans to put young O' shaughnessy on him as he had a tremendous game against Meath. We have known about Stephen for a long time but he has suffered with some bad injuries in the past and is only getting to his best now. He will be a regular in the Dublin side and he is a very good player. However Matty Forde is a big man, about 6ft 3" tall so would tower above O' Shaughnessy and this would cause too many problems. I think this will be the reason that Paddy Christie will be put on Forde as Paddy has years of experience playing in top games and could match Forde when jumping for the high ball. I think Christie will get the nod.

I think that the Dub team will be a little too strong for Wexford and alot of people are predicting the Dublin win. There is alot of expectation on this team but I dont think the Dubs will win as easy as people think. Many people feel Wexford are a one man team but thats not true they have some excellent forwards which will cause Dublin trouble and any team who make it to a league final will be no push over. I do feel Dublin will be slightly too strong for them but expect the game to be close. Dublins forwards need to concentrate more to find the form they had agianst Longford when they kicked alot of scores from play something the forwards struggled with against Meath. They have time to work on this and I feel they will put it right.

I predict a Dublin win as we have the better players overall but it will be close fought game and dont totally rule out a Wexford upset however unlikely it may be.

The Wexford team to play Dublin has been named :

WEXFORD (SF v Dublin): J Cooper, C Morris, P Wallace, N Murphy, P Curtis, D Murphy, K Kennedy, N Lambert, D Fogarty, R Barry, D Kinsella, S Cullen, PJ Banville, P Colfer, M Forde

I am glad to see that Kinsella is in the forwards and not in midfield, it is a shame Willie Carley is no longer playing as we could do with him in midfield!

I seem to be outnumbered by all the dubs here, I need a bit of neutral support :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Kingp35 wrote:
    I know Mark Vaughan Quite well I have played against him countless times and he has never impressed me.
    Havent really seen much of him.....but what ive seen.....never impressed me either!! :(
    From open play he is a very average player and does not do enough
    He never really gets himself really involved in the games and you rarely see him on the ball. He is howeever a very good free taker
    Bit like Ian Harte of the Soccer world then!
    And i detest that Harte chap.... :mad: .......even if he scored a free or two!

Just my opinion! :p

Vaughan kicked a few points. That was about it. He was very poor from general play. He looks to be cocky though which is a feature that any good forward should have. Just look at Mattie Forde.

I have a feeling that a sending off or some other such decision could change this match. Remember Ciaran Whelan was extremely lucky to stay on the pitch against Meath. Had he went off it could of been an entirely different game.

Dublin need to decide whether their players are fowards or backs. Colly Moran, Shane Ryan and Bryan Cullen have all been juggled between the two and it is not doing any of them any favours.

Pity I won't get to see this or the Laois vs Kildare match, I'll be busy watching Cavan beat Tyrone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,570 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

dont fancy the dubs chances at all to be honest, big david fogarty is a mate of mine and i fancy him to clean up midfield, after that just give the ball to matty ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

Cyrus wrote:
    dont fancy the dubs chances at all to be honest, big david fogarty is a mate of mine and i fancy him to clean up midfield, after that just give the ball to matty ;)
    of course u could equally say big ciaran whelan can clean up midfield and get the ball up to brogan for a bit of demolition! :p

But then of course you could always say that big Ciaran Whelan has a tendency to underperform and has had his one big game this year and will do feck all!

What time is the Dublin game starting at fandango?

Lemlin wrote:
    But then of course you could always say that big Ciaran Whelan has a tendency to underperform and has had his one big game this year and will do feck all!
    You could but I won't! :p

No, I think we can expect big things from Whelan as long as he keeps his temper under control and remains on the pitch!

