Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freerolls

• 10-06-2005 9:29am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭

I get the feeling from previous posts that I've seen here, that people generally dont like playing in freeroll tournaments.
    Why is this? I personally find them quite enjoyable, although I am new to the live game scene, so maybe thats the reason!

Is there really a massive difference between buy in games. Do the higher stake games bring tougher tournaments. for example would €100 entry games be more of a challenge than €25 games?

Just curious!

D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,134 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Generally you would expect the standard of play to be a lot better the larger the buy in but in general it is only slightly better as there are a lot of weak players paying into the larger buy in games. Overall you do get a lot of good and very good players playing in larger buy in events which makes the games a lot more enjoyable but on a whole the standard doesn't appear to be markedly different.
    The biggest difference I find is that the structure of the bigger buy-in events are generally slower with a larger stacking stack thereby allowing for some play. These structures compared with the freeroll tournaments allow a wider range of strategies as you are not forced to gamble it up from the beginning due to the lack of chips and the pressure of the blinds.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

the freerolls are crazy up until the break, with people going all in on anything. After the break the play tightens up and its the same as any other game

I LUV THE FREEROLLS! (got a ticket last night!)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Call your large buy-in tourney something like the World Series of Poker and the standard soon drops to freeroll standards.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I enjoy the freerolls when played occasionally, but more than once a week is too much for me. The play is so loose, the range of cards people will play with so wide and the need to accumulate chips so important that it is useful (IMO) to gamble in the rebuy period in order to have a decent stack going into the freezeout period. In the first three levels of the Fitz freerolls, if there are two or three all ins in front of me and I'm holding AQ or 99 or better, in I go (assuming I don't have the opponents as rocks). It's only €10 to rebuy in any case and I like to contribute a bit to the prize fund :) The vast majority of players are ace-muck merchants and many are very easy to read.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

When people say "I won a ticket in the freeroll" what tournament does that ticket enter them in for?. Also what are the general cash prizes in the freeroll if any or is it only ticket prizes up for grabs in freerolls?.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

There are no cash prizes you get tickets for the 270 Freezeout at the end of the month

BTW Rounders all tournaments bar the freeroll have dealers supplied for all tables in the Fitz

• Registered Users Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

Think the 'ticket' they win is valued at €270 is it gives u free entry into teh €270 end of month freeze out game in the fitz (its normally last Tues of every month?)

sometimes (depending on the amount of rebuys/total numbers) there would be 4/5 tickets for top 4/5 players. This can also be used a casino credit? or u could prob sell your 270 ticket.

actually the last thursday of the month.

usually around 4 tickets but last night there was 6 270's and 220 credit. think there was 1850euro taken in

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

The Freeroll. Irelands contribution to pyschiatric care research.

Dont for one moment try to compare the post-freezeout freeroll with the 100 euro game in the Fitz! Very different beasts imho.

I've given up on the FR as the variance is too large and the time commitment to get a ticket to great. it takes 6-8 hours to get a 270 ticket which is not a bad wage but its a woeful use of a night's poker and frequently you leave annoyed and frustrated with the howler-monkeys that simply bring you down with weight of numbers. Its also very bad for your game as you (rightly!) begin to think that your AJ has a good chance of being the dominating hand against the babboon in seat 3! :)

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

I just reckon i't'd be good practice for me as I have feck all experience in tournaments. I'd rather not throw my money away while learning the ins and outs of tournie play?
    Maybe I'm approaching it the wrong way?!

Its fantastic practise for tournament poker, its just that you reach a breaking point, there were a few players here last year where Rory is now but you wont see them playing the freeroll anymore

I learned all of my poker from playing the freeroll and listening to players like Norman and taking advice given

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Divers wrote:
    I just reckon i't'd be good practice for me as I have feck all experience in tournaments. I'd rather not throw my money away while learning the ins and outs of tournie play?
    Maybe I'm approaching it the wrong way?!

No Divers, you are approaching it the right way.

The freeroll is great to get used to tournament etiquette/structure/procedure etc...

There's muppets in all walks of life, and some of them play poker as well.

I say well done to The Fitz for putting on the Freerolls, people have to start somewhere, and that's the place to start.

There are some good players at the freeroll as well, rightly trying to win their €270 ticket, rather than pay for it (no brainer really), so you observe the good players and learn if you can, smile to yourself at the bad players and the bad plays, and enjoy yourself .... beats watching TV doesn't it?

Have decided to frequent the Fitz more regulary myself, only been 5 or 6 times, play on-line all the time, but time to move on and join the poker scene.

Im starting to play all the big ones, and im playing the wednesday and friday tourneys when i get a chance, but i think ill still be playing the freerolls in a year or two. more for the fun of it than anything else...

I think you'd be much MUCH better served by playing in the €30 freezeout on Sunday afternoon or even the €50 double chance on Tuesday nights - realistically, you will be budgeting €30 or so for the freeroll anyway.

work both days....

bohsman wrote:
    There are no cash prizes you get tickets for the 270 Freezeout at the end of the month

BTW Rounders all tournaments bar the freeroll have dealers supplied for all tables in the Fitz

Thanks bohsman i wasnt aware of that. That encourages me. Im interested in this €30 Sunday freezout ionapaul speaks of. I'd love to give it a crack.

Are the Fitz tournament chips below correct?

blue - 10
    orange - 25
    yellow- 100
    pink - 500
    green -1000

blue 5

I was nervous my first time too (oooh matron!) but don't be, everyone will be both friendly and helpful!

Does the merrion have a freeroll night too?

dave

Yeah everyone seems to say poople are helpful and i like that. Seems good natured the bits i see on telly aswell. That Alan Betson seems to be a formidable player. I wonder is he a Merrion regular or does he play about the place wherever the big tournaments are.

Betson plays 95% online, he plays big tournaments around europe and is seen in the Fitz for the big cash game every now and then, you wouldnt see him play any of the regular tournaments in Dublin as they are too small

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Betson is considered one of the best in Ireland afaik.

I didn't want to put anyone off playing the FR, its a great great way to learn cheaply but after 6-8 months it will either start to wreck your head or wreck your game. I still like the odd flutter on it, but it really is just that, gambling, at least until you hit the final two tables but with some nights starting with over 100 players I'm not really ready to committ that amount of time/energy/money to win 270.

Still, a terrific way to ease yourself into the game! I'd go with Oscar though, and recommend the 30 freezeout on Sunday afternoon. Its going to be cheaper in the long run imho and much better quality of play. Almost everyone I've ever met through poker have been sound heads, friendly and helpful.

DeV.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Yep. At the end of the day the freeroll is the place to start. If you want to learn then aim to go beyond it over time. Oh and don't work as a web developer. You'll never have time to do anything.

yup, will definitly play a few freerolls to get the hang of it and get some tips etc. the €30 FO on sundays sounds good, might head along to that in a couple weeks!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

musician wrote:
    Yep. At the end of the day the freeroll is the place to start. If you want to learn then aim to go beyond it over time. Oh and don't work as a web developer. You'll never have time to do anything.

What should I do if I meet a lovely girl with Red hair who is into horses?

Ride her horse.

*cough*

DeV.

Thanks for the advice lads. Yeah Dev im sure youre right when you say cheaper in the long run as there is no telling how much rebuys amount to in the long run. It reminds me of a recent interview on cardplayer when Daniel Negranu said "i have no vices or bad habits, i go to bed early, i dont drink but boy am i 'Addicted to Re-buys'!!!"