Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

criminal record....

• 13-06-2005 9:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39

Would anyone be able to answer the following for me:
    If you have a criminal record in Northern Ireland, would the gardai know about it or have it on your record in the Republic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭SonicDoom2005

No but it is accessible to the gardai (and employers) if needs be....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 calibre

Ok, thanks

If a company/organisation is asking the garda for a statement of convictions, would they check the north as well or is that only if they are specifically asked to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭SonicDoom2005

If you state a previous address as being in Northern Ireland then they possibly would check there...nothing to be too worried about though..

What if the RUC (as they were then) had your address in the Republic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

jesus, what u do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

You're not in the IRA are you?

lol....no, nothing too serious. Just a bit of drunken stupidity when I was a student that got me done for assaulting a constable and breach of the peace or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

knacker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Eurorunner

A police report from the republic will not show this up. However, if your looking for a visa for the States/Canada/Australia - they will need a polce cert from every country you've lived in. So you would need one for Ireland, then England, etc.

For employment purposes in the Uk, a conviction of this nature does not have to be declared on application forms once 5 years have passed. Obviously, employers outside the UK would not have access to this info anyways so you don't need to declare it.

hth

It's for a state job in the Republic. They don't ask for a declaration by me, I just have to sign a consent form for them to get a statement of any convictions from the gardai.

I hope something stupid from when I was 19 won't effect me now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

you didnt say whether you were convicted or not - i think this matters when
    a police check is done.A mate of mine was arrested once for a bit of "drunken stupidness" which resulted in a charge for criminal damage When it got to court he agreed to pay for the damage he caused & he didnt get a criminal record.I dont know the exact terms but there you go.
    I also think that some minor (misdemeanor)convictions are "wiped" from your record after a certain time.
    so although they'll still be on file for the purposes of employers etc they wont show up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Kingsize wrote:
    you didnt say whether you were convicted or not - i think this matters when
    a police check is done.A mate of mine was arrested once for a bit of "drunken stupidness" which resulted in a charge for criminal damage When it got to court he agreed to pay for the damage he caused & he didnt get a criminal record.I dont know the exact terms but there you go.
    I also think that some minor (misdemeanor)convictions are "wiped" from your record after a certain time.
    so although they'll still be on file for the purposes of employers etc they wont show up.

sounds like a section 2.1.....

I did get convicted. I'm just wondering if, when the garda check is done, my conviction in Northern Ireland will appear. Would the RUC notify the gardai when the conviction was made or would this just be something they could provide if they were asked for it?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

The best thing for you to do is join the French Foreign Legion,after 5 years they will give you a new identity.Then come back and apply for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

if you have to state an address that you lived in previously in Northern Ireland then don't state the address you lived at when you were convicted. Maybe give your parents address instead, or just some random address.

Unless you are going to be working with children or in a politically very sensitive job they are very unlikely to do anything other than a cursory check of the gardai files. Administratively it would be quite cumbersome to check NI, UK, and any other country a candidate may come from for every single application.

There is also the issue that even if they did check and find out; would that mean that you wouldn't get the job? I don't think so. Especially if it is many years ago. Youthful mistakes are likely to be put down as simply that. It isn't going to affect your ability to do your job.

I'll just give my past address in the Republic. I only have to put down addresses from the last 5 years. The job isn't with children nor is it politically sensitive.

I'm not sure if it would have any effect on the job application and it certainly wouldn't effect my ability to do the job. I think I'll be grand. I was just curious and wanted to see if anyone knew what the story was.