Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why cant i ?

• 13-06-2005 1:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭

Hi every one i hope your havein fun in the sun i have been to, , :) ...

ive got a small little problem i recently meet this girl on a website and we swopped msn yad yada yada , , any way this is my problem i was supposed to
    go over and talk to her only i cant cause shes so pretty and really nice girl.

and i find my being really intimadated bye her looks i no that sounds stupid
    i get on with her so well online but when i see her im like :o , and emmbaressed
    and i dont know what to say .

If any one understand were im comeing from?

any one got any tips at all ? or just some help would be great if you
    can help :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

hehe.. show her your Micro
    Refare to ep 2 for info of nerds and chicks on this page

Right joking aside. Yeah I know where you are coming from. I used to be like that a few years ago. The best thing to do is remember one thing. She is meeting you. because she wants to meet you in person. Dont over try to be your-self or someone else. You are who you are and she already knows this. I would also explane it to her, incase she is wondering if there is something wrong.
    Meeting her over a few drinks in a quite pub or bar if ye are old enough is also a good idea. It will relax you enough and might act as a social luberacant.

As I said, just relax and be your-self. She is there to meet you after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Son_of_Belial

Oh for heaven's sake! Look, if she's really such a nice girl she'll be grand. Also, the MSN thing is pretty impersonal. You could mention the fact that you're nervous. A score says she'll say the same. Also, has she hinted at any form of romantic involvement? Maybe you should consider the fact that she just wants a friend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Dub_Ster

i am considering the fact that shes a friend and thats how im treating it , if things progress all well and good and im not expecting anything of her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Then what's the problem? If it's only friendship you're after, then if she's the kind of person that's worthy of your friendship looks shouldn't come into the fray. If they do, pfft there's plenty more where she came from. Ever consider the fact that she might be feeling the same kind of insecurities, fears, tension that you're feeling and that everyone naturally would in a meeting like this? Just because she's pretty and/or is able to act more aloof doesn't mean that you have to feel intimidated by her.

She's just a human (albeit one who is considered by society to be attractive) like you. If you prick her she bleeds, if you punch her she cries and if it's majorly awkward then you can either do one of the above or just say you're going to the jacks and get the hell out of there as fast as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

I still have trouble having conversations with hot women. In fact it took having a girlfriend to be able to have a proper conversation without falling deep into the eyes of a beautiful lady.

Oh... right.... advice.. well erm, ahem... I guess....

Actually, got it.

How about you just say it straight up, to her face (not over MSN), that you are intimidated by how pretty she is. Now, that may sound funny, but in fact I have always found that when I say something out loud, especially something that I've been holding in for ages, that is having an internal effect, i.e. discomfort.

I'm guessing that if you've talked a lot on MSN, and have met up then you're already fairly close as far as these sort of intimacies go. I think if you say it out loud, that she's so pretty it makes you nervous, in a funny and geeky kind of way, and she laughs at you, then you'll feel much better. She'll make you feel more at ease, and just having it out there will make it less of an issue.

I think.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Relax Dub-Ster!

You must be alright if she is into meeting you and continuing with things. Have faith in yourself mate and don't ever think that you are not good enough for anyone.

:cool:

dSTAR wrote:
    Relax Dub-Ster!

You must be alright if she is into meeting you and continuing with things. Have faith in yourself mate and don't ever think that you are not good enough for anyone.

:cool:

cheers man :) :cool: yeah i guess it is kinda silly but somethings are in the danger zone ....if you can understand that ...

any way i thaught id let yas no i meet her last nite and it was really awckward for us and i think we booth expeced its just not essy for some people , but thanks for your help ...

How about you just say it straight up, to her face (not over MSN), that you are intimidated by how pretty she is.
    ....and watch the girl run.

You know, I think there's a self-esteem issue here...

well there probably is but its not essy for me eather espeachilly when theres gang loads so of people surounding us like wed be grand if there wernt but about 20 people were around us which aint essy at all you have to understand yeah were inscure its 2005 every one is , and its not perticularly fare you saying when im shore you have your own ones to so please dont try to be like sigment froyd .

i accept your opion but i dont think its fare you need to say some thing like that when your reading this from a screen and you really dont no eather of us ...