Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayfair Tonight!

• 13-06-2005 3:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭

Anyone heading down the mayfair tonight for the new 50euro freezout? May aswell give it a shot and see if its any use. Only problem I can see is parking. anyone know any lanes around harcourt stree where you can park?

think it starts at 8.30

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭De Deraco

ill be there

• Registered Users Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

or be square....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

roryc wrote:
    Anyone heading down the mayfair tonight for the new 50euro freezout? May aswell give it a shot and see if its any use. Only problem I can see is parking. anyone know any lanes around harcourt stree where you can park?

think it starts at 8.30

You should get parking on Hatch street without too much trouble at that time. I was hoping to head into this but I don't think I can now.

just got back from it there. Came fifth and got 200euros for my troubles. Des was still going strong when I left. He was playing well and definitely didnt win ANY hands on the river....

The Mayfair is a nice enough place and its a nice alternative to the fitz (and a bit easier on the pocket). The standard of play was a lot lower than the fitz, and we made the final table easily enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Hello Rory,

Well done on your final table win.

I got very lucky (really) and ended up winning it. Extra grand made 1st prize very nice for 26 runners.

The blinds made the night. Half hour blinds! spoilt for choice, no need to be too aggressive or silly earlier on.

even with tip and costs still made enough for a few beers this weekend, sweet.

good luck on thursday, ur still the freeroll cooler king!

tomorrow, Wednesday, they are having a 30 euro freezeout and are adding 300 to the pot. I reckon I'll pop along, especially if the blinds are kept at half hours.

man I got really lucky about 3 times, hard luck to the ones I plumbed out of pots!

cheers, wheres the beers, Des

Hello Rory,

Well done on your final table win.

I got very lucky (really) and ended up winning it. Extra grand made 1st prize very nice for 26 runners.

The blinds made the night. Half hour blinds! spoilt for choice, no need to be too aggressive or silly earlier on.

even with tip and costs still made enough for a few beers this weekend, sweet.

good luck on thursday, ur still the freeroll cooler king!

tomorrow, Wednesday, they are having a 30 euro freezeout and are adding 300 to the pot. I reckon I'll pop along, especially if the blinds are kept at half hours.

man I got really lucky about 3 times, hard luck to the ones I plumbed out of pots!

cheers, wheres the beers, Des

BTW, very professional dealers, very impressive, I didnt know what to expect but they are all experienced, my faith in the game is restored! for now...
    Ken KP, ur pal from Betfair said to say hello, he got fourth or fifth, not bad for his first live tourney.

actually, I forgot that i'm going to Leopardstown after work tomorrow so won't make the 30 freezeout.
    its 3.45, i'm still wired and i have to work to work in 4 hours. ouch, lol. ul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

What time does registration start for the 30 euro freezeout?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I went too and was very impressed with the set-up and professionalism of the tournament team. The tables themselves are great, very nice and seating 8 players. Dealers knew what they were doing. Blinds were spot on as well. The tournament schedule is nice too, some great low buy-in games (AFAIR, freeroll on Monday for their monthly €100 freezeout, €30 freezeout on Tuesday, game on Wednesday?, €25 scalps on Friday (€20/rebuy once or twice), two games on Sunday, including a Pot Limit tournie). I will visit again, maybe even tonight!

Now the inevitable bad beat story...was motoring away, playing fairly well but catching nothing, getting outdrawn and blinded away. Just before the break (blinds 75 / 150) I am left with 1700 from a starting stack of 3000, find AK and push to eliminate the many limpers and hopefully draw in one of the many, MANY, Ax merchants :) playing last night. One of Rory's mates did the dutiful and called with AJ, doubling me up to exactly 4000.

Three hands after the break (on the BB, blinds 100 / 200), same chap min raises (probably to try and eliminate all the limpers, it was that sort of table), gets two callers and I decide to call the additional 200 holding the 9 3 hearts. Flop was Q 9 3 rainbow. With four callers, the pot was 1700 and worth taking down there and then. Additionally, one of my opponents was the tournie chip leader who had moved over from Doc's table, seemed poor and wouldn't have a read on me - maybe he'd call? I push, and after a great deal of thinking Rory's mate (who had doubled me up 5 hands previously and must have known I had the goods when making moves) call for almost his entire stack. The chip leader and other opponent folds. He flips Q J o (??? did he think I was bluffing?), which TBH was the situation I was hoping for. I jinxed myself by asking for no bad beats, a J appears on the river and off I go. The winner apologised profusely, but I was too annoyed to congratulate him or even mutter 'that's poker'.