Dublin game starting at 4.05 but RTE's coverage is delayed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭hill16

Hill 16 La La La. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

gwan the dubs. you really never know what your going to get, they're going to win, they're going to lose, they're going to win, they've won.

when's the last time a Dublin player scored 10 points (at least that was my count of mossy's superb strike rate). Suspect it may be Charlie Redmond...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 D'associashun

Better to win the way we won rather than the way Laois won. Real; character had to be shown there today. Now Dublin really know that they can win close games. Bring on Mick O'Dwyer and Laois!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 D'associashun

More photos of today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Just because laois won by twelve points doesn't mean they didn't show character. They simply outclassed kildare.
    Did you see some asshole in the hill letting off fireworks on the pitch as Wexford took the penalty? Could have seriously injured someone. That's the kind of thing that gives Dublin fans a bad rep. Plus their all-round lack of respect for the opposition when they play.
    btw the score was Dublin 1-17 Wexford 2-10.
    Did you miss the 2 goals? ;)

A good game. Laois played well too. The Leinster Final is going to be interesting. Micko v the Dubs again. Cork v Kerry, with Billy Morgan facing familiar opposition again and a traditional Glaway v Mayo Connacht Final. Tyrone and Armagh look set to renew rivalries in Croke Park too. The championship is hotting up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Well done Dublin. I was watching the scores on Aertel and Wexford appeared to be 'just' holding out.
    Didn't see the delayed coverage so wont comment on the game.

As for it being a better win...being a Laoisman I'm biased but character wont get you thru a game if you are being outclassed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,903 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I think what d'associan is getting at is that you generally get more out of winning a close game than by winning a game by a cricket score.

But certainly Laois were by far the most impressive team on display in Croke Park yesterday, and will deservedly be warm favourites for the final. Dublin will need to up their display by a couple of notches to make a contest out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

here's to a cracking Leinster Final lads [and ladies]

best team to win...

please please be Laois!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,359 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

My God was it hot on the hill yesterday. They should do what they do at italian soccer matches and get a big hose and spray the crowd. Would have loved for that yesterday.

Anyway it was a very good match. If anybody had read my previous post you will know what I said about Mark Vaughan. He proved me right yesterday by doing nothing except giving away some stupid fouls. I really do not know why he started that game in the first place a very disappointing performance. Jayo should have started the game in his place

Ciaran Whelan had a nightmare game he was non existant in the midfield and won very few kick outs. We have seen in recent weeks that his temper is getting out of hand and he really has to calm himself down. The good news is that he will not be suspended for the final as you only recieve a 2 week ban for 2 yellow cards. Collin Moran should not be in the team. He had another nightmare game and just cant cut it. Senan Connell must start the final, that is a given. Mossy Quinn was fantastic. He kicked every free and scored two from play,one was a fantastic score from out at the touch line. I thought Dublin really fought for every ball in the second half and their fighting spirit and better fitness shone through in the end.

Wexford played very well too though and should be proud of themselves. The result was in doubt the whole way through the match. Matie Ford did absolutely nothing yesterday and alot of credit must go to Paul Griffin who did an excellent job on him.

The only big down point of the game was the injury to Stephen O' Shaughnessy. He was taken to Beaumont hospiatal where it was confirmed he has a bad shoulder injury and is doubtful for the final.

To sum it up Wexford really made it difficult for us but our better overall fitness and pure passion in the second half shone through. Judging by the Laois performance yesterday though we still have alot of work to do before the final. I think it will be a cracking game and I for one will be in my usual spot on the hill.

If you win a Leinster semi-final by 11 points, you're bound to be favourites for the final, and fair play to Laois they completely outclassed Kildare. It has to be said though that the ref was giving Laois everything and Kildare nothing; I don't think a better ref would have made any difference to the result but the winning margin would almost certainly have been smaller.

Laois learned that they've recovered well from their lucky escape in the Offaly game and that they can run riot if given the chance. Good for their confidence, definitely.

Dublin, on the other hand, learned that the Meath game was definitely a small blot on Mossy Quinn's record as a free-taker but that he's back in flying form. They learned that Mark Vaughan is good at fouling people 100 metres from where he should be standing and that Jayo's not quite finished his career yet. They learned that Alan Brogan is good but can't run riot if 3 people mark him, the Cluxton may be an excellent keeper but can have an off day like anyone else, and that Wheelan is still inconsistant except when it comes to getting cards. A mixed bag, so.

Laois weren't really tested against Kildare but their confidence is bound to be high; as long as they don't get cocky that should work to their advantage. Dublin know that they have sticking power and someone who can take free kicks but still have a lot of work to do, especially with O'Shaughnessey out. Looks like being an interesting and open final...

