Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BSOP - Suggestions on structure, Locations etc

• 09-06-2005 11:38am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭

If you have any comments or suggestions for the upcoming 2005 BSOP then post them here.

thanks

Hyzepher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

My suggestions are that everyone pays the €80 for the final up front (€10 * 8 months). Also if we are having a stt for a final seat at the final table, it should only go ahead if there is a minimum amount (agreed by finalists) guaranteed to be added to the prize fund.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

as long as the games are not online!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

the home game atmosphere of the last bsop was great but maybe to be practical we should have all heats and finals in the fitz? maybe even all on the same day with plenty of notice given?

i agree with waylander on paying money up front too. not sure about the whole lot though. based on last years it would be €200 (25 per mnth), not €80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

What exactly was the format last year?
    buy-in?
    Starting chips?
    Blinds?
    heats?
    Location?
    Payouts?
    etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I wasn't around here last year so I don't really know what the plan is. On DBPoker last year we had 7 online events. 3 $10 buy ins, 3 $20 buy ins and $40 buy in main event which was NLHE. The others were 7 card stud and stud H/?. PL Omaha and H/L and NLHE and LMHE events. All tourneys were held on PS and points were awarded for each event using Pokerstars own TLB points system. As well as the cash rewards for the event winnners there were prizes like hats and t-shirts for the winners of each event and trophies for the Main event winner and the overall points winner gota HUGE (and very classy) trophy as the DBPoker.com Tournament of Champions, Champion.

Anyhoo. there was a problem with players dropping out after a few events when they new they could catch the the points leaders. I'd gladly pay money up front to play but if these are all live events then it creates an obvious problem for me. Either way I would love to play if I can but the buy in would need to be pretty high for it to be worth my while travelling. What about regional events?

What way was this all structured last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

I've never done this before, but I'd be well up for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I'm assuming this is Dublin only?

If there was a chance of a leg in Linz (could possibly manage Vienna or Munich) i'd be up for it too :)

You should probably mention this on the other thread too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

From hearing about it last year it seemed to be all about the home game atmosphere, it would be a waste to hold it online or in a card club

bohsman wrote:
    From hearing about it last year it seemed to be all about the home game atmosphere, it would be a waste to hold it online or in a card club

The only thing about that is that it leaves the country boys out in the cold.

Oh yeah, sure, we're all country boys outside of the pale, with our trousers tucked into our socks and held up with rope :rolleyes: *joke*

karlh wrote:
    the home game atmosphere of the last bsop was great but maybe to be practical we should have all heats and finals in the fitz? maybe even all on the same day with plenty of notice given?

i agree with waylander on paying money up front too. not sure about the whole lot though. based on last years it would be €200 (25 per mnth), not €80.

I am not suggesting the whole amount gets paid up front as that might be a bit tight for people, so just suggesting that the monthly amount going to the final table prizefund gets paid up front. That way if numbers dovetail late in the BSOP like last year, because people have less chance of making the final, we have already got thier Final Table prize fund from them, it will not really effect the monthly competition so much as although the prize funds will be less, so will the competition.

NickyOD wrote:
    What way was this all structured last year?

3 monthly heats of 10 people paying €25 each. Of the €25, €10 went to final table prize fund and the balance was in a monthly prize fund. Top 3 players in each heat made monthly final table, and played for monthly fund. Points awarded per performance on final table, top 9 points after 8 months made the Grand Final Table. We also had an stt for 10th seat at final table last year.

Waylander wrote:
    3 monthly heats of 10 people paying €25 each. Of the €25, €10 went to final table prize fund and the balance was in a monthly prize fund. Top 3 players in each heat made monthly final table, and played for monthly fund. Points awarded per performance on final table, top 9 points after 8 months made the Grand Final Table. We also had an stt for 10th seat at final table last year.

oh well. I guess its not possible to facilitate everyone then. Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

1. Everyone should pay €100 up front for the final table.

2. You should get extra chips for each 1st, 2nd and 3rd place finish you get in the monthly heats. That way people will still play when they're qualified unlike the last time.

3. Home games or the fitz, either suit me. You could have online heats if there were enough players for a heat, although it might be the same players every month which could be a problem.

4. How about a bad beat fund? Everyone puts a €5 and the worst beat of the month takes the cash. Bad beat qualification to be agreed before hand.