BTW well done Des and Rory!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

ionapaul wrote:
    ...call the additional 200 holding the 9 3 hearts. Flop was Q 9 3 rainbow. With four callers, the pot was 1700 and worth taking down there and then. Additionally, one of my opponents was the tournie chip leader who had moved over from Doc's table, seemed poor and wouldn't have a read on me - maybe he'd call? I push, and after a great deal of thinking Rory's mate (who had doubled me up 5 hands previously and must have known I had the goods when making moves) call for almost his entire stack. The chip leader and other opponent folds. He flips Q J o (??? did he think I was bluffing?), which TBH was the situation I was hoping for. I jinxed myself by asking for no bad beats, a J appears on the river...

Hard luck. I know from experience that holding bottom two pair against top pair you are always susceptible to them hitting something (even a pair of twos on board is enough to screw you).

Yeh he said to apologise for that. He's only playing poker a few months and probably thought he had the best hand. If it makes you feel any better he pissed away most of his stack before the final table and got knocked out in 8th when he queens got killed by 88 when they tripped up.

What comes around goes around!

Wont make the game tonight as im working but ill definitely go down again. Anyone that is going down remember to be on time cos theres no late entries!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

So is the €30 game on tonight or tomorrow night (or both?)

tonight. nothing on tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

roryc wrote:
    Anyone that is going down remember to be on time cos theres no late entries!!!

I love it!
    Bad time keeping is worse than bad beats ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭TimFoil

anyone know if there is a schedule of events for the Mayfair?

they tried to post it here but said they weren't allowed.

They have a few glossy printouts prepared with the schedule, but it ain't on their website for whatever reason (none of the clubs in Dublin seem to pay much attention to their website - silly view to take, TBH). When I'm home tonight I post the full schedule if required, with the dates of their first few monthly €100 freezeouts.

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭shaydy

what time is registration tonight lads? Sounds good I might try to get in for it.
    Shay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭TimFoil

cheers ionapaul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 saxet

this is the schedule.

Mondays FREE ENTRY super satellite for the monthly €100 No limit Texas Tournament.
    Unlimited re-buys for 90 mins.
    Reg at 8:00pm start @ 8:30

Tuesdays: €30 no limit Texas Freezeout, Casino will add €300 to prize pool if over 25 players.
    Reg @ 8:00pm start @ 8:30

Fridays: €25 No limit Texas Scalp tournament. 2x€20 re-buys or 1x€20 rebuy plus 1x€20 top up.
    Players will get a €5 bounty for every opponent they knock out of tournament.
    Reg @ 8:00pm start @ 8:30.

Sundays: 6:00pm.
    FREE ENTRY Super satellite for the monthly €100 NO LIMIT texas tournament.
    unlimited €10 re-buys for 60 mins.
    Sundays: 9:00pm
    €20 Pot limit texas hold em. 3x€20 re-buys or 2x€20 re-buys plus 1x€20 top up.
    registration from 6:00pm.

Website will be updated shortly, will have all information listed on a weekly basis by end of the month.

Thanks for all the support last night, I'm chuffed that you enjoyed it.
    Orla. (the frog name is now dead ok, had enough ribbits to last a lifetime last night). LOL.
    Well done to you all.
    BYeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

wp Des, Rory et al :D
    anyone happen to notice, any cash games going on in mayfair? lively?

kpnuts wrote:
    wp Des, Rory et al :D
    anyone happen to notice, any cash games going on in mayfair? lively?

only the first night so no cash game except for a short while. I'd say it'll start up this week though. where's me coat, I'm going on the beer. only way i get a decent nights sleep!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Bigun

The €30 Freezeout only got 14 players but they still added 200 to the prize pool. ( Well done Mayfair ) Also well done to the players on monday night, i placed 6th myself and as some of you know i went out on trip 7s and a Q kicker against trip 7s and a 4 kicker and of course a 4 came on the river to boot me out. But i placed first last night in the €30 freezout so all is well.
    after coming to the final table with only 1800 in chips i got very lucky.
    Well done to Orla, Alex and the dealers on a job well done and for getting the tourney's going. I hope to see you all on friday for the 25 euro scalp tourney.

I was knocked out last night on the bubble when a brave man called my desperation-stakes AJ all in with a pair of fours...was that you? Well done on the win! Another fun tournie from the new kids on the poker block...:)

yes i was that pair of 4s (sorry). And thanks i was very happy as it was my first win and only my second live tournie, I think im running on a bit of beginners luck :) . Will you be playing at the mayfair again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

Hiya lads, I was there last night aswell. Went out eighth, pocket 7s to Q8 if ye remember me.

Is there a freeroll on in the mayfair tonight? :confused:

No the next thournie is friday. :(

The only freeroll in the mayfair is on 6pm on sundays.