Great shooting from Laois, they'll be deserving favourites but that suits Dublin who never play well when expected to win, and Laois are a bit hot and cold themselves...

For ten minute periods the dubs have the beating of anybody, yesterday it was the first ten, and the last ten. The bit in between though had loads of terrible wasted possesion, stupid shooting and crap passing.

Wexford faught tooth and nail for every ball until the last five mins when the game was effectively beyond them, I don't know how they kept going in that heat.

Dublin won nothing in midfield for the entire first half, but I thought they dominated in the second, with Whelan winning some terrific posesssion (most subsequently wasted). Shane Ryan seems to have recovered from his hamstring and won a lot of loose balls.

bring on Laois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭*marie*

Kingp35 wrote:
    ...The only big down point of the game was the injury to Stephen O' Shaughnessy. He was taken to Beaumont hospiatal where it was confirmed he has a bad shoulder injury and is doubtful for the final....

I heard he dislocated his left shoulder and will be out for the rest of the championship, which is terrible he's been a very valuable player.

Kingp35 wrote:
    Ciaran Whelan had a nightmare game he was non existant in the midfield and won very few kick outs. We have seen in recent weeks that his temper is getting out of hand and he really has to calm himself down. The good news is that he will not be suspended for the final as you only recieve a 2 week ban for 2 yellow cards. Collin Moran should not be in the team. He had another nightmare game and just cant cut it.
    Whelan won a helluva lot more ball than Shane Ryan, especially in the second half when the game was tight. Its hard when you are playing on your own though. Picking up the odd loose ball isnt enough for a midfielder, which is all Ryan does (not to mention being directly responsible for Wexford's second goal). But agree that Whelan needs to calm himself down. He's no use to us on the line. I thought Collie did alright. He got a couple of lovely points in the first half and was working hard and picking up ball. He'd certainly done a lot more than Cullen up to that point, though Cullen did have a strong last 10 minutes.

Whelan won very little in the first half and this alowed wexford to take control of the game and go into a lead. I agree he improved in the second when winning balls but he still did contribute to the rest of the play. he did not do any of his trademark surges up the pitch bar one when he ended up taking a shot with his left foot which was closer to going over the sideline than the bar. Then he goes and gets himself sent off. Whelan frustrates me so much. He has great talent like he proved against Meath but too often he has medoicre games like against Wexford. I dont know if he really has the metal strength needed. As for Shane Ryan he is basically a make shift midfield player and I never expect him to tower above other players.

Collie Moran is a liability to the Dublin team. he took some ridiculous shots missing by miles when he should have scored and he gave the ball away so many times. Everybody I have spoken too have said the lad is a liability. People from the Dublin camp were also saying that maybe its time to stop giving him oppurtunities in the side and to let senan Connell play. Brian Cullen had a very good second half scoring some excellent points. Moran just gave the ball away time after time. Its time for him to go

That's fine re your opinions on Whelan. Just didnt make sense to me seeing "Whelan had a nightmare game", when he was clearly Dublin's best player in the midfield sector.

I think people sometimes forget the first halfs of games. Moran was one of our best players in the first 20 minutes of the game - probably our best in fact. He won a lot of ball and was always available, he does a lot more work than some of his collegeaus (notably Cullen), he scored two points and was involved in at least 2 others. He went out of the game for the rest of the half, like the whole Dublin team.

He'd started the second half very brightly, but in the 30 secs before he was taken off he did hit one bad wide and a bad pass - that was the only wide he hit - but at least he was involved and trying to make things happen, moreso than Keaney and Cullen say. Although Cullen had a very good last quarter, he's certainly a better point-taker than Moran.

If everyone you spoke to said Moran was a liability and should be dropped, then you musnt be talking to guys who attend club games or Dublin league games. If so, the worst thing that would be said about Moran would be that he should be reverted to his best position of half back.