5. €40 in total each month
    - €25 for the monthly prize pool
    - €5 for a bad beat
    - €10 for the grand final (submitted in advance €100 upfront)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

sounds good

NickyOD wrote:
    Oh yeah, sure, we're all country boys outside of the pale, with our trousers tucked into our socks and held up with rope :rolleyes: *joke*

Well at least youre doing your best to break the trend anyway Nicky :p . Ray Shah is looking for a double you could be the one. Just remember to keep your trap shut though :D !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭The Snapper

NickyOD wrote:

What ! Bailing twine is'nt vogue in 2005.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

What about doing it ...'Vegas style' weekend event, hotel in an easily accessible spot, and beers + beds! 3/4 events plus hcga! Hell, golf if you like!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

MadsL wrote:
    What about doing it ...'Vegas style' weekend event, hotel in an easily accessible spot, and beers + beds! 3/4 events plus hcga! Hell, golf if you like!

Now I like the sound of that!!!

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

I heard the defending champ gets a bye into the Grand Final ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Johnybgood

Thats a Ripper on an idea MadzL - Poker, Golf, Beer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

BSOP Weekend away ...that is such a good idea !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I could probably also be persuaded providing I had enough notice (or you come to Vienna ;)).

Imposter wrote:
    I could probably also be persuaded providing I had enough notice (or you come to Vienna ;)).

Now see there's an idea. I'm sure I could find someone to lookafter my sheep that weekend.

NickyOD wrote:
    Now see there's an idea. I'm sure I could find someone to lookafter my sheep that weekend.

Bring them along - I'm sure they'd have a good shot at it

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

There's a few farmers up in Donegal who will 'look after' your sheep alright.

They have extra comfortable wellies, so that your sheeps back feet keep dry !

According to the Dublin fans in Hill 16 last weekend, you could drop your sheep off anywhere in Meath, and rest assured that they will get plenty of love and attention from the men of the locality. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭willis

over what period of time does the bsop take place?I will be away for the month of July, would this rule me out altogether or could i get away with missing 1 month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 fpwshark

love that weekend idea...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Tourneque

Am overseas too and have to say the weekend idea sounds like it could be a lot of fun and worth the trip..

.. and 'but listen, it's not just cards - it's serious... it's the Boards Series of Poker!! ' sounds like a valid excuse... well .. to me anyway ;)

Can we open some kind of vote for when as I think thats probably most important ?

willis wrote:
    over what period of time does the bsop take place?I will be away for the month of July, would this rule me out altogether or could i get away with missing 1 month

The bsop goes on for 8 months with the final in the 9th month. If you miss a month you are not prohibited from entering, but it will make getting to the final a bit more difficult but I would imagine most of the players will have to miss at least one month somewhere along the line.

The bsop goes on for 8 months with the final in the 9th month

Does it have to? Could it not be played as a series of different tournies over a weekend, with the overall winner declared BSOP champion? That's the basis of my weekend idea. Single buy-in to cover the whole weekend..

How about say:
    Fri night HNL (Double chance)
    Sat noon Something funky like H.O.S.T (round of Holdem, Omaha, 7 card stud & Lowball Triple Draw) or a limit game? Fun tournie with a less points up for grabs.
    Sat night PL Omaha
    Sun HNL freezeout main event (double points perhaps)

Well, I have no objections to doing the weekend thing, but it would not be the BSOP. The format previously explained is the format that we used for it last year. What you are looking for is just too different to take on the same title. However, Hyzepher is tournament director so it is his call.

BWPT it is then.

Boards Weekend Poker Tour! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

How about having the Grand Final as the weekend away? Tournaments on Friday and Saturday night, then the Grand final on Sunday, while the people who didn't qualify can play a separate 'friendly' game. This will keep everyone involved right up to the end, and should make a huge weekend out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭johnor

So lads just wondering what the final format for the BSOP is before i decide i can or cant enter? how much cash will it cost games in home/ online or in card clubs?

There is not any online games in the BSOP. For the format read this thread as it has already been posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭Karma

Waylander wrote:
    There is not any online games in the BSOP. For the format read this thread as it has already been posted.
    so which of the many suggestions is the director going with.:confused:
    I am up for playing just let me know where and when.
    Is there enough interest for regional?
    Home games are the only way, I fink!
    cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭johnor

Apologies i was just wondering there were so many suggestions made...so its a 8/9 month tournament to be played in card clubs in dublin? at somestage> 80 euro buy in or what? please just confirm these...

The BSOP probably wont start until July - there are too many away at the moment and I need time to structure.

There will not be an online alternative but I am sure Shortstack will organise something different for online.

Players who sign up will be committing to playing a heat every month until December - I haven't decided an entry fee but you will be asked to fork out a certain percentage up front to cover the Grand Final in January.

This year certain months will be heats in games other than Holdem - these will be advertised in advance. Probably Omaha, 5-card Stud, 7-card stud but majority of months will be Texas.

More details to follow once I have the structure ironed out.

Hyzepher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭JuliusFranco

it might be an cool to have each monthly final in a different casino - Fitz, Silkes, Mayfair, Merrion etc
    it may be a bit too much to organise tho on top of everything else...

looking forward to it tho!