I go every single dublin match and I also used to play for the minor team. i have played against Moran loads of times and your right he is a half back which leads me even more to believe that he shouldnt be playing. Anyway performances for your club dont matter if your not performing the dub team.He gave the ball away alot and I was getting really frustrated with him. At one point he simply hit a solo way above his head and straight into the arms of a wexford player. thats not inter-county quality and the team suffers for it.

Let me ask you this. Which two would you pick out of cullen, moran and connell for the half forward line? I think it should be cullen and connell.

Kingp35 wrote:
    Let me ask you this. Which two would you pick out of cullen, moran and connell for the half forward line? I think it should be cullen and connell.
    As half forwards I think there is little between them. IMO Moran has the most ability, but his confidence is the most fragile and he can be lacksadascial at times. Cullen drifts out of the game too much, but is generally very assured when on the ball. Connell is very steady and intelligent, but perhaps his best days are behind him. If I was picking the team I'd have all 3 in it, but Moran and Cullen in the half back line.

I'm inclined to agree with Rooster in that I think Moran has potential, but I have to say that he has rarely delivered on it in a Dublin jersey.

Moran had a bad game, and never looked comfortable, losing a lot of possession.

I think Shane Ryan is the best partner for Whelan, and that he had another great game today, he doesn't win as many high balls but he gathers a huge amount of breaking ball and he's a rock in possession. he can't shoot unfortunately, but lately Whelan's missed a lot from shots when he should have laid a ball off for one of the forwards. Homan is a make weight IMO.

theCzar wrote:
    I think Shane Ryan is the best partner for Whelan, and that he had another great game today, he doesn't win as many high balls but he gathers a huge amount of breaking ball and he's a rock in possession.
    I certainly dont agree that Ryan had a great game on Sunday! He wouldnt have been taken off if he had, but he does battle hard for every ball and is usually very good at picking up loose ball. And probably not the best time to say he's a "rock in possession" given that he was directly responsible for Wexford's second goal when he lost possession!

I see there's a chance Darren Magee might be called into the panel now that he's back from Australia, which would add competition for the midfield places. Magee intends to go the the US for the summer next week, but said he'd stick around if asked to join the panel.

I prefer to see Darren Homan in midfield with Whelo. He is a tough competitor and is good in the air also.

I certainly dont agree that Ryan had a great game on Sunday! He wouldnt have been taken off if he had, but he does battle hard for every ball and is usually very good at picking up loose ball. And probably not the best time to say he's a "rock in possession" given that he was directly responsible for Wexford's second goal when he lost possession!

He was taken off because he was wrecked after all running he did in the middle of the park. but I did neglect to mention he was just as absent as whelan in the first half. As to the goal, it was unfortunate. But i stand by my "rock in possession" remark, even Paddy Christie makes mistakes. Watch the match again on Setanta and see how many times Ryan came out of the midfield with the ball.

I don't rate Magee that highly, but i'd like him on the panel.

Ryan made one mistake and it led to the second goal but Andrews really should have claimed the ball anyway. Apart from that one mistake Ryan had a great game, winning a lot of breaking ball like theCzar said. He was taken off I think partly because we needed a tall man in midfiled after Wheelan's latest sending off.

Ryan's very reliable - he doesn't have the height to win a huge amount in the air but he works hard and saves Wheelan a lot of running, leaving Wheelan to concentrate on the air. I think it's a good partnership and seems to be working well in general.

As half forwards I think there is little between them. IMO Moran has the most ability, but his confidence is the most fragile and he can be lacksadascial at times. Cullen drifts out of the game too much, but is generally very assured when on the ball. Connell is very steady and intelligent, but perhaps his best days are behind him. If I was picking the team I'd have all 3 in it, but Moran and Cullen in the half back line.

This would be a very bad idea. I know Moran is a half back by trade which is the main reason I dont want him up there but the half backs have been playing for Dublin and to chopping and changing the team around at this stage would be a bad idea. What I like about Dublin now is the continuity in the team and the massive team spirit that has brought with it. Too many changes would disrupt the team and we cant afford that.

As for Shane Ryan I think he has been doing pretty well in midfield for us. he is never going to win loads of high balls but he does win alot of breaks and is a very reliable player. I think the midfield should be left the way it is because whelan and ryan compliment each other